Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Jimmy Martin and the Sunny Mountain Boys

Jimmy Martin and the Sunny Mountain Boys

by Jimmy Martin & the Sunny Mountain Boys
This five-CD set covers Jimmy Martin's complete recorded output from 1954 until 1974, 20 years and 146 tracks cut primarily for Decca-MCA, with a handful for RCA at the very outset. Disc One covers the early days, from his sides with the Osborne Brothers to his formation of a band of his own -- once Martin gets people like banjo man


This five-CD set covers Jimmy Martin's complete recorded output from 1954 until 1974, 20 years and 146 tracks cut primarily for Decca-MCA, with a handful for RCA at the very outset. Disc One covers the early days, from his sides with the Osborne Brothers to his formation of a band of his own -- once Martin gets people like banjo man J.D. Crowe and fiddler Gordon Terry, the sound tightens up and gets smoother, and Martin's singing grows in power and confidence. Disc Two represents Martin and the Sunny Mountain Boys at their peak, at least in the studio -- these tracks display a range of singing, emotion, and restrained instrumental virtuosity that are almost overpowering. By that time, Martin had managed to incorporate the best components of Nashville's "countrypolitan" sound into his bluegrass work, and was reaping rewards both musical and financial. Disc Three is a direct continuation, with a growing body of fare that country-rock bands would later pick up from Martin and others. Disc Four, gets into the middle/late '60s, when Martin's music achieved an incredibly high level of dexterity. His fourth distinct lineup of Sunny Mountain Boys are as good as any but the originals; different, with a more brittle, dexterous approach. This disc is dominated by the 1966 instrumental album Big and Country Music; as it will probably never be issued as a CD, this material alone may justify the purchase of this box. Disc Five goes into the mid-1970s, when Martin had a more obviously smooth and commercial sound than his earlier work -- the music is more sentimental and a little less impressive technically, but still worth hearing. The sound is all high quality, and the essay by Chris Skinker and the discography are impressive in their own right.

Product Details

Release Date:
Bear Family


Disc 1

  1. Save It! Save It!
  2. Chalk up Another One
  3. I Pulled a Boo Boo
  4. They Didn't Know the Difference (But I Did)
  5. 20/20 Vision
  6. That's How I Can Count on You
  7. Before the Sun Goes Down
  8. Skip, Hop and Wobble
  9. You'll Be a Lost Ball
  10. Hit Parade of Love
  11. Grand Ole Opry Song
  12. I'm the Boss (Of This Here House)
  13. Dog Bite Your Hide
  14. I'll Drink No More Wine
  15. Ocean of Diamonds
  16. Sophronie
  17. I'll Never Take No for an Answer
  18. Rock Hearts
  19. I Like to Hear 'Em Preach It
  20. Voice of My Savior
  21. Night
  22. It's Not Like Home
  23. She's Left Me Again
  24. Hold Whatcha Got
  25. Bear Tracks
  26. Cripple Creek
  27. In Foggy Old London
  28. The Joke's on You
  29. Wooden Shoes
  30. Home Run Man
  31. Who'll Sing for Me

Disc 2

  1. God Is Always the Same
  2. All the Good Times Are Past and Gone
  3. You Don't Know My Mind
  4. Homesick
  5. Old Fashioned Christmas
  6. Hi-De Diddle
  7. Don't Cry to Me
  8. My Walking Shoes
  9. Hold to God's Unchanging Hand
  10. Undo What's Been Done
  11. Deep River
  12. What Was I Supposed to Do?
  13. I Can, I Will, I Do Believe
  14. There Was a Love
  15. Poor Little Bull Frog
  16. Steppin' Stones
  17. There Ain't Nobody Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone
  18. Little Angels in Heaven
  19. Pretending I Don't Care
  20. Leavin' Town
  21. Don't Give Your Heart to a Rambler
  22. God Guide Our Leader's Hand
  23. Train 45
  24. Mr. Engineer
  25. This World Is Not My Home
  26. Drink up and Go Home
  27. Lord, I'm Coming Home
  28. Goodbye
  29. Pray the Clouds Away
  30. Give Me the Roses Now

