Keep No Secrets

Keep No Secrets

4.0 16
by Julie Compton
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

After the ultimate betrayal, which is more important: trust or forgiveness?

In KEEP NO SECRETS, the controversial follow-up to Compton's debut legal thriller TELL NO LIES, a district attorney struggles to redeem himself after a one-night stand damaged his marriage and professional reputation.

After surviving the private and public fallout from a one-night

Overview

After the ultimate betrayal, which is more important: trust or forgiveness?

In KEEP NO SECRETS, the controversial follow-up to Compton's debut legal thriller TELL NO LIES, a district attorney struggles to redeem himself after a one-night stand damaged his marriage and professional reputation.

After surviving the private and public fallout from a one-night stand four years before, St. Louis DA Jack Hilliard wants nothing more than to be trusted again by his wife, Claire, and to earn back the respect of the community he serves. Since the day Claire accepted him back into the family, he's vowed to be true to these goals, and so far he's succeeded.

But all of Jack's efforts begin to crumble when the woman involved in his earlier downfall, Jenny Dodson, returns to town claiming threats on her life and asking for his help, and resurrecting for Jack long-buried emotions and questions of her guilt for the murder of a client. Just when he thinks the pressure can't get any worse, his son's girlfriend, Celeste, accuses him of sexual assault, and he suddenly finds himself on the wrong end of a criminal case, battling for his freedom.

Can Jack trust his freedom to the legal system on which he built his career? Or will the ghost of his one-night stand four years before come back to haunt him, causing him to be convicted on the mistakes of his past?

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780988793224
Publisher:
Fresh Fork Publishing
Publication date:
03/12/2013
Pages:
344
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.77(d)

Meet the Author

Julie Compton is the author of TELL NO LIES, a legal thriller set in her original hometown of St. Louis; RESCUING OLIVIA, a romantic, contemporary thriller; and KEEP NO SECRETS, the sequel to TELL NO LIES. Her novels combine the suspense of thrillers with the drama of human relationships.

A lawyer by profession, Julie attended Washington University for both undergraduate and law school. She began her legal career in St. Louis, but last practiced in Wilmington, Delaware as a trial attorney for the U.S. Department of Justice. When her family moved to Florida in 2003, she gave up law to pursue writing full-time. She lives near Orlando with her husband and two daughters. Visit julie-compton.com to read the first chapters of her novels and for more info.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

