Julie Albers, Cello

Julie Albers, Cello

3.0 1
by Julie Albers

Product Details

Release Date:


  1. Sonata for cello and piano in G minor, Op. 19

    • Sergey Rachmaninov
    • James Manly
    • Julie Albers
    • Orion Weiss
    1. Lento - Allegro moderato  (10:05)
    2. Allegro scherzando  (06:19)
    3. Andante  (05:44)
    4. Allegro mosso  (10:25)
  2. Variations for cello & piano in E flat major on Mozart's "Bei Männern," WoO 46  - Ludwig van Beethoven  - James Manly  - Julie Albers  - Orion Weiss  (10:14)
  3. Adagio & Allegro for horn (or violin or cello) & piano in A flat major, Op. 70

    • Robert Schumann
    • James Manly
    • Julie Albers
    • Orion Weiss
    1. Langsam , mit innigem ausdruck  (04:20)
    2. Rasch und feurig  (04:55)
  4. Méditation, violin & orchestra version and various arrangements (from opera "Thäis")  - Jules Massenet  - James Manly  - Julie Albers  - Orion Weiss  (05:26)
  5. Paganini Variations  - Gregor Piatigorsky  - James Manly  - Julie Albers  - Orion Weiss  (14:19)

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Julie Albers, Cello 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Although Julie Albers and Orion Weiss are fine players, my main problem with this CD is that there seems not to be any stylistic differences among the pieces. For example, if I play for you their version of the Rachmaninoff and then immediately play for you the Beethoven, you will not be able to tell the difference. The cellist's vibrato or sound does not change whatsoever and she seems to use the same phrasing for everything-- crescendo and then decrescendo at the end of a phrase. Beautiful phrase endings, indeed, but I want more. The other problem that I have is that the chosen pieces are particulary puzzling-- none of them are truly interesting cello pieces. The Rachmaninov is more a piano showcase if anything, the Schumann is a horn transcription, the Chausson is a violin transcription, and the Piatigorsky just doesn't work for the cello (this cellist-- whose forte is definitely her control-- has pitch and intonation problems in some parts). The only piece that seems to belong in a "debut" album is the Beethoven and even that is more of a piano piece. Very odd choice of repertoire. So since most pieces are geared toward the piano, that brings me to the pianist who seems to have a bigger career (I see his name a lot in the classical music world). Yes, a fine pianist, indeed, however he seems to have taken the role of an accompanist in this recording. I'd like to hear him in a solo CD recording because perhaps he felt that he could not take liberty to play out or express strength or musical ideas due to the accompanying role. To sum up: nice overall tone but no stylistic differences with questionable repertoire choices make this a lackluster debut CD.