Keena Ford and the Secret Journal Mix-Up by Melissa Thomson, Frank Morrison |, Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Keena Ford and the Secret Journal Mix-Up

Keena Ford and the Secret Journal Mix-Up

5.0 3
by Melissa Thomson, Frank Morrison
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The third book about the spunky second-grader, perfect for fans of Ramona Quimby, Junie B. Jones, and Frankly, Frannie!

Keena Ford loves writing in her journal. She keeps all of her thoughts in there, even if they are sometimes not-so-nice. One day, Keena accidentally leaves her journal in Tiffany Harris's apartment, and Tiffany tells Keena that she's going

Overview

The third book about the spunky second-grader, perfect for fans of Ramona Quimby, Junie B. Jones, and Frankly, Frannie!

Keena Ford loves writing in her journal. She keeps all of her thoughts in there, even if they are sometimes not-so-nice. One day, Keena accidentally leaves her journal in Tiffany Harris's apartment, and Tiffany tells Keena that she's going to tell all of Keena's secrets! With help from her brother, some classic fables, and a visiting author, Keena discovers what she must do to stand up to Tiffany and make things right with her friends.

"Young readers will relate to her friendship dilemma and appreciate her vibrant personality. Readers of Sharon Draper's Sassy series will enjoy meeting Keena." - School Library Journal

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Claudia Mills
Second grader Keena (Keena Ford and the Second Grade Mix-Up, Keena Ford and the Field Trip Mix-Up) finds herself in the middle of yet another tragicomic misadventure when she accidentally leaves her cherished journal at the apartment of Tiffany Harris, "the meanest muffinhead in the whole second grade." Smugly claiming that she read "the whole thing," Tiffany has big plans to blackmail Keena and expose her less-than-complimentary comments about their classmates, unless Keena does everything Tiffany tells her to do, from playing princess all the time to praising Tiffany in the special "friendship speech" Keena is preparing to read on visiting author day. Thomson has a wonderfully wicked and witty eye for observing human foibles, particularly those of Tiffany and her equally irritating mom. Best moment of the book: when Tiffany is explaining to Keena that the parent-dictated sentences she is copying onto her homework paper don't count as plagiarism because "it's not copying when a mom writes it. My mother told me so!" Coretta Scott King Award-winning illustrator Morrison provides the perfect accompanying drawings to convey both Keena's angst and her spunky energy. A great addition to an adorable chapter book series. Reviewer: Claudia Mills, Ph.D.
School Library Journal
Gr 1–3—Second-grader Keena Ford keeps a journal full of her thoughts about her friends and her family. When it falls into the hands of the resident mean girl, she risks having her secrets spill out unless she does whatever Tiffany commands. To make things more awkward, Keena must write a speech about friendship when an author comes to her school. She really wants to write about her best friend, Linny, instead of Tiffany. She has to choose between being stuck with her nemesis and coming clean about what she's been writing in her journal. Her single mother has even more on her mind as Keena's brother gets into trouble at school. The story is written in journal style, with Keena describing daily events. Young readers will relate to her friendship dilemma and appreciate her vibrant personality. Morrison's occasional full-page drawings capture the interactions of the children and are great at depicting their facial expressions. Readers of Sharon Draper's "Sassy" series (Scholastic) will enjoy meeting Keena.—Kris Hickey, Columbus Metropolitan Library, OH
Kirkus Reviews
Keena and her friends are back—still in second grade, and Keena is still keeping a journal. Something is different with it, though. Her special clouds-and-rainbows journal has been taken by the very mean Tiffany, who is using its contents to blackmail Keena into being her friend. Keena does not see a way out of her predicament until her brother helps her find a solution. The journal format seems particularly strained in this third installment of the series, and Keena's observations are uneven—calling Tiffany a "muffinhead" at one turn, then telling a long fable, complete with a moral, and then, a few moments later, not knowing how many TV shows take place in 30 minutes. All the action takes place and is recorded in a four-day period—quite an accomplishment for a second grader. While readers will be glad that Keena discovers that friends can actually be related to you, the surprisingly adult voice of second grader Keena and quick resolution of a real problem will strain credulity. (Chapter book. 6-9)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780142419373
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
09/15/2011
Series:
Keena Ford Series
Pages:
128
Sales rank:
102,915
Product dimensions:
5.00(w) x 7.60(h) x 0.50(d)
Lexile:
780L (what's this?)
Age Range:
6 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Melissa Thomson is an elementary school teacher in New York City where she lives with her husband, Pete, and their three plants. Melissa began her teaching career at Emery Elementary School in Washington, DC. Her students at Emery inspired her to write about Keena Ford.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Keena Ford and the Secret Journal Mix-Up 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great "moral-of-the-story" tale, which is the third in the series of Keena Ford tales. We love Keena because she reminds us that despite our imperfect lives, there's still fun to be had, mysteries to explore and new friends to be made. Lessons that transcend color, creed and social status. Keena is every American kid, just trying to grow up. Your daughters will love her.
EGHunter01 More than 1 year ago
Another fabulous mix-up "starring" our comical protagonist is in store for you in this novel. What happens when Keena forgets her private journal at someone's home by mistake? And what occurs after Keena realizes she forgot her journal? Find out as you read Keena's tale of the journal mix-up. *Great entertainment. *Good storyline.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago