Journey to the Well

Journey to the Well

4.3 74
by Diana Wallis Taylor
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Since Samaria is a land of many springs, Marah could have gone to the local well. Instead she went a mile out of her way in the heat of the day to draw her water, avoiding the other women who drew their water in the cool of the morning. Who was she? It was this woman that Jesus chose as the first person to whom He would reveal Himself as Messiah. Was there more to

Overview

Since Samaria is a land of many springs, Marah could have gone to the local well. Instead she went a mile out of her way in the heat of the day to draw her water, avoiding the other women who drew their water in the cool of the morning. Who was she? It was this woman that Jesus chose as the first person to whom He would reveal Himself as Messiah. Was there more to this woman than we have supposed?

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal

This imaginative retelling of the biblical story of the Samaritan woman who encountered Jesus at Jacob's Well traces her path to that fateful meeting. At 13, Marah, forced into marriage with a man she does not want to wed, must say good-bye to Jesse, the boy she had hoped would be her husband. Her life takes many twists and turns before she meets Jesus at the well. Set in a vividly depicted first century, this absorbing debut novel is populated with charming characters. Readers who enjoyed Anita Diamant's The Red Tent or D.S. Lliteras's The Silence of John will appreciate this fine effort. Recommended for CF and historical fiction collections where biblical tales are popular.


—Tamara Butler

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781591606468
Publisher:
Xulon Press
Publication date:
08/28/2003
Pages:
316
Product dimensions:
6.24(w) x 9.14(h) x 0.77(d)

Meet the Author

Diana Wallis Taylor is the author of Journey to the Well and Martha, and has published many articles, and has contributed stories to several books. Taylor lives in California. Find out more at www.dianawallistaylor.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Journey to the Well 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 74 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Knowing the scripture about the Samaritan women meeting Jesus at the well, I was of the understanding that she was a sinful woman when it came to being with several men or "husbands". I never really thought more about it than that because of the lack of information provided about her in scripture. However, this book has open my eyes as to the possible life circumstances that may have lead her to the conversation she had with Jesus. The book portrays her as a woman that has gone through unfortunate circumstances when it comes to her being married and the law which dictates what marriage is. This was an enjoyable read and gave me a new perspective about the interaction between the Samaritan woman and Jesus at the well. It is full of emotion, history and ultimately the transforming power of what happens when people encounter Jesus.
HikingNana More than 1 year ago
If you like biblical novels - this is one you won't want to miss. It was recommended to me by a co-worker who couldn't put it down. I know what she means! It was hard to put down and gives one food for thought about jumping to conclusions. (You'll know what I mean once you've completed this story.) I really enjoyed this author and plan to read more of her work soon. In-Joy the Journey!
Janice Mason More than 1 year ago
Love this story. Hard to put down. Reminds me of Francine Rivers.
Tammy Spraker More than 1 year ago
Great read..could not wait to read about what else Marah had to endure. Has you rethink your prayer habits.
TBCN More than 1 year ago
This book was 25 years in the making. The author paints an amazing story which will take you back in time - a time when Jesus lived. I have to admit I had always thought of the 'woman at the well' to be a woman of poor moral character. Diana describes a tale of a faithful woman, a woman after God's own heart, who is thrust into circumstances beyond her control. How quickly people judge someone without knowing all the facts...but once all the facts are known, and they can't pin it to one bad choice that brought about all the bad luck. People start to speculate things or imagine stuff. You can't win - especially back then. There is no redemption except through Jesus. Forgiveness, love, compassion...those are just a few things Marah finds at Jacob's well that day. The author not only tells the tale of Marah and how women were treated back then, but she also tells of other characters that could have or did intersect with her life. Some of the people discussed at length were Reba, Zibeon, Shimei, Jessie, Hamon, Ahmal and Jesus. To me, a good book brings the bible to life in a very creative way. I love that it caused me to turn to scripture and see what else I can glean from its pages. Diana Wallis Taylor walks you through Jesus' time customs and the many people he met and healed along the way. After reading "Journey to the Well", scripture will come alive for you and you'll find yourself (like I did) digging though its pages and coming to your own conclusions of what could have happened back then. www.psalm516.blogspot.com
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I absolutely enjoyed this book, I could have hardly put it down. This was an eye-opener for me because I had never really given much thought about who the woman at the well was or what may have happened in her life to cause her to be in that situation of having had five husbands before Jesus met her at the well that day. Kudos for Diana Wallis Taylor for the way in which she brought the characters to life with an unexpected twist to the end, I highly recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The Samaritan woman is preached and sung about but this is the first book that I've read that puts you in her shoes. Though I don't agree with some of the tie ins the author embellishes to move the story along, I understand why she did so... just be aware that it doesn't seek to be accurate. This is a book that changed the way I think about this woman, it was a very interesting read addition that I recommend to an age old story, and even though you may know the Biblical ending you keep reading this delightful book for the rest of the story.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It is a blessing to enjoy books based on The Word of GOD. To read history along with GOD's Word allows us to review our lives and give thanks. This book showed me many emotions -- lost, compassion, anger, confusion, love unconditional, hope, judgemental, forgiveness, life but most of all dependance on GOD and HIS love for all people. GOD does wish for no one to perish but for all to come unto Salvation. For me, that is a sweet and lovable GOD. The book caused me to worship, sing, praise and thank GOD for HIS provisions in my life. To read that this book was also pressed upon by GOD to Diana is another blessing.
Kribby More than 1 year ago
Very very good must read
Kellie-Ann Davis More than 1 year ago
I don't know how accurate the story is but it gives a good example of what her life could have been and it is a touching story. I did not give it 5 stars because sometimes it was slow but I recommend this book!
AVID-JT More than 1 year ago
Step through the pages and journey through ancient times with a young girl as she faces a life that will leave you thanking God for all the blessings in your life. You will find yourself desperately wishing you could offer her your hand, your money, and a shoulder to cry on. It is a magnificently crafted story that will build your faith and warm your heart.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
honeygrams5 More than 1 year ago
If you ever wondered how the woman at the well got all those husbands, here it is. I liked the reasons that caused this humble woman to into the This position. The problems women had to live through gives more insight into those times. Would be a good discussion for a woman's reading club.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TLJo More than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for writing this story. Although we can't know the exact circumstances the woman at the well may have faced, her story as portrayed in this book certainly could have happened. Like others I always assumed (or was taught) the woman was a prostitute. This book reminded me not to judge or assume about others. We don't know their history or what circumstances may have happened to put them in the situation they're in. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. It was not only entertaining but also a life lesson.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago