Just Grace and the Terrible Tutu (Just Grace Series)

Just Grace and the Terrible Tutu (Just Grace Series)

3.9 20
by Charise Mericle Harper
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Grace is back to her zany antics again! Grace and Mimi have a secret: Mimi is going to be a big sister. To get ready, the girls try being "mother's helpers" to a family down the street, and Mimi begins to doubt her big sister abilities when 4-year-old Lily seems to like Grace best. But when Lily turns into a Terrible Tutu, Grace can't escape her! Can Grace use

Overview

Grace is back to her zany antics again! Grace and Mimi have a secret: Mimi is going to be a big sister. To get ready, the girls try being "mother's helpers" to a family down the street, and Mimi begins to doubt her big sister abilities when 4-year-old Lily seems to like Grace best. But when Lily turns into a Terrible Tutu, Grace can't escape her! Can Grace use her empathy powers to shows Lily and Mimi the creative path towards a new friendship?

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"This entertaining entrée into the world of chapter books will leave young readers laughing, pondering and eagerly anticipating Grace’s next adventure."—Bookpage

"Easy for readers to relate to, and her voice is consistently funny, frank, and believable."—The Horn Book

"Short chapters, frequent black-line illustrations, and Harper’s sure voice as the blossoming Grace mark this as one of the better series for emerging chapter-book readers."—Booklist

Just Grace and the Snack Attack

"[R]eaders will appreciate her straightforward, honest discussion of strong emotions they'll be sure to relate to." —Horn Book

Just Grace Goes Green

"Girls who are settling into chapter book series featuring Clementine and Judy Moody will love the fast pace and familiar school and family situations. . . . Harper’s sketches add interest and break up the text, leaving the new reader time to pause and smile."—Horn Book

Just Grace Walks the Dog

"Grace’s cartoon illustrations and charts enliven the conversational, first-person text. . . Her ruminations about the ways that people—and animals—may not be what they seem will provide both entertainment and food for thought for a wide range of readers."—Kirkus Reviews

"Harper has created a quick enjoyable read in this third 'Grace' book."—Library Media Connection

Still Just Grace

"Harper's strength is her understanding of third-grade angst...she explores with a comic touch...Suggest this reassuring look at friendship and family to fans of Judy Moody and Clementine." —Booklist

"Dealing with the problems of friendship and change in a lively way...a good addition to the middle-grade shelves." —School Library Journal

Just Grace

Booksense Summer Selection 2007

*"The kids come alive in the story, and Harper, the author of several previous books, including the graphic novel Fashion Kitty (2005), enhances the comical goings-on with sparkling cartoon sketches. Equally delightful is the wry voice of energetic Just Grace, who never misses an opportunity to point out the injustices life has dealt her. She’s a hero through and through. Give this to fans of Ann Nagda’s Meow Means Mischief (2003) or anyone looking for a funny book." —Booklist, starred review

"Grace is a funny, mischievous protagonist who should easily find a place in the pantheon of precocious third graders. Fans of Amber Brown, Clementine, and Judy Moody will love her." —School Library Journal

Children's Literature - Carrie Hane Hung
Eight-year-old Grace narrates her latest surprises and changes. One surprise is a shared secret. Mimi, who is Grace's best friend, reveals that Mimi's parents are preparing to adopt a girl. Grace is excited for her best friend. When Mrs. Luther, a neighbor, is away, a family from France is staying at her house. The surprise is that Grace and Mimi get a job with the French family as mother's helpers. They watch over Lily, a four-year-old. Unfortunately, Lily prefers to play with Grace and does not want to be with Mimi. Mimi feels that there is a possibility that her new little sister may feel the same way as Lily. Grace thinks of a plan to help Lily like Mimi plus restore her best friend's confidence that her new little sister will like her. This book is the sixth one in the "Just Grace" series. Capitalized headings transition the story along into the next section. Each section is short in length and fast-paced. Throughout the book, there are little sketches that explain some of Grace's ideas and thoughts. Those readers who enjoy the "Judy Moody" series of books may also like reading the "Just Grace" series. Reviewer: Carrie Hane Hung
School Library Journal
Gr 2–4—In this installment, Grace's best friend, Mimi, confides a secret: she's going to be a big sister. The eight-year-olds can barely contain their excitement over the sure-to-be super-cute sibling Mimi's family is adopting...until Lily, a visiting four-year-old, shows up. When Mimi and Grace act as "mother's helpers" for Lily, the tutu-wearing preschooler immediately takes to Grace and not to Mimi, leaving her scared that her new sister won't like her, either. True to form, Grace finds a thoughtful way to fix things. The adorable illustrations are enhanced by tongue-in-cheek captions that add warmth and humor, and the frequent headings keep the story moving at an engaging pace. Another winner in this enjoyable series.—Nicole Waskie-Laura, Chenango Forks Elementary, Binghamton, NY

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780547722276
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
05/08/2012
Series:
Just Grace Series, #6
Pages:
176
Sales rank:
124,782
Product dimensions:
5.16(w) x 7.46(h) x 0.44(d)
Lexile:
820L (what's this?)
Age Range:
6 - 9 Years

Related Subjects

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
"This entertaining entrée into the world of chapter books will leave young readers laughing, pondering and eagerly anticipating Grace’s next adventure."—Bookpage

"Easy for readers to relate to, and her voice is consistently funny, frank, and believable."—The Horn Book

"Short chapters, frequent black-line illustrations, and Harper’s sure voice as the blossoming Grace mark this as one of the better series for emerging chapter-book readers."—Booklist

Just Grace and the Snack Attack

"[R]eaders will appreciate her straightforward, honest discussion of strong emotions they'll be sure to relate to." —Horn Book

Just Grace Goes Green

"Girls who are settling into chapter book series featuring Clementine and Judy Moody will love the fast pace and familiar school and family situations. . . . Harper’s sketches add interest and break up the text, leaving the new reader time to pause and smile."—Horn Book

Just Grace Walks the Dog

"Grace’s cartoon illustrations and charts enliven the conversational, first-person text. . . Her ruminations about the ways that people—and animals—may not be what they seem will provide both entertainment and food for thought for a wide range of readers."—Kirkus Reviews

"Harper has created a quick enjoyable read in this third 'Grace' book."—Library Media Connection

Still Just Grace

"Harper's strength is her understanding of third-grade angst...she explores with a comic touch...Suggest this reassuring look at friendship and family to fans of Judy Moody and Clementine." —Booklist

"Dealing with the problems of friendship and change in a lively way...a good addition to the middle-grade shelves." —School Library Journal

Just Grace

Booksense Summer Selection 2007

*"The kids come alive in the story, and Harper, the author of several previous books, including the graphic novel Fashion Kitty (2005), enhances the comical goings-on with sparkling cartoon sketches. Equally delightful is the wry voice of energetic Just Grace, who never misses an opportunity to point out the injustices life has dealt her. She’s a hero through and through. Give this to fans of Ann Nagda’s Meow Means Mischief (2003) or anyone looking for a funny book." —Booklist, starred review

"Grace is a funny, mischievous protagonist who should easily find a place in the pantheon of precocious third graders. Fans of Amber Brown, Clementine, and Judy Moody will love her." —School Library Journal

Meet the Author

Charise Mericle Harper is the author and illustrator of many books for children, including the Just Grace series. In a starred review, Booklist called Just Grace “Hilarious,” and said, “The kids come alive in the story, and Harper enhances the comical goings-on with sparkling cartoon sketches. Give this to . . . anyone looking for a funny book.” Charise lives in Westchester County, New York.

Visit her website at www.chariseharper.com and visit Just Grace's website at www.justgracebooks.com, where you'll find all sorts of fun things, including videos, quizzes, and information about all the Just Grace books.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Just Grace and the Terrible Tutu (Just Grace Series) 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I LOVE IT!!!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book ie horriblu written. The author has no effort to make it worth reading. Also ,ballet is stupid. I am a level 8 gymnast and gymnastics is way awesomer and harder. The author in this book, just isnt descent one bit. Sorry if i seem harsh, but it really upsets me when a book isnt well written
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I read one other Just Grace book and really liked it so I think this one will be good.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
My sweet daughter loved
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I THINK THE OTHER ONES R BETTER THAT IS JUSTT MY OPINION:)
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I dont tthink i have ever read any thing as good as this book! So i think u should all buy it and read it! This book is a must have!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Emily Davidoff read this book you will love it. It has your name written all over it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ihhyfrfhgdsqaswzedxrfctgh
Jade Wong More than 1 year ago
i love it and loved the drawings