James Brown's Original Funky Divas

James Brown's Original Funky Divas


Over the decades, James Brown collaborated with, and encouraged, some of funk's leading ladies. During the '60s and early '70s in particular, every Brown show featured a 15- or 20-minute break when he would leave the stage, turning it over to a young female singer who'd perform her own mini set -- an event that became a tradition and an important part of the revue. It… See more details below


Over the decades, James Brown collaborated with, and encouraged, some of funk's leading ladies. During the '60s and early '70s in particular, every Brown show featured a 15- or 20-minute break when he would leave the stage, turning it over to a young female singer who'd perform her own mini set -- an event that became a tradition and an important part of the revue. It is these women who are collected across this marvelous and historically potent two-disc set. The first disc (1960s) kicks off with Bea Ford's "You've Got the Power." A duet with Brown, it's a sweetly charged ballad with a sleepy tempo, and marks the only song the duo ever recorded, although Ford would stay with Brown for nearly a year after. From January 1962, Yvonne Fair's "I Found You," meanwhile, would be reworked by Brown himself in 1965 as "I Got You (I Feel Good)." Other '60s highlights include the 1964 Anna King/Bobby Byrd duet "Baby Baby Baby" and Fair's impassioned, powerful tribute to strong women doing what they have to do, "You Can Make It if You Try." The 1970s disc features long "sets" from Brown's most successful protégés, Vicki Anderson (who also makes an appearance on the '60s collection) and Lyn Collins, together consuming 16 of the 19 tracks. Standouts from Anderson's portion are the supremely funky "The Message From the Soul Sisters, Pts. 1-2," which features both outstanding horn arrangements and some elastic bass from Bootsy Collins, and the always appreciated classic "I'm Too Tough for Mr. Big Stuff (Hot Pants)." The Collins tracks collect many of her chart hits, including "Think (About It)" and "Mama Feelgood," but the most interesting inclusion is the long "disco version" of the girl-powered "You Can't Love Me, If You Don't Respect Me" -- previously only available on a promo. Rounding up the 1970s tracks are the traditional gospel of "The Lord Will Make a Way Somehow, Pts. 1-2," beautifully wrought by Kay Robinson, and Martha High's duet with Brown, "Summertime." This is a crucial collection of the original women who rock -- the soul and funk divas who paved the way.

Read More

Product Details

Release Date:
Polygram Uk


Disc 1

  1. You've Got the Power
  2. A Little Taste of Soul
  3. I Found You
  4. If I Knew
  5. You Can Make It If You Try
  6. Straighten Up
  7. Say Yeah Yeah
  8. I Cried  - Tammi Terrell
  9. If You Don't Think  - Tammi Terrell
  10. If Somebody Told You  - Anna King
  11. Make up Your Mind  - Anna King
  12. Baby Baby Baby  - Anna King
  13. All of Me  -  Elsie Mae
  14. Whole Lot of Lovin'  -  Elsie Mae
  15. Do You Really Want to Rescue Me, Pt. 1  -  Elsie Mae
  16. This Is My Story  -  Jewels
  17. Wide Awake in a Dream
  18. Baby Don't You Know
  19. Unwind Yourself
  20. I'm Tired, I'm Tired, I'm Tired (Things Better Change Before It's ...)
  21. What Do I Have to Do to Prove My Love to You
  22. You Got to Have a Job (If You Don't Work - You Don't Eat)
  23. It's My Thing (You Can't Tell Me Who to Sock It To), Pts. 1-2
  24. I Made a Mistake Because It's Only You, Pts. 1-2
  25. Things Got to Get Better (Get Together)
  26. Answer to Mother Popcorn (I Got a Mother for You)
  27. I Want to Be in the Land of Milk and Honey

Disc 2

  1. The Message From the Soul Sisters, Pts. 1-2
  2. Super Good (Answer to Super Bad), Pts. 1-2
  3. I'm Too Tough for Mr. Big Stuff (Hot Pants)
  4. Don't Throw Your Love in the Garbage Can
  5. You're Welcome, Stop on By  - Vicki Anderson
  6. The Lord Will Make a Way Somehow, Pts. 1-2  -  Kay Robinson
  7. People Make the World a Better Place  -  Shirley Jean & The Relations
  8. Wheel of Life
  9. Think (About It)
  10. Me and My Baby Got a Good Thing Going
  11. Mama Feelgood
  12. Take Me, Just as I Am
  13. Don't Make Me Over
  14. What My Baby Needs Now Is a Little More Lovin'
  15. We Want to Parrty, Parrty, Parrty, Pts. 1-2
  16. Rock Me Again & Again & Again & Again & Again & Again (6 Times)
  17. You Can't Love Me, If You Don't Respect Me
  18. Put It on the Line
  19. Summertime

