Kaija Saariaho: Works for Orchestra

( 1 )
BN.com price
(Save 5%)$29.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (4) from $20.27   
  • New (4) from $20.27   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 2/28/2012
  • Label: Ondine
  • UPC: 761195111321
  • Catalog Number: 1113
  • Sales rank: 16,514


Disc 1
  1. 1 Lichtbogen, for 2 violins, viola, cello, bass, percussion, piano, flute, harp & electronics - Kaija Saariaho & Avanti! Chamber Orchestra (16:44)
  2. 2 Grammaire des rêves, for soprano, contralto, 2 flutes, harp, viola & cello - Kaija Saariaho & Anja Fantapie (14:41)
  3. 3–4 Du cristal, for orchestra - Kaija Saariaho & Esa-Pekka Salonen (37:58)
Disc 2
  1. 1 Caliban's Dream, for baritone, clarinet, mandolin, guitar, harp & double bass - Kaija Saariaho & William Shakespeare (3:42)
  2. 2 Solar, for electro-acoustic ensemble - Kaija Saariaho & Avanti! Chamber Orchestra (17:10)
  3. 3–4 Graal théâtre, for violin & reduced orchestra - Kaija Saariaho & Avanti! Chamber Orchestra (29:52)
  4. 4 Miranda’s Lament, for soprano, clarinet, harp, violin & double bass - Kaija Saariaho & William Shakespeare (4:42)
Disc 3
  1. 1–7 Oltra mar, for chorus & orchestra - Kaija Saariaho & Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra (21:59)
  2. 8–13 Nymphea Reflection, for string orchestra - Kaija Saariaho & Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra (21:46)
  3. 14–18 Cinq reflets de l'Amour de loin, for soprano, baritone & orchestra - Kaija Saariaho & Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra (29:26)
Disc 4
  1. 1–3 Orion, for orchestra - Kaija Saariaho & Christoph Eschenbach (22:01)
  2. 4–8 Notes on Light, for cello & orchestra - Kaija Saariaho & Christoph Eschenbach (27:32)
  3. 5 Mirage, for soprano, cello & orchestra - Kaija Saariaho & Christoph Eschenbach (13:31)
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted April 11, 2012

    Ethereal orchestral works by Saariaho

    The nice thing about listening to a bunch of works by the same composer in quick succession is that I get a glimpse of the broader picture.

    This new four-disc set of Kaija Saariaho presents the Finnish composer's orchestral works spanning the past 25 years. The pieces are arranged in chronological order, and Ondine's assigned a theme to each disc, which helps the listener make sense of Saariaho's development.

    Saariaho's earliest orchestral works show her slowly breaking away from the rigidity of atonal composition and into a more emotional world of sound clouds and atmospheric orchestration.

    Some composers treat the human voice as something unique -- others as just another instrument. Saariaho seems to use it as a way to more fully articulate the emotional content of her music. The expressiveness of the vocal lines leave no doubt as to the emotions driving the music.

    The latest works in the set, all written after 2001, show a composer in full command of her talent. These compositions have more of tonal feel to them, but only up to a point. Saariaho is still primarily concerned with communicating emotion, and if the most effective way to do it is with a more traditional sound (at least temporarily), then so be it.

    As I listened to this compilation, the words I kept jotting down were "mysterious," "atmospheric," and "ethereal." Those terms, I think, apply to the entire collection. This set is a great way to become acquainted with a major voice of contemporary music.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews