Overview

A beautiful, brainy woman...
A couple of knuckleheads...
A duffle bag of cash...
And an endangered bird...

* * *

This was supposed to be the summer Pete sat on his duff, clocking visitors in and out of the business in the suburbs where he works as a security guard.

But ...

See more details below
Jersey Heat

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$3.99
BN.com price

Overview

A beautiful, brainy woman...
A couple of knuckleheads...
A duffle bag of cash...
And an endangered bird...

* * *

This was supposed to be the summer Pete sat on his duff, clocking visitors in and out of the business in the suburbs where he works as a security guard.

But when a body floats to the top of the local reservoir, Pete’s cushy gig at the town’s water company goes belly-up.

Now a gorgeous scientist needs him to put the screws to his boss before the guy pulls off a land swindle worth millions.
Will Pete side with his boss and make a killing in real estate? Or team up with the good guys and risk a killing of a different kind?

A full-length thriller in the tradition of Elmore Leonard and Carl Hiaasen.

JERSEY HEAT

Hazy, hot and humid summers are lousy times to grow a conscience.

PRAISE
“D’Agnese writes the most unusual and interesting books.”—Bookviews

ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Award-winning journalist Joseph D’Agnese has written for The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and numerous magazines. His crime fiction has appeared in Shotgun Honey, Beat to a Pulp, and Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine.

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940045581189
  • Publisher: Joseph D'Agnese
  • Publication date: 7/19/2011
  • Sold by: Smashwords
  • Format: eBook
  • File size: 360 KB

Meet the Author

Joseph D'Agnese has written for The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, This Old House, and many other publications. His science writing has been published extensively in Discover, Seed and Wired, and was twice named to the annual anthology, Best American Science Writing. His crime fiction has appeared in Shotgun Honey, Beat to a Pulp, Plots With Guns, and Alfred Hitchcock's Mystery Magazine.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)