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

James Brown   Organ,Piano,Vocals,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Sugar Pie DeSanto   Vocals,Track Performer
Joe Beck   Guitar
Jon Faddis   Trumpet
David Sanborn   Alto Saxophone
Lew Soloff   Trumpet
Michael Moore   Bass
Pee Wee Ellis   Alto Saxophone
Maceo Parker   Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Marva Whitney   Vocals,Track Performer
Troy Seals   Guitar
Yvonne Fair   Vocals,Track Performer
Tasha Thomas   Background Vocals
David Matthews   Conductor,Tambourine
Bobby Byrd   Organ,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Benny Aronov   Synthesizer
Asch   Tenor Saxophone
Bootsy Collins   Bass
Sam T. Brown   Acoustic Guitar
Buie   Guitar
"Brisco" Clark   Tenor Saxophone
Burt Collins   Trumpet
Lyn Collins   Vocals,Hand Clapping,Track Performer
Phelps "Catfish" Collins   Guitar
Tony Cook   Drums
Joseph Davis   Trumpet
Cornell Dupree   Guitar
Tim Drummond   Bass
Gordon Edwards   Bass
Joe Farrell   Tenor Saxophone
Clayton Fillyau   Drums
Panama Francis   Drums
Richard "Kush" Griffith   Trumpet
Johnny Griggs   Percussion,Conga,Tambourine
Hilda Harris   Background Vocals
Ernie Hayes   Organ
Haywood Henry   Baritone Saxophone
Timothy Hedding   Organ
Sam Hurt   Trombone
Nat Jones   Alto Saxophone
Clifford MacMillan   Tenor Saxophone
Hugh McCracken   Guitar
Deborah McDuffie   Background Vocals
John Morgan   Drums
Leon Pendarvis   Clavinet
Gene Redd   Conductor
Waymon Reed   Trumpet
Eddie Setser   Guitar
David Spinozza   Guitar
John Starks   Drums
Maretha Stewart   Background Vocals
Clyde Stubblefield   Drums
Fred Thomas   Bass
Ron Tooley   Trumpet
John Turk   Trumpet
Frankie "Kash" Waddy   Drums
Teddy Washington   Trumpet
Fred Wesley   Trombone
David Weston   Bass
Lewis Hamlin   Trombone,Trumpet
McKinley Johnson   Trumpet
Roscoe Patrick   Trumpet
Bea Ford   Track Performer
Vicki Anderson   Bass,Vocals,Track Performer
Jimmie Robinson   Drums
Johnny Terry   Background Vocals
Martha High   Track Performer
Clarence Reid   Electric Piano
Jimmy Madison   Drums
Clayton "Chicken" Gunnells   Trumpet
Darryl "Hasaan" Jamison   Trumpet
Wallace Richardson   Guitar
Robert Coleman   Guitar
Russell Crimes   Trumpet
Melvin Parker   Drums
Alphonso "Country" Kellum   Bass,Guitar
Jimmy Nolen   Guitar
Bobby Roach   Guitar
Bobby Bennett   Background Vocals
Hearlon "Cheese" Martin   Guitar
Jimmy Parker   Alto Saxophone
Joe Dupars   Trumpet
Bernard Odum   Bass
Sweet Charles Sherrell   Bass,Piano
Eldee Williams   Tenor Saxophone
Beau Dollar Bowman   Drums
Alvin "Fats" Gonder   Organ,Piano
Bill Hollings   Background Vocals
Jerone "Jasaan Sanford" Melson   Trumpet
Wilmer Milton   Trombone
Isiah "Ike" Oakley   Trumpet
Eugene Stallworth   Background Vocals
Martha Harvin   Background Vocals
Charles Carr   Baritone Saxophone
Anna King   Vocals
Tammi Terrell   Vocals
Kay Robinson   Piano,Vocals
Sam Thomas   Bass
Joe Poff   Alto Saxophone
Robert Knight   Trumpet

Technical Credits

James Brown   Arranger,Producer
Aretha Franklin   Composer
David Matthews   Arranger
Famous Flames   Contributor
Nat Jones   Arranger
Bill Levenson   Executive Producer
Gene Redd   String Arrangements
Fred Wesley   Arranger
Jewels   Contributor
Clarence Reid   Arranger,Producer
Sammy Lowe   Arranger

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >