Just Grace and the Double Surprise (Just Grace Series)

Just Grace and the Double Surprise (Just Grace Series)

4.6 12
by Charise Mericle Harper
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In this seventh installment in the Just Grace series, any day now Grace’s best friend in the whole world, Mimi, is going to be getting a brand-new sister. Grace is really excited, plus nervous, plus worried, plus happy all mixed together. But both Grace and Mimi are in for a surprise when they find out that Mimi’s family is not adopting a brand-newSee more details below

Overview

In this seventh installment in the Just Grace series, any day now Grace’s best friend in the whole world, Mimi, is going to be getting a brand-new sister. Grace is really excited, plus nervous, plus worried, plus happy all mixed together. But both Grace and Mimi are in for a surprise when they find out that Mimi’s family is not adopting a brand-new sister—and instead she is getting a brand-new brother. (Oh, brother!) And to heighten the excitement even further, Grace is in for another big surprise!

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Just Grace and the Terrible Tutu on our Fall 2010 list

Just Grace and the Snack Attack

"New characters, such as the hyperactive "Owen 1," keep the story fresh, but readers will most enjoy Grace's angst-ridden first-person narrative, delivered with her usual comic touch. Cartoon illustrations (and directions for creating a zine) enliven the text and help to showcase Grace's artistic talent." --Booklist

"[R]eaders will appreciate her straightforward, honest discussion of strong emotions they'll be sure to relate to." --Horn Book

Just Grace Goes Green

"Girls who are settling into chapter book series featuring Clementine and Judy Moody will love the fast pace and familiar school and family situations. . . . Harper’s sketches add interest and break up the text, leaving the new reader time to pause and smile. "-Horn Book

Just Grace Walks the Dog

"Grace’s cartoon illustrations and charts enliven the conversational, first-person text. . .Her ruminations about the ways that people—and animals—may not be what they seem will provide both entertainment and food for thought for a wide range of readers."—Kirkus Reviews

"Harper has created a quick enjoyable read in this third 'Grace' book."—Library Media Connection

Still Just Grace

"Harper's strength is her understanding of third-grade angst...she explores with a comic touch...Suggest this reassuring look at friendship and family to fans of Judy Moody and Clementine." —Booklist

"Dealing with the problems of friendship and change in a lively way...a good addition to the middle-grade shelves." —School Library Journal

Just Grace

Booksense Summer Selection 2007

"The kids come alive in the story, and Harper, the author of several previous books, including the graphic novel Fashion Kitty (2005), enhances the comical goings-on with sparkling cartoon sketches. Equally delightful is the wry voice of energetic Just Grace, who never misses an opportunity to point out the injustices life has dealt her. She’s a hero through and through. Give this to fans of Ann Nagda’s Meow Means Mischief (2003) or anyone looking for a funny book." —Booklist, starred review

"Grace is a funny, mischievous protagonist who should easily find a place in the pantheon of precocious third graders. Fans of Amber Brown, Clementine, and Judy Moody will love her." —School Library Journal

Children's Literature - Krisan Murphy
Just Grace, an accidental nickname to differentiate Grace from other classmates named Grace, is not the only person receiving a surprise in this delightful fast-paced story. Waiting is a terrible affliction middle grade students relate to and despise. When Just Grace and her best friend, Mimi, wait for the arrival of Mimi's adopted sister, they imagine the adopted sister of their dreams. But dreams do not always some true. Ironically, while Mimi deals with disappointed expectations, Grace receives an unexpected wish of a lifetime. This middle grade novel sets an excellent example of how to express empathy toward a hurting friend even while enjoying a fulfilled dream. The realistic characters of Just Grace and Mimi develop and mature through real-life struggles. Parents and teachers may find this title an excellent book for children coping with and resolving disappointments. The whimsical pen and ink drawings throughout the book and the unique chapter divisions make this book a quick read. Students will enjoy the world of Just Grace in the other six books in this series. Reviewer: Krisan Murphy
School Library Journal
Gr 2–4—In this installment, eight-year-old Grace is dealt a "double surprise": her friend Mimi's family adopts a boy instead of a girl as they had expected, and Grace's parents finally say yes to her longtime dream of getting a dog. Readers unfamiliar with adoption will appreciate Grace's humorous, informative primer ("Adopting a new sister is not like shopping in a grocery store"). Harper expertly conveys the emotional ups and downs of welcoming a new family member: Mimi's disappointment at not having a sister mirrors Grace's frustration that her female dog answers only to the name Mr. Scruffers. Harper's humorous black-and-white cartoons suggest Jeff Kinney's "Diary of a Wimpy Kid" (Abrams) and help break up the text into manageable chunks ideal for new chapter-book readers. These simple but charming drawings evoke a typical young girl's notebook or journal doodles, and the accompanying speech bubbles and captions express the spirited heroine's unique perspective. Though Harper has crafted an engaging story, the book's strength lies in its protagonist's strong, distinctive voice. Chapter titles such as "What Happened Next" that are often followed by one-liners like "Craziness!!!" should build readers' confidence. Fans of the series and new readers alike will enjoy Double Surprise. This latest episode is a lighthearted alternative to more serious, instructional books on adoption. A fun, appealing chapter book.—Mahnaz Dar, Convent of the Sacred Heart, New York City

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780547573861
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
08/01/2011
Series:
Just Grace Series , #7
Sold by:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
176
Sales rank:
560,160
Lexile:
720L (what's this?)
File size:
27 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range:
6 - 9 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >