BN.com Gift Guide

Jinx's Magic

( 4 )

Overview

Jinx's Magic is the second book in Sage Blackwood's highly acclaimed fantasy-adventure series, Jinx. This humorous and smart tween trilogy set in a magical forest is perfect for fans of Angie Sage's Septimus Heap, Michael Buckley's the Sisters Grimm, and Brandon Mull's Fablehaven.

"Readers will thrill to journey with Jinx" (Jinx, School Library Journal, starred review), a daring young wizard's apprentice, as he travels from his home in the Urwald to an unfamiliar desert land in ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (18) from $4.99   
  • New (11) from $9.54   
  • Used (7) from $4.99   
Jinx's Magic

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

Jinx's Magic is the second book in Sage Blackwood's highly acclaimed fantasy-adventure series, Jinx. This humorous and smart tween trilogy set in a magical forest is perfect for fans of Angie Sage's Septimus Heap, Michael Buckley's the Sisters Grimm, and Brandon Mull's Fablehaven.

"Readers will thrill to journey with Jinx" (Jinx, School Library Journal, starred review), a daring young wizard's apprentice, as he travels from his home in the Urwald to an unfamiliar desert land in search of ancient magic. He needs that magic badly—there are forces threatening the Urwald from all sides.

The more he learns, however, the clearer it becomes that this quest will require more than the magic of a solitary wizard's apprentice, and soon he'll have to call upon all of the Urwald—witches, werewolves, wizards, and trees—for help.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
2013-10-09
It's hard not to like a fantasy that is set in an argumentative magical forest, but Blackwood squanders the promise of her debut (Jinx, 2013) with a sequel that just spins its wheels. Though he's repeatedly assured that he doesn't know who he is or what he's doing, 12-year-old wizard-in-training Jinx continues to explore the nebulous extent of his burgeoning magical powers. He does this both at a school in the city of Samara, where he discovers a new style of magic, and in the Urwald, where he can draw huge amounts of raw power from the trees--but his ability to hear and speak to them is a mixed blessing. Meanwhile, his crabby mentor, Simon Magus, is recaptured by the Bonemaster, an affable archnemesis who has also taken to exterminating the Urwald's scattered human communities, and Simon's scholarly wife, Sophie, has been imprisoned. Further complicating matters, Reven (aka Prince Raymond) has given the whole forest fantods by promoting a profitable lumbering operation on the way to reclaiming his throne. Blackwood drops hints of a larger conflict looming and continues to throw her protagonist into dangerous situations. At odds with this are tongue-in-cheek plot elements, such as Jinx's ability to see thoughts as pink puffy clouds or other shapes, cryptic remarks delivered at odd moments by elves and an oddly rational werewolf. Typical of middle volumes: much backing and forthing to not enough purpose. (Fantasy. 10-12)
The Horn Book
The unique setting, smart pace, likable characters, and sprightly voice hold the narrative together while keeping Jinx’s fans eager for more.
Booklist (starred review)
This series deserves a permanent place in the children’s fantasy pantheon, with Narnia and Earthsea.
School Library Journal
12/01/2013
Gr 4–8—The middle book of a trilogy must be the hardest to write: the thrill of the first book's creation of setting and characters is over and the satisfaction of tying every loose end together is yet to come. In this sequel to Jinx (HarperCollins, 2013), Blackwood succeeds in keeping readers' interests piqued without completely frustrating them. Jinx travels beyond the borders of his beloved Urwald and learns that it must be saved from the greedy depredations of invading foreigners from Keyland. He insinuates himself into the school at the Temple in Samara so he can explore the history of magic. As Blackwood extends Jinx's experiences to other lands, she adds layers of complexity that hint at future developments. Jinx's magical powers are strengthening, but he doesn't fully understand their source or their extent. He's still finding out how to use his gifts. The result of these uncertainties is that readers are left feeling as unsettled and unbalanced as he is. The next installment can't come along soon enough.—Miriam Lang Budin, Chappaqua Library, NY
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062129932
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 1/7/2014
  • Pages: 400
  • Sales rank: 205,095
  • Age range: 8 - 12 Years
  • Lexile: 560L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 5.70 (w) x 8.40 (h) x 1.50 (d)

Meet the Author

Sage Blackwood lives at the edge of a large forest, with thousands of books and a very old dog, and enjoys carpentry, cooking, and walking in the woods of New York State.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    A perfect sequel to Jinx!  Jinx is out from under Simon's wing,

    A perfect sequel to Jinx!  Jinx is out from under Simon's wing, a powerful wizard in his own right, and able to explore a much larger slice of his world, and perhaps another world, than he could as a young child.  Freed from his dependence on Simon the possibly-not-evil wizard, he starts to realize how much he cares about Simon as a person.  And he faces difficult choices, realizing that good and evil are not simple.  There's his friend Reven, who is loyal, kind, courteous, honorable (well, for a thief), and, incidentally, the single greatest threat to the Urwald and its inhabitants.  There's Dame Glammer, who's probably evil, but always seems to end up helping Jinx out.  There's his crush Elfwyn, who always tells the truth - and, as a result, can't be trusted.  There's the hilariously pompous Witch Seymour, who's probably not evil, but very gossipy - and an invaluable source of information for Jinx (which is good) and for Reven (which is perhaps not so good).  And all this is before Jinx goes to Samara, not for a brief bewildering visit as before, but to study banned magic, and possibly get involved with an outlawed conspiracy...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Is wasnt good-it was amazing

    Yes! A sequl to Jinx. You should get this. Totally

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    This second book was a perfect sequel to the first. I felt anxie

    This second book was a perfect sequel to the first. I felt anxiety with the character and loved the fact we get to explore Samara. The plot kept thickening and getting interesting. Of course it ends with a cliffhanger so I'm desperate to get ahold of a third, but I don't see any announcements for a third. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    Can't wait to read

    I read jinx and i thot the secend wold be out and i fond this and i can't wait to read this book the first was grate and if you have not read it you shod theas book by Sage Blackwood are fantisy for kids about 8 and up but thare is some odd languge

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)