Jinx (Jinx Series #1)

Jinx (Jinx Series #1)

4.7 15
by Sage Blackwood
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The highly acclaimed first book of a fantasy adventure series set in a mysterious forest, starring a daring new hero.

"Readers will thrill to journey with Jinx" (SLJ, starred review), a wizard's apprentice, as he sets off on a quest through the dangerous Urwald, a magical forest full of wizards and were-creatures, and discovers that it is more

Overview

The highly acclaimed first book of a fantasy adventure series set in a mysterious forest, starring a daring new hero.

"Readers will thrill to journey with Jinx" (SLJ, starred review), a wizard's apprentice, as he sets off on a quest through the dangerous Urwald, a magical forest full of wizards and were-creatures, and discovers that it is more complex than he could imagine, and that it needs him more than he could ever guess.

This humorous and smart tween fantasy adventure is perfect for fans of Septimus Heap, The Sisters Grimm, and Fablehaven.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Editorial Reviews

The Horn Book
Flowing dialogue, easy interactions between the characters, a mixed Diana Wynne Jones/Lloyd Alexander vibe, and a setting both familiar and original make the novel immediately inviting and compelling.
Booklist (starred review)
In this expertly paced, beautifully written fantasy, Blackwood elevates familiar fantasy elements with exquisitely credible characters who inhabit a world filled with well-drawn magic and whimsy.
Publishers Weekly
In a story with strong middle-grade appeal, Jinx has grown up in the Urwald, an enormous, sentient forest where humans exist on sufferance, safe only in their own clearings and the paths between them. Trolls and werewolves prowl the Urwald, as do dangerous witches and wizards. After Jinx's brutal stepfather decides to abandon him in the forest, the boy is saved by a crusty, morally ambiguous wizard named Simon, who takes him in as a servant, eventually teaching him some magic. Years later, a 12-year-old Jinx and two new friends set off to find another wizard, the monstrous Bonemaster, in hopes he can help them overcome their respective magical troubles. Blackwood...fills her tale with drama and delightfully funny dialogue ("You could have told us you had a curse on you that made you have to tell the truth," Jinx complains at one point). Jinx is an engaging and memorable hero, and adult characters like Simon, the Bonemaster, and the witch Dame Glammer (who rides a butter churn) are entertainingly eccentric. Ages 8-12. (Jan.)
Booklist
In this expertly paced, beautifully written fantasy, Blackwood elevates familiar fantasy elements with exquisitely credible characters who inhabit a world filled with well-drawn magic and whimsy.
School Library Journal
Gr 4–8—"In the Urwald you grow up fast or not at all," readers learn in the opening of this rich and fecund fantasy. Jinx is that staple of children's literature: the scorned, ill-used orphan who proves to be so much more gifted and important than he ever imagined possible. He occupies a world that is simultaneously original and familiar, influenced by centuries of folklore, but newly envisioned and vividly created. This eldritch, primeval forest that Jinx has been warned to shun is, nevertheless, where he has been abandoned by his heartless stepfather. Blackwood has populated this magical place with convincingly conflicted wizards and witches who seem uncertain as to how much they should be using their skills to control events or the beings around them. Jinx is slow to recognize his own powers as he digs his bare toes into the earth of the forest and feels the pulsing heartbeat of its life, or finds that he can call up fire. He is even slower to divine the motives of the various people he encounters, including Elwyn and Reven-youths under mysterious curses of their own-who navigate the Urwald beside him. Readers will thrill to the journey with Jinx as he discovers and grows into himself. Though they will not feel abandoned at the edge of a cliff at the book's end, they won't be surprised-and will be delighted-if sequels are in the offing.—Miriam Lang Budin, Chappaqua Library, NY

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062129918
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
01/07/2014
Series:
Sage Blackwood's Jinx Series, #1
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
123,239
Product dimensions:
9.40(w) x 6.20(h) x 1.00(d)
Lexile:
HL620L (what's this?)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Sage Blackwood lives at the edge of a large forest, with thousands of books and a very old dog, and enjoys carpentry, cooking, and walking in the woods of New York State.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Jinx 4.7 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 15 reviews.
BJBlevins More than 1 year ago
Jinx is a book which has magic, mysterious creatures, and distant lands. The story begins with a young boy who is not wanted by his "family". They take him off into the forest to leave him. He meets a wizard and his adventures begin. The story covers Jinxes life for four years. Jinx was a pleasure to read and children 8 and up should enjoy the characters and events that occur. It should appeal to boys and girls alike due to the variety of heroic characters contained within the pages.
Mildmay More than 1 year ago
I'll be honest, I mostly picked up this book because the cover image is phenomenal. Of course you shouldn't pick up books for their covers! But I was very pleasantly surprised. Jinx is a likable character but to be honest, Simon stole the show for me. If you liked books like The Magic Thief you will like this one! I thought the abilities the main character had were very unique and creative. The events that unfold throughout this book really do pull on your heart strings. I felt for all the characters, I even loved Simon and Sophies relationship! This is certainly a book you should pick up and read if you like fantasy, creatures and magic! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The sample is 36 pages
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is one of the manny good books i have ever red
Anonymous 5 months ago
Amazing. I should say you should read jinx.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Best book ever:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I doubt he even knows you excist. We are holding him at 12 years a slave res one
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ammberheart lunges at smaug and grabs his wing in her fangs and tears it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It's a okay book so far.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Are you a boy
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Grabs the other kits and runs back to bloodclan
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Can't wait for jinx magic
Anonymous More than 1 year ago