Jade Tiger [NOOK Book]

Overview

"Flying kicks, heart-stopping spins and amazing somersaults propel the action. Reese choreographs both the romantic moves and the martial arts with flair." --Publishers Weekly

Shan Westin is on a mission to recover five mystical jade animals before they fall into the wrong hands.

Over 15 years ago, Shan’s mother led a secret society of female martial artists sworn to protect the statues. When the Jade Circle lost four of the five statues ...
See more details below
Jade Tiger

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$2.99
BN.com price

Overview

"Flying kicks, heart-stopping spins and amazing somersaults propel the action. Reese choreographs both the romantic moves and the martial arts with flair." --Publishers Weekly

Shan Westin is on a mission to recover five mystical jade animals before they fall into the wrong hands.

Over 15 years ago, Shan’s mother led a secret society of female martial artists sworn to protect the statues. When the Jade Circle lost four of the five statues during a murderous attack on their sanctuary, 12-year-old Shan’s destiny was sealed. It was she who carried the remaining tiger statue all the way to America; she who felt it clawing at her with the need to recover the crane, snake, leopard and dragon. The Circle was destroyed that night, and Shan hasn’t seen her mother since.

Shan has grown up under the tiger’s unforgiving influence and the shadow of her mother’s legacy. Her quest to recover the statues takes her to upstate New York and Ian Dashall, a geeky but brave archaeology professor, and then on to France and England with Ian at her side. Finally, on a secret island off the coast of Hong Kong, Shan overcomes torture, betrayal and deadly tigers in order to battle the man who destroyed the Jade Circle.

But even as she faces off with him, she loses hope. How can she possibly succeed where her mother had failed?
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Staff Reviewer
Reese’s vibrant debut introduces Shan Westfall, a half-Chinese, half-American crime fighter, who yearns to unite the mystical power of the Jade Circle, an ancient female order embodied by five jade animal artifacts… Flying kicks, heart-stopping spins and amazing somersaults propel the action. Reese choreographs both the romantic moves and the martial arts with flair.
Karen Morse
Fast paced and compulsively readable… The author’s love of the martial arts is evident throughout the novel, imbuing a story full of fight scenes with an air of authenticity. Though Shan is an expert fighter, her character is made real in both her imperfections and in her extreme sensitivity to them.
Joy Calderwood
JADE TIGER moves as fast and smooth as an exhibition fight between black belts. The beautiful, engagingly unsure Shan holds our focus, but allows us to appreciate things (such as Ian) that she doesn’t have time for. While zipping us through her martial arts story, author Jenn Reese gives us the spiritual feel of the training, with added flavors of humor, fantasy, romance, travel, even art appreciation.
Belle Dessler
This beautifully written novel is filled with everything a reader craves: adventure, romance, a worthy quest, characters we can root for and plenty of magic, myth and paranormal intrigue….Reese has a spectacular handle on all things martial-arts related, but nowhere is that knowledge more impressive than when she’s choreographing fight scenes.... A must read for fans of Indiana Jones, Sidney Fox (of Relic Hunter fame) or Lara Croft, Jade Tiger is a wonderful debut.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940012564030
  • Publisher: Jenn Reese
  • Publication date: 1/16/2011
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 224
  • Sales rank: 1,174,566
  • File size: 951 KB

Meet the Author

Jenn Reese writes adventure stories for readers of all ages. Her first novel, Jade Tiger, is suspenseful romance for adults. She’s currently at work on a middle-grade series for Candlewick Press. Jenn lives in Los Angeles.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Book

    OOOOOOOH LOOKS GOOD

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    adventure at its best

    From start to finish 'Jade Tiger' is a page-turning adventure. You have it all: romance, mystery, suspense, travel, and some more adventure, not to mention some edge of your seat action. Once I picked this one up it was hard to put down. ..................................Shan is a great character. Part Laura Croft, Indiana Jones, and Bruce Lee ,she fights her way though the book, and like a good guy every time, not only kicks the bad guy¿s rear but gets what she came for too. But while Shan may seem super-human she is far from it and it was nice to see that even she could still get hurt or get weak in the knees from a kiss.................................. 'Jade Tiger' was a lot of fun. Well-written and fast-paced, it moved you along quickly to a satisfying conclusion. I only hope that Jenn Reese¿s next book is as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    stupendous romantic fantasy

    In Hunan Province, China, the intruders attack the Sanctuary of the Jade Circle, but instead of fighting back, her mother sends her twelve year old daughter Shan Westfall to safety. She also leaves her beloved offspring with the protection of one of the five jade statues, the tiger. Sixteen years later, Shan searches for the four missing statues (the crane, snake, leopard, and dragon) to complete the circle as well as seeking information on her mother. Thus her quest takes her to Risley University in Upstate New York where she comes upon a kung fu expert beating up archeology Professor Ian Dashell. She intercedes and though a tough fight she prevails over her foe. Courageous though no athlete, Ian joins Shan on her mission that takes them into danger in Europe and Hong Kong. On their global trek, the soulmates struggle to survive a malevolent enemy while searching for this evil who destroyed the Jade Circle, but needs the last animal to complete his nefarious plans. --- JADE TIGER is a stupendous romantic fantasy starring a nerdy male professor and a warrior woman. The half Chinese half-American Shan is an improbable yet stupendous superheroine out of the Lara Croft School of kick butt women. Readers will admire her spunk, skill and tenacity as she lands in one precarious situation after another. In some ways her soulmate Ian is even braver as she was trained for this from childhood while he is not Indiana Jones, but his strength of spirit insists he stand by his beloved, which enables her to overcome her doubts that she might succeed when her mom failed. Jenna Reese writes an enchanting saga. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)