Journey to the Well: A Novel

Journey to the Well: A Novel

4.3 74
by Diana Wallis Taylor
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Marah is just a girl of thirteen when her life is set on a path that will eventually lead her to a life-changing encounter with the Messiah.See more details below

Overview

Marah is just a girl of thirteen when her life is set on a path that will eventually lead her to a life-changing encounter with the Messiah.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal

This imaginative retelling of the biblical story of the Samaritan woman who encountered Jesus at Jacob's Well traces her path to that fateful meeting. At 13, Marah, forced into marriage with a man she does not want to wed, must say good-bye to Jesse, the boy she had hoped would be her husband. Her life takes many twists and turns before she meets Jesus at the well. Set in a vividly depicted first century, this absorbing debut novel is populated with charming characters. Readers who enjoyed Anita Diamant's The Red Tent or D.S. Lliteras's The Silence of John will appreciate this fine effort. Recommended for CF and historical fiction collections where biblical tales are popular.


—Tamara Butler

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781441203809
Publisher:
Baker Publishing Group
Publication date:
03/01/2009
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
10,837
File size:
1 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >