Julian Wachner: Complete Choral Music, Vol. 1

( 2 )
BN.com price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (9) from $1.99   
  • New (8) from $2.00   
  • Used (1) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 3/30/2010
  • Label: Naxos American
  • UPC: 636943960721
  • Catalog Number: 8559607
  • Sales rank: 364,951


Disc 1
  1. 1 Arise, My Love, for chorus & organ - Michael Bloss & Julian Wachner (4:03)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Elora Festival Singers Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Those who can, do

    Julian Wachner--composer, conductor, and teacher--is the new director of music and the arts at New York City's famed Trinity Church. Judging by this disc, and a concert I saw him conduct, it was a fine choice. Volume one of his "complete" choral music mixes the sacred and the secular; some pieces are with organ, some unaccompanied. Wachner can do it all: very contemporary rhythms and sounds might be followed with a page of lush romantic music, or in his sacred works he can fit right into the great Anglican tradition (check track 12, a wonderful hymn tune with a somewhat surprising descant). Maybe a future installment will be sung by the Trinity choir, which has already recorded for Naxos. Meanwhile, the Elora Festival Singers do an excellent job on a well-engineered collection--blend is good, pianos are clear, and fortes don't blast. Notes by the composer himself are a plus.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Exemplary Contemporary Choral Music

    Julian Wachner is a fine choral composer, and this CD is welcome both as is and as the start of a collection of his music. His writing combines the virtues of fluid rhythmic scanning of the texts, melodic transparency that makes all the words clear and luminous, extended harmonies. He's a composer who makes extended major key passages complex and interesting.

    The cummings and Rilke settings are good balances between the meaning of the words and the richness of the music. Wachner is skillful at making 'appropriate' music, colors and phrases suitable for each poet. The liturgical music is lovely, especially the short "Introit For The Season of Epiphany," and again the style sounds absolutely apt for the meaning, different than the music for the modern poetry but still recognizably Wachner's conception. I especially like the sharp rhythms he uses in the "Missa Brevis." Impeccable performances by the Elora Festival Singers and Noel Edison, and nice, resonant sound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews