Just Grace Walks the Dog (Just Grace Series)

Just Grace Walks the Dog (Just Grace Series)

4.6 25
by Charise Mericle Harper
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Everyone’s favorite Grace is back. And this time she has a dog.
Unfortunately, he’s only made of cardboard and rides a skate board. Grace is determined though to prove to her parents that she is responsible and dependable enough to get a real dog.
Things you learn in this book:
1. Sometimes it is okay to be sneaky if you don’t get

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview

Everyone’s favorite Grace is back. And this time she has a dog.
Unfortunately, he’s only made of cardboard and rides a skate board. Grace is determined though to prove to her parents that she is responsible and dependable enough to get a real dog.
Things you learn in this book:
1. Sometimes it is okay to be sneaky if you don’t get caught.
2. How to do flashlight Morse code.
3. What happened at school that was exciting: nothing.
4. How it feels to walk into your class after going to the principal’s office!
5. Many other things, but most important, how to convince your parents to MAYBE let you get a dog. A real one, not one made of cardboard.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"[R]uminations about the ways that people—and animals—may not be what they seem…provide…entertainment and food for thought." Kirkus 3/15/08

Kirkus Reviews

"Perfect for beginning chapter book readers…Youngsters will identify with the protagonist…Everything rings true in the book.” SLJ March 2008 School Library Journal

"Harper has created a quick enjoyable read in this third 'Grace' book. "- LMC 05/01/08 Library Media Connection

"...expertly written in realistic and easy-to-read first-person narrative...Harper perfectly captures the voice and language of a spunky 8-year-old." Pittsburg Post Gazette

Children's Literature - Sara Rofofsky Marcus
The diary of Grace, known in school as Just Grace to differentiate her from the other three Graces in her class, tells of her trials and triumphs as she embarks on a campaign with her best friend, Mimi, to convince Grace's parents to get her a dog. Told in the voice of an eight-year-old, with brief segments aptly labeled, this work uses simple words and short sentences to enable a beginning chapter book reader to enjoy the work. Including simple illustrations, seemingly done in pencil by Just Grace, Harper draws the reader into the mind of a second grader experiencing life. Friendship, school troubles, secrets, Morse code by flashlight, and more are explored through Just Grace's eyes. The third in the "Just Grace" series, this book is a wonderful suggestion for fans of Judy Moody or Amber Brown, and helps demonstrate the importance of displaying responsibility to one's parents. Illustrating the ups and downs of having a dog, this is also a wonderful book for any parent with a child who wants a pet to read together to help the child examine the pros and cons. Reviewer: Sara Rofofsky Marcus
School Library Journal

Gr 2-4- Just Grace, so named by a hassled teacher who had four Graces in her classroom, is a precocious third grader with a gift: she feels empathy for those around her. In this third book about the endearing character, she describes her quest to convince her parents that she's responsible enough to get a dog. Along the way she solves a mystery, helps a neighbor save his sick dog, and makes friends with the left-out Grace L. Perfect for beginning chapter book readers, the text is broken up by headings, cartoons (drawn by Grace), lists, charts, and journal entries. It flows smoothly and easily. Youngsters will identify with the protagonist as she struggles to communicate via flashlight Morse Code with her best friend and creates a cardboard dog (on a skateboard) to prove she can take care of a real one. Everything rings true in the book-Just Grace's voice is real and childlike; she feels frustration with her parents and best friend, fears going to the principal's office, and is saddened by others in pain. Although this book can stand alone, readers will want to know all about Grace and will go back to the other titles in the series, while looking forward to more.-Anne Knickerbocker, formerly at Cedar Brook Elementary School, Houston, TX

Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.
Kirkus Reviews
Just Grace returns with a new concern: She wants a dog, but her parents say no. To prove she is dependable and responsible enough to care for a real dog, Grace and her best friend Mimi make one of cardboard she can pretend to feed and walk while they investigate what kind of dog would make the best pet. Readers unfamiliar with the first two books are quickly brought up to date with clear explanations of Grace's school name and the important people in her world, although Grace's age and grade are not specified in this volume (previous titles identified her as a third grader). The beloved student teacher Mr. Frank has left but Miss Lois (the unfortunate name-giver) offers an interesting new project, journal keeping, and realistic journal entries provide continuity to the story. Grace's cartoon illustrations and charts enliven the conversational, first-person text. Her ruminations about the ways that people-and animals-may not be what they seem will provide both entertainment and food for thought for a wide range of readers. (Fiction. 7-10)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780547237534
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
05/18/2009
Series:
Just Grace Series, #3
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
176
Sales rank:
132,811
Product dimensions:
5.10(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.60(d)
Lexile:
NC1040L (what's this?)
Age Range:
6 - 9 Years

Read an Excerpt

There are two kinds of unfortunate things: those that are unfortunate because they have not happened, and those that are unfortunate because they already really did happen. I am pretty unlucky, because right now in my life I have both kinds of unfortunate things happening at the exact same time! My unfortunate thing that did not happen is that I am not allowed to have a dog, and my unfortunate thing that did happen is that at school everyone calls me Just Grace.

Some people say that when bad stuff happens in your life it gives you lots of character, which means that you end up being a super-interesting person when you grow up. I must be filling up with character pretty fast, because unfortunate stuff is always especially happening to me. Maybe that means I’ll be on TV or something when I get big.
When something unfortunate happens it is probably better if the unfortunate thing is a mistake instead of an on-purpose unfortunate thing. So I am at least lucky about that, because my biggest unfortunate thing was definitely 100 percent an accident.

My real name is Grace, but at school my name is Just Grace, which is an unusual, stupid, and completely dumb name. How something can change from nothing special to completely dumb is a long, unfortunate story, and one that I am very tired of explaining. But if I don’t explain it, then people think that it’s an on-purpose thing and that my parents were crazy to name me that, and that I have been living with the awful Just Grace name since the day I was born, and maybe even worse, that I actually like it. And then they will look at me like I am 100 percent Just Grace. So I have to tell them the story so they can know that only my outside is Just Grace and that on my insides I’m a solid Grace all the way through. It’s like being a girl M&M. I look like Just Grace/candy on the outside, but on the inside I’m all Grace/chocolate! It might not seem like it, but it makes a big difference!

There are four girls named Grace in my class. Miss Lois, my teacher, said that we all had to change our names or she would never be able to get the right Grace’s attention when she said “Grace.” Even when she was explaining this I could kind of tell she was right because all four of us looked up when she said Grace, and Peter Marchelli, who sits right next to me, didn’t even stop doodling on his desk. Miss Lois named Grace Wallace “Grace W.,” and Grace Francis “Grace F.,” and Grace Landowski “Gracie,” and then right before she got to me I said, “Well, if everyone else is having a new name, can I be called just Grace?” Since no one else was using the Grace name, it seemed like maybe I could have it. But Miss Lois didn’t understand me, and even when I tried to tell her about her mistake she still didn’t listen, or even care about it anymore. She closed her ears and wrote Just Grace in her rule book of class names and attendance. And then suddenly it was school law forever, that my new dumb name was Just Grace, because once it is written in the book it can never be changed. The first person to make fun of me was Grace F., and that was no surprise because back then she was still the Big Meanie and I thought she hated me. But that was before she changed back into Grace F., who is really very funny and an excellent artist, which are two things you would not imagine could be true until you got to know her.

Grace F., Grace W., and I all had to do a project together, and that is how we all became friends. Grace L. was in another group so she got to be friends with Walker Marcie and Bethany, but I still think it made her sad that she was not friends with us, because our names were all Grace and she was a Grace too, but not one who was in our group. I can figure out stuff like that because of my teeny tiny superpower. My superpower helps me know when people are unhappy, even if they are pretending to be happy, and even if they are very good actors. It’s called empathy power. The hard thing about superpowers is that they don’t come with an instruction book so it’s not always easy to know exactly when and how to use them. I think other superpowers, like superstrength or x-ray eyes, would be a lot easier to work. I felt sorry for Grace L. when we other Graces were joking around and having so much fun calling each other Grace, Grace, and Grace. But I couldn’t figure out what to do to help her, so I pretended I didn’t notice she was sad. This is a very hard thing for a person with my superpower to do, and it can sometimes end up giving me a stomachache.

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >