BN.com Gift Guide

June 6, 1994: The Voices of D-Day

Overview

This is a definitive, and redefining, book: On the 50th anniversary of the single greatest combined land-sea-air operation of World War II, American GIs, British Tommies, soldiers, sailors, paratroopers, Rangers, and Commandos who breached Fortress Europe tell what really happened as they braved a firestorm of Nazi shot and shell. The June 6, 1944, cross-channel assault mustered 120,000 Allied soldiers, a fleet of 5,000 vessels, and an aerial armada of 1,000 bombers for a precisely orchestrated, devastating blow ...
See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (42) from $1.99   
  • New (7) from $10.00   
  • Used (35) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$10.00
Seller since 2007

Feedback rating:

(325)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
1st Edition, Fine/Fine- 1/4" DJ tear at front fore-edge corners, o.w. clean, bright & tight. NO ink names, bookplates, etc. ISBN 0312110146 Price unclipped.

Ships from: Troy, NY

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$11.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(18)

Condition: New
STATED FIRST EDITION!!! SHIPS SUPER FAST WITH FREE TRACKING!!! PROFESSIONALLY PACKAGED IN A WEATHER RESISTANT POLY BUBBLE MAILER!!! CHECK OUT OUR EXCELLENT FEEDBACK!!! This book ... is in Awesome Shape considering it was printed in 1994. Has minor Scuffs / Handling / Shelf Wear along the edges and corners. Pages are Crisp and Clean and the Binding is Tight. Ready for your Collection. Read more Show Less

Ships from: Hanover, PA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
$12.50
Seller since 2007

Feedback rating:

(325)

Condition: New
1st Edition, Fine/Fine- Stated "First Edition." Clean, bright and tight. No ink names, tears, chips, foxing, etc. ISBN 0312110146

Ships from: Troy, NY

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$12.50
Seller since 2007

Feedback rating:

(325)

Condition: New
1st Edition, Fine/Fine Clean, tight & bright. NO ink names, bookplates, DJ tears etc. Price unclipped. ISBN 0312110146 unclipped.

Ships from: Troy, NY

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$13.50
Seller since 2007

Feedback rating:

(325)

Condition: New
1st Edition, Fine/Fine Clean, tight & bright. No ink names, DJ tears etc. ISBN 0312110146

Ships from: Troy, NY

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$14.00
Seller since 2007

Feedback rating:

(325)

Condition: New
1st Edition, Fine/Fine Clean, tight & bright. No ink names, tears, chips, foxing etc. Price unclipped. DJ in a clear plastic protective wrapper. ISBN 0312110146

Ships from: Troy, NY

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$60.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(193)

Condition: New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

This is a definitive, and redefining, book: On the 50th anniversary of the single greatest combined land-sea-air operation of World War II, American GIs, British Tommies, soldiers, sailors, paratroopers, Rangers, and Commandos who breached Fortress Europe tell what really happened as they braved a firestorm of Nazi shot and shell. The June 6, 1944, cross-channel assault mustered 120,000 Allied soldiers, a fleet of 5,000 vessels, and an aerial armada of 1,000 bombers for a precisely orchestrated, devastating blow at the enemy. But the action failed to follow the script, as inadequate intelligence, human error, and nature conspired to nearly wreck in a few hours the elaborate plans that had been kept secret from Hitler for many months. Here, the men who were there tell what they felt before they dropped from the sky or splashed ashore, what went wrong and why, and how they pressed through the fearsome resistance that claimed so many of their comrades. Their more than seventy accounts, brilliantly interwoven and abundantly documented with photographs, present the savagery of combat at its fiercest. In the tradition of John Keegan's The Face of Battle, World War II veteran Gerald Astor has written a book that radically revises our understanding of "The Longest Day" in an unmediated, unforgettable way that is, finally, the most fitting tribute to the valor of those who endured it.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Astor ( The Blood-Dimmed Tide: The Battle of the Bulge By the Men Who Fought It ) here recreates the biggest amphibious assault in history, told in large part by the soldiers, sailors and airmen who survived the ordeal 50 years ago. Operation Overlord, the Allied invasion of German-occupied France, was staggering in its scope: on June 6, 175,000 troops and their equipment--which included 50,000 vehicles--crossed the English Channel in a 5000-vessel armada to do battle with well-entrenched German troops in Normandy. Despite horrific losses, the Allies succeeded in gaining a precarious foothold by nightfall on D-Day. Astor's mosaic portrait of the fighting--the Canadians at Juno Beach, the British at Sword Beach, the Americans at Omaha Beach, plus supporting air and naval units--vividly demonstrates how the victory was accomplished. His account of the U.S. Ranger assault on the German artillery positions atop Pointe du Hoc is especially memorable. Astor's narrative is noteworthy for its immediacy and for the way he presents his spokesmen in the context of their families, schools, hometowns, nations and finally of their military training. Photos. (June)
Library Journal
Author, journalist, and veteran Astor has assembled an exciting collection of personal recollections from the men who, in their late teens and early twenties, made history on June 6, 1944, when they invaded occupied France, Hitler's vaunted ``fortress Europe,'' to wrest the continent from Nazi domination. The voices of 70 men recount the exhilaration, fear, and valor they felt during the greatest land, sea, and air battle of World War II; there are vivid accounts of action as U.S. soldiers and paratroopers battled elite Wehrmacht and Waffen-SS panzer divisions commanded by Erwin Rommel, the notorious and brilliant ``Desert Fox.'' Supported by well-chosen sources, including personal memoirs and diaries, and other familiar primary and secondary material, this well-written volume is sure to appeal to scholars, informed laymen, and general audiences alike. [Previewed in ``World War II: Fifty Years After D-Day,'' LJ 4/1/94, p.110-111.]-Thomas G. Anton, Field Museum of Natural History, Chicago
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780312110147
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Publication date: 4/18/1994
  • Edition description: 1st ed
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 432

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)