Jealousy
  • Alternative view 1 of Jealousy
  • Alternative view 2 of Jealousy

Jealousy

4.0 5
by Marsha Jenkins-Sanders
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


How much should beauty determine a person's worth in society, and how far will one woman go to gain approval?

In this compelling and thought-provoking novel, Marsha D. Jenkins-Sanders explores the stigmas, labels, and fears that contribute to people's feelings of unworthiness, confusion, resentment, and plummeting self-respect, as well as the

…  See more details below

Overview


How much should beauty determine a person's worth in society, and how far will one woman go to gain approval?

In this compelling and thought-provoking novel, Marsha D. Jenkins-Sanders explores the stigmas, labels, and fears that contribute to people's feelings of unworthiness, confusion, resentment, and plummeting self-respect, as well as the complicated issues of sexual identity.

Rochelle Jackson is a woman born without, as she calls it, the "pretty gene." She more closely resembles a man and harbors a forbidden secret. This mix of volatile emotion and the simmering resentment bred by years of rejection becomes the destructive force behind her scheme to dethrone Dakota North, Rochelle's beautiful cousin and a prima donna in her own right.

When Rochelle lets loose with her vicious plan, it becomes an all-out war that will leave both parties changed forever. In the tradition of E. Lynn Harris, Jealousy has an emotionally wrenching plot and characters dealing with tough issues, such as bisexuality and homosexual relationships. Marsha D. Jenkins-Sanders's powerful novel questions the world's standards of value and provides a fresh perspective on the fight for power and identity.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Marsha D. Jenkins-Sanders is brilliant! Fast-paced and entertaining, Jealousy grips you from the first page to the exciting end in a story that reeks of today's tabloids. Told in first person by main character Rochelle, or 'Ro' to her family, she weaves a tale of bold, calculated, and reckless devastation on the people she loves, and those she doesn't, spawned by her outright jealousy of her 'prima donna' cousin, Dakota, who she longs to emulate. This is a must-read!" — Suzella Perkins, author, Behind the Veil, A Love So Deep and Ex-Terminator

"The intensity of Jealousy can burn in our soles so greatly that we are driven to stop at nothing to fit in the shoes of the one we are jealous of. Marsha D. Jenkins-Sanders writes a great story of being careful of what we wish for because we might just get it!" — Nicole M. Stevenson, First Cut's Radio Host

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781593091804
Publisher:
Strebor Books
Publication date:
04/01/2008
Edition description:
Original
Pages:
384
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 1.00(h) x 8.20(d)

Meet the Author

Marsha D. Jenkins-Sanders was born and raised in Detroit and now lives with her husband and two young sons in Michigan. She is an award-winning lyricist of a bestselling R&B single. This is her first novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Jealousy 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I loved Dakota. Beautiful and kind, she is the kind of person who could charm a snake without trying. With all the changes that took place, she remained the most positive character in the book. I thought she could have still met Chauncey without having to be so down on her luck. However, I felt like she needed an ally against everyone else (even strong people don't cut themselves off that much). But the message that was being portrayed was well received. Now, Ro was the character we loved to hate like Joan Collins on Dynasty. Just when you start to like her she does something evil. I really thought she and Dakota were going to get close and she would learn humility and grace, but she was too far gone. LOL I would have liked to see more development on Dante just because a lot of people might not have picked up on the fact that you just don't cross a gay man! When you are good to them, they are good to you. But if you cross them, you are in trouble! Of course, I hated Val, because she was just an evil bitter woman and she took it out on her child. Rodney for just the opposite and not taking up for his daughter. But these things made Rochelle who she was and moved the book along very well, so I wouldn't have changed it. I did want to find out if Rochelle went to jail or the mental hospital, but I'm sure we'll find out in the next book. Same thing with Chauncey. And what about Elly, the brother's wife and the brother and the other contributors to Ro's evil campaign, they need to be dealt with. I can't wait. In the end, though, if you notice, everything I have mentioned was what we were supposed to get from the book. So, I don't think changes can (or should) be made.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Deedy More than 1 year ago
I saw this book at a store and the cover had me curious so I decided to purchase it. All I can say is outstanding. This book kept my attention from beginning to end because of all the drama from a jealous person, can't wait for the sequel. I never heard of this author before and after reading this novel I won't forget her. Congratulations on a outstanding read.