Jealousy [NOOK Book]

Overview


How much should beauty determine a person's worth in society, and how far will one woman go to gain approval?

In this compelling and thought-provoking novel, Marsha D. Jenkins-Sanders explores the stigmas, labels, and fears that contribute to people's feelings of unworthiness, confusion, resentment, and plummeting self-respect, as well as...
See more details below
Jealousy

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview


How much should beauty determine a person's worth in society, and how far will one woman go to gain approval?

In this compelling and thought-provoking novel, Marsha D. Jenkins-Sanders explores the stigmas, labels, and fears that contribute to people's feelings of unworthiness, confusion, resentment, and plummeting self-respect, as well as the complicated issues of sexual identity.

Rochelle Jackson is a woman born without, as she calls it, the "pretty gene." She more closely resembles a man and harbors a forbidden secret. This mix of volatile emotion and the simmering resentment bred by years of rejection becomes the destructive force behind her scheme to dethrone Dakota North, Rochelle's beautiful cousin and a prima donna in her own right.

When Rochelle lets loose with her vicious plan, it becomes an all-out war that will leave both parties changed forever. In the tradition of E. Lynn Harris, Jealousy has an emotionally wrenching plot and characters dealing with tough issues, such as bisexuality and homosexual relationships. Marsha D. Jenkins-Sanders's powerful novel questions the world's standards of value and provides a fresh perspective on the fight for power and identity.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Marsha D. Jenkins-Sanders is brilliant! Fast-paced and entertaining, Jealousy grips you from the first page to the exciting end in a story that reeks of today's tabloids. Told in first person by main character Rochelle, or 'Ro' to her family, she weaves a tale of bold, calculated, and reckless devastation on the people she loves, and those she doesn't, spawned by her outright jealousy of her 'prima donna' cousin, Dakota, who she longs to emulate. This is a must-read!" — Suzella Perkins, author, Behind the Veil, A Love So Deep and Ex-Terminator

"The intensity of Jealousy can burn in our soles so greatly that we are driven to stop at nothing to fit in the shoes of the one we are jealous of. Marsha D. Jenkins-Sanders writes a great story of being careful of what we wish for because we might just get it!" — Nicole M. Stevenson, First Cut's Radio Host

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781416596905
  • Publisher: Strebor Books
  • Publication date: 4/1/2008
  • Sold by: SIMON & SCHUSTER
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 384
  • Sales rank: 507,871
  • File size: 436 KB

Meet the Author

Marsha D. Jenkins-Sanders was born and raised in Detroit and now lives with her husband and two young sons in Michigan. She is an award-winning lyricist of a bestselling R&B single. This is her first novel.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2008

    Take No Prisoners approach to Controverial Subjects

    I loved Dakota. Beautiful and kind, she is the kind of person who could charm a snake without trying. With all the changes that took place, she remained the most positive character in the book. I thought she could have still met Chauncey without having to be so down on her luck. However, I felt like she needed an ally against everyone else (even strong people don't cut themselves off that much). But the message that was being portrayed was well received. Now, Ro was the character we loved to hate like Joan Collins on Dynasty. Just when you start to like her she does something evil. I really thought she and Dakota were going to get close and she would learn humility and grace, but she was too far gone. LOL I would have liked to see more development on Dante just because a lot of people might not have picked up on the fact that you just don't cross a gay man! When you are good to them, they are good to you. But if you cross them, you are in trouble! Of course, I hated Val, because she was just an evil bitter woman and she took it out on her child. Rodney for just the opposite and not taking up for his daughter. But these things made Rochelle who she was and moved the book along very well, so I wouldn't have changed it. I did want to find out if Rochelle went to jail or the mental hospital, but I'm sure we'll find out in the next book. Same thing with Chauncey. And what about Elly, the brother's wife and the brother and the other contributors to Ro's evil campaign, they need to be dealt with. I can't wait. In the end, though, if you notice, everything I have mentioned was what we were supposed to get from the book. So, I don't think changes can (or should) be made.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2008

    Green With Envy

    I saw this book at a store and the cover had me curious so I decided to purchase it. All I can say is outstanding. This book kept my attention from beginning to end because of all the drama from a jealous person, can't wait for the sequel. I never heard of this author before and after reading this novel I won't forget her. Congratulations on a outstanding read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)