Disc 3

  1. Prayer Bell of Heaven
  2. Give Me Your Hand
  3. Stormy Waters
  4. What Would You Give in Exchange for Your Soul
  5. Shut-In's Prayer
  6. A Beautiful Life
  7. Little White Church
  8. The Old Man's Drunk Again
  9. Moonshine Hollow
  10. Hey Lonesome
  11. Tennessee
  12. Widow Maker
  13. I'm Thinking Tonight of My Blue Eyes
  14. Red River Valley
  15. John Henry
  16. Truck Drivin' Man
  17. More Pretty Girls Than One
  18. Six Days on the Road
  19. Truck Driver's Quee
  20. I'd Rather Have America
  21. Little Robin
  22. There's Better Time's Coming
  23. 20/20 Vision
  24. Guitar Picking President
  25. It Takes One to Know One
  26. Sunny Side of the Mountain
  27. Snow White Grave
  28. Poor Ellen Smith
  29. Shenandoah Waltz

Disc 4

  1. I'm Coming Back (But I Don't Know When)
  2. In the Pines
  3. The Last Song
  4. Sweet Dixie
  5. Wild Indian
  6. Run Boy Run
  7. Theme Time
  8. Orange Blossom Special
  9. I Can't Quit Cigarettes
  10. Lost Highway
  11. The Good Things (Outweigh the Bad)
  12. The Summer's Come and Gone
  13. Fraulein
  14. You're Gonna Change (Or I'm Gonna Leave)
  15. Tennessee Waltz
  16. Little Maggie, She's So Sweet
  17. Big Country
  18. Red Rooster
  19. Crow on the Banjo
  20. You Are My Sunshine
  21. Going up Dry Branch
  22. Living Like a Fool
  23. Union County
  24. Uptown Blues
  25. Goin' Ape (Over You)
  26. Steal Away Somewhere and Die
  27. Freeborn Man
  28. Losing You

Disc 5

  1. Just an Old Standby
  2. Slowly
  3. Lonesome Prison Blues
  4. Shackles and Chains
  5. Doin' My Time
  6. Milwaukee, Here I Come
  7. Arabounce
  8. Homesick
  9. (I've Got My) Future on Ice
  10. Midnight Rambler
  11. Between Fire and Water
  12. Singing All Day (And Dinner on the Ground)
  13. Lift Your Eyes to Jesus
  14. Shake Hands with Mother Again
  15. When the Savior Reached Down for Me
  16. Help My Brother
  17. My Lord Keeps a Record
  18. I'd Like to Be Sixteen Again
  19. I Cried Again
  20. Chattanooga Dog
  21. Mary Ann
  22. I Buried My Future
  23. Just Plain Yellow
  24. Fly Me to Frisco
  25. Grave upon the Green Hillside
  26. Lost to a Stranger
  27. Beautiful Brown Eyes
  28. You Are My Sunshine

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jimmy Martin & the Sunny Mountain Boys   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Doyle Lawson   Mandolin,Tenor (Vocal)
Benny Martin   Fiddle
Alan Munde   Banjo
Lois Johnson   Baritone (Vocal)
Grady Martin   Guitar,Leader
Gordon Terry   Fiddle,Bass (Vocal)
Harold Bradley   Guitar,Leader
Paul Craft   Banjo,Baritone (Vocal)
Vernon Derrick   Fiddle,Mandolin,Baritone (Vocal),Tenor (Vocal)
Kirk Hansard   Bass (Vocal),Drums
Freddie Harris   Mandolin,Baritone (Vocal)
Karl Himmel   Drums
Jimmy Martin   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Leader,Vocals,Whistle (Instrument)
Leon Rhodes   Guitar
Rual Yarbrough   Banjo,Baritone (Vocal)
Brent Burkett   Bass (Vocal)

Technical Credits

Jimmie Skinner   Composer
Owen Bradley   Producer
Jimmy Martin   Composer,Illustrations
Steve Sholes   Producer
Harry Silverstein   Producer
Hank Williams   Composer
Paul Elmore   Track Mix
R.A. Andreas   Illustrations
Richard Weize   Reissue Producer,Tape Research
Sylke Holtrop   Artwork
Gerd Weiler   Artwork
Paul Cohen   Producer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews