BN.com Gift Guide

Keena Ford and the Secret Journal Mix-Up

( 3 )

Overview

The third book about the spunky second-grader, perfect for fans of Ramona Quimby, Junie B. Jones, and Frankly, Frannie!

Keena Ford loves writing in her journal. She keeps all of her thoughts in there, even if they are sometimes not-so-nice. One day, Keena accidentally leaves her journal in Tiffany Harris's apartment, and Tiffany tells Keena that she's going to tell all of Keena's secrets! With help from her brother, some classic fables, and a visiting author, Keena discovers ...

See more details below
Paperback
$5.59
BN.com price
(Save 6%)$5.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (14) from $3.13   
  • New (12) from $3.13   
  • Used (2) from $5.53   
Keena Ford and the Secret Journal Mix-Up

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$5.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

The third book about the spunky second-grader, perfect for fans of Ramona Quimby, Junie B. Jones, and Frankly, Frannie!

Keena Ford loves writing in her journal. She keeps all of her thoughts in there, even if they are sometimes not-so-nice. One day, Keena accidentally leaves her journal in Tiffany Harris's apartment, and Tiffany tells Keena that she's going to tell all of Keena's secrets! With help from her brother, some classic fables, and a visiting author, Keena discovers what she must do to stand up to Tiffany and make things right with her friends.

"Young readers will relate to her friendship dilemma and appreciate her vibrant personality. Readers of Sharon Draper's Sassy series will enjoy meeting Keena." - School Library Journal

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Claudia Mills
Second grader Keena (Keena Ford and the Second Grade Mix-Up, Keena Ford and the Field Trip Mix-Up) finds herself in the middle of yet another tragicomic misadventure when she accidentally leaves her cherished journal at the apartment of Tiffany Harris, "the meanest muffinhead in the whole second grade." Smugly claiming that she read "the whole thing," Tiffany has big plans to blackmail Keena and expose her less-than-complimentary comments about their classmates, unless Keena does everything Tiffany tells her to do, from playing princess all the time to praising Tiffany in the special "friendship speech" Keena is preparing to read on visiting author day. Thomson has a wonderfully wicked and witty eye for observing human foibles, particularly those of Tiffany and her equally irritating mom. Best moment of the book: when Tiffany is explaining to Keena that the parent-dictated sentences she is copying onto her homework paper don't count as plagiarism because "it's not copying when a mom writes it. My mother told me so!" Coretta Scott King Award-winning illustrator Morrison provides the perfect accompanying drawings to convey both Keena's angst and her spunky energy. A great addition to an adorable chapter book series. Reviewer: Claudia Mills, Ph.D.
School Library Journal
Gr 1–3—Second-grader Keena Ford keeps a journal full of her thoughts about her friends and her family. When it falls into the hands of the resident mean girl, she risks having her secrets spill out unless she does whatever Tiffany commands. To make things more awkward, Keena must write a speech about friendship when an author comes to her school. She really wants to write about her best friend, Linny, instead of Tiffany. She has to choose between being stuck with her nemesis and coming clean about what she's been writing in her journal. Her single mother has even more on her mind as Keena's brother gets into trouble at school. The story is written in journal style, with Keena describing daily events. Young readers will relate to her friendship dilemma and appreciate her vibrant personality. Morrison's occasional full-page drawings capture the interactions of the children and are great at depicting their facial expressions. Readers of Sharon Draper's "Sassy" series (Scholastic) will enjoy meeting Keena.—Kris Hickey, Columbus Metropolitan Library, OH
Kirkus Reviews
Keena and her friends are back—still in second grade, and Keena is still keeping a journal. Something is different with it, though. Her special clouds-and-rainbows journal has been taken by the very mean Tiffany, who is using its contents to blackmail Keena into being her friend. Keena does not see a way out of her predicament until her brother helps her find a solution. The journal format seems particularly strained in this third installment of the series, and Keena's observations are uneven—calling Tiffany a "muffinhead" at one turn, then telling a long fable, complete with a moral, and then, a few moments later, not knowing how many TV shows take place in 30 minutes. All the action takes place and is recorded in a four-day period—quite an accomplishment for a second grader. While readers will be glad that Keena discovers that friends can actually be related to you, the surprisingly adult voice of second grader Keena and quick resolution of a real problem will strain credulity. (Chapter book. 6-9)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780142419373
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
  • Publication date: 9/15/2011
  • Pages: 112
  • Sales rank: 122,952
  • Age range: 6 - 12 Years
  • Product dimensions: 5.00 (w) x 7.60 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Meet the Author

Melissa Thomson is an elementary school teacher in New York City where she lives with her husband, Pete, and their three plants. Melissa began her teaching career at Emery Elementary School in Washington, DC. Her students at Emery inspired her to write about Keena Ford.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Go Keena

    Great "moral-of-the-story" tale, which is the third in the series of Keena Ford tales. We love Keena because she reminds us that despite our imperfect lives, there's still fun to be had, mysteries to explore and new friends to be made. Lessons that transcend color, creed and social status. Keena is every American kid, just trying to grow up. Your daughters will love her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Private Thoughts.

    Another fabulous mix-up "starring" our comical protagonist is in store for you in this novel. What happens when Keena forgets her private journal at someone's home by mistake? And what occurs after Keena realizes she forgot her journal? Find out as you read Keena's tale of the journal mix-up. *Great entertainment. *Good storyline.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)