×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Jade Tiger
     

Jade Tiger

3.1 8
by Jenn Reese
 

See All Formats & Editions

"Flying kicks, heart-stopping spins and amazing somersaults propel the action. Reese choreographs both the romantic moves and the martial arts with flair." --Publishers Weekly

Shan Westin is on a mission to recover five mystical jade animals before they fall into the wrong hands.

Over 15 years ago, Shan’s mother led a secret society of female

Overview

"Flying kicks, heart-stopping spins and amazing somersaults propel the action. Reese choreographs both the romantic moves and the martial arts with flair." --Publishers Weekly

Shan Westin is on a mission to recover five mystical jade animals before they fall into the wrong hands.

Over 15 years ago, Shan’s mother led a secret society of female martial artists sworn to protect the statues. When the Jade Circle lost four of the five statues during a murderous attack on their sanctuary, 12-year-old Shan’s destiny was sealed. It was she who carried the remaining tiger statue all the way to America; she who felt it clawing at her with the need to recover the crane, snake, leopard and dragon. The Circle was destroyed that night, and Shan hasn’t seen her mother since.

Shan has grown up under the tiger’s unforgiving influence and the shadow of her mother’s legacy. Her quest to recover the statues takes her to upstate New York and Ian Dashall, a geeky but brave archaeology professor, and then on to France and England with Ian at her side. Finally, on a secret island off the coast of Hong Kong, Shan overcomes torture, betrayal and deadly tigers in order to battle the man who destroyed the Jade Circle.

But even as she faces off with him, she loses hope. How can she possibly succeed where her mother had failed?

Editorial Reviews

Staff Reviewer
Reese’s vibrant debut introduces Shan Westfall, a half-Chinese, half-American crime fighter, who yearns to unite the mystical power of the Jade Circle, an ancient female order embodied by five jade animal artifacts… Flying kicks, heart-stopping spins and amazing somersaults propel the action. Reese choreographs both the romantic moves and the martial arts with flair.
Karen Morse
Fast paced and compulsively readable… The author’s love of the martial arts is evident throughout the novel, imbuing a story full of fight scenes with an air of authenticity. Though Shan is an expert fighter, her character is made real in both her imperfections and in her extreme sensitivity to them.
Joy Calderwood
JADE TIGER moves as fast and smooth as an exhibition fight between black belts. The beautiful, engagingly unsure Shan holds our focus, but allows us to appreciate things (such as Ian) that she doesn’t have time for. While zipping us through her martial arts story, author Jenn Reese gives us the spiritual feel of the training, with added flavors of humor, fantasy, romance, travel, even art appreciation.
Belle Dessler
This beautifully written novel is filled with everything a reader craves: adventure, romance, a worthy quest, characters we can root for and plenty of magic, myth and paranormal intrigue….Reese has a spectacular handle on all things martial-arts related, but nowhere is that knowledge more impressive than when she’s choreographing fight scenes.... A must read for fans of Indiana Jones, Sidney Fox (of Relic Hunter fame) or Lara Croft, Jade Tiger is a wonderful debut.

Product Details

BN ID:
2940012564030
Publisher:
Jenn Reese
Publication date:
01/16/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
224
File size:
973 KB

Meet the Author

Jenn Reese writes adventure stories for readers of all ages. Her first novel, Jade Tiger, is suspenseful romance for adults. She’s currently at work on a middle-grade series for Candlewick Press. Jenn lives in Los Angeles.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Jade Tiger 3.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 8 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Guest More than 1 year ago
From start to finish 'Jade Tiger' is a page-turning adventure. You have it all: romance, mystery, suspense, travel, and some more adventure, not to mention some edge of your seat action. Once I picked this one up it was hard to put down. ..................................Shan is a great character. Part Laura Croft, Indiana Jones, and Bruce Lee ,she fights her way though the book, and like a good guy every time, not only kicks the bad guy¿s rear but gets what she came for too. But while Shan may seem super-human she is far from it and it was nice to see that even she could still get hurt or get weak in the knees from a kiss.................................. 'Jade Tiger' was a lot of fun. Well-written and fast-paced, it moved you along quickly to a satisfying conclusion. I only hope that Jenn Reese¿s next book is as good.
harstan More than 1 year ago
In Hunan Province, China, the intruders attack the Sanctuary of the Jade Circle, but instead of fighting back, her mother sends her twelve year old daughter Shan Westfall to safety. She also leaves her beloved offspring with the protection of one of the five jade statues, the tiger. Sixteen years later, Shan searches for the four missing statues (the crane, snake, leopard, and dragon) to complete the circle as well as seeking information on her mother. Thus her quest takes her to Risley University in Upstate New York where she comes upon a kung fu expert beating up archeology Professor Ian Dashell. She intercedes and though a tough fight she prevails over her foe. Courageous though no athlete, Ian joins Shan on her mission that takes them into danger in Europe and Hong Kong. On their global trek, the soulmates struggle to survive a malevolent enemy while searching for this evil who destroyed the Jade Circle, but needs the last animal to complete his nefarious plans. --- JADE TIGER is a stupendous romantic fantasy starring a nerdy male professor and a warrior woman. The half Chinese half-American Shan is an improbable yet stupendous superheroine out of the Lara Croft School of kick butt women. Readers will admire her spunk, skill and tenacity as she lands in one precarious situation after another. In some ways her soulmate Ian is even braver as she was trained for this from childhood while he is not Indiana Jones, but his strength of spirit insists he stand by his beloved, which enables her to overcome her doubts that she might succeed when her mom failed. Jenna Reese writes an enchanting saga. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OOOOOOOH LOOKS GOOD