KEEP NO SECRETS 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
Lauri_J_Owen More than 1 year ago
What I liked: The author is skilled, and has woven a complex story. I believed it, and reading this story stirred a lot of emotions. What I didn’t like: These characters are horrible, horrible people, most especially including the protagonist. Before I was halfway through the book, I hated him, and I ended up hating him even more before the story ended. I hated him and his horrible girlfriend. Neither have any redeeming qualities, and in fact, their selfishness and irresponsibility and sociopathology destroyed their families’ lives. This story made me angry; I have met and heard about more than enough bad men, and bad women. I sure don’t want to read about them. In sum: If you secretly root for the bad guys, this one’s for you.
arlenadean More than 1 year ago
By: Julie Compton Published By: Fresh Fork Publishing Age Recommended: Adult Reviewed By: Arlena Dean Rating: 4 Book Blog For: GMTA Review: "Keep No Secrets" by Julie Compton was a fast paced psychological mystery, suspenseful and legal thriller read that will keep you turning the pages till the end. This story asks the big question of 'whether or not it's possible to forgive a spouse after an infidelity?' More question that will be asked and need to be answered: "Can Claire truly forgive Jack for his indiscretion? Can she remain trusting once Jenny returns? What happens when Celeste, Michael’s girlfriend who uncannily looks like Jenny, accuses Jack of rape? These are just a few of the plot points that are explored in this gripping saga." There will be many twist and turns in the good read that you will only get the answers by picking up this wonderful well written novel. I will say what is missing most from all from this novel is the word 'trust.' All of the characters were very well developed and colorful only bringing you a good read. Yes, you will find this read based on 'betrayal, secrets and lies and in the end leaving you to say Wow what a read! Would I recommend? Yes! if you like drama you have come to the right place.
Lisa_Kara_Fuller More than 1 year ago
An excellent read, Keep No Secrets is a page turner that will capture readers from the beginning, whether or not one has read Tell No Lies!  Keep No Secrets has strong characters developed throughout the novel.  A reader might be surprised at how easily one might sympathize with each, especially with the choices each character must make.  St. Louis DA Jack Hilliard, his family, his peers, his desire, and his accuser...all are intertwined with trust and with mistrust, with the legal system and with workarounds, with tolerance and with love. Hilliard's career and his family's fragile healing are at risk with an accusation made against him.  All this, while he tries to rebuild the respect he lost when he made a choice four years ago.  There are many perspectives that keep the reader engaged.  As truth comes to light, there are details left undiscovered.  Just when resolution seems to be at hand, Compton's plot unfolds, resolves, and unfolds again.  Keep No Secrets is a fast paced character study that happens to have a couple mysteries in the mix.  Compton just keeps getting better and better!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I very rarely write book reviews but I enjoyed this book so much I need to give it a great review. I just finished reading the sequel to "Tell No Lies" by author Julie Compton. Her latest book "Keep No Secrets" was just as good as her first. This is a story of love and trust and betrayal. A story of human emotions and trials and tribulations, and the author has done a fantastic job creating this book. The author has the ability to make you stop and question the characters and what they are doing and keeps you guessing what will they do next. This to me is an excellent written book and I love the human conflict that is spun throughout the book. I also enjoy the legal theme of the book and the authors knowledge of the law. In her writings she brings the courtroom drama to life. At times, I felt as if I was sitting in the courtroom during the testimony. I like a book that holds my interest and keeps me wondering what will happen next and this book definitely did that. I was truly surprised at the ending I never saw it coming! So if you are looking for a very good legal thriller this is the book to buy. I cant recommend it highly enough!
BrandyFineGirl More than 1 year ago
Hard to put down but so intense I had no choice at times. Being from St Louis made it even more enjoyable.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved both books a lot. This one had such a sweet and unexpected ending. Highly recommend.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was not a very well written book.  The main character, Jack, is a District Attorney and the author makes him appear as though he has  absolutely no common sense.  At one point in the book he is accused of raping a 16 year old girl, but the girl refused to take a rape analysis  test, yet Jack ends up going to trial for this??  I am certainly not a lawyer, but even I know that without the rape test, no one would ever go on trial for a rape that couldn't be proven.  Too many parts of this book just didn't even make sense. There are 921 pages to this Nook book and half of it could have been deleted and the reader would not miss a thing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The story line was a familiar one but the author did a good job with it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was so interesting. I read it (900+) pages in 2 days. Suspense and drama.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Drawn out story and horrible ending
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
love the both books, can we the ending to jack and jenny story
DiiMI More than 1 year ago
St. Louis DA Jack Hilliard messed up BIG TIME when an ‘indiscretion’ with another woman cost him the trust of his wife, his family and the public he serves. He has fought hard to regain what he had, and suddenly, four years later, ‘the other woman’ comes back into his life, begging for his help. To make things worse, his sixteen year old son’s girlfriend is accusing him of sexually assaulting her. Is history going to repeat itself? Will he lose everything, again? Who will believe he is innocent? When Jack finds himself charged with sexual assault, he is in a battle for more than his freedom. Powerful and tense pretty much describes Keep No Secrets by Julie Compton. Her clean writing style has created a realistic and frightening scenario that will keep you glued to each word as once again, Jack is under the public eye and looking bad. A Review copy was provided by NetGalley and Fresh Fork Publishing in exchange for my honest review. Publication Date: March 15, 2013
dhaupt More than 1 year ago
Four years ago newly elected St. Louis D.A., Jack Hilliard became involved too personally in a case that almost cost him his job, his freedom, his marriage and his family. Somehow with sheer determination, a successful trial and a wife who’s heart was big enough to forgive the job, marriage and family survived. Just when he thought his past was safely behind him an illicit accusation against him has once again threatened all he holds dear. To add to the drama the catalyst of his past problems, the “other woman”, Jenny Dodson is back asking for his help and he’s wondering about the timing of her arrival. Suddenly facts that once seemed certain are becoming questionable, and what seemed to be a solid foundation is crumbling beneath his feet. As Jack once again has to fight for his freedom and at times his sanity, as layers of deceit and lies fall away he has to wonder what’s real and what’s just smoke and mirrors. Julie Compton’s amazing storytelling ability is very evident, and her legal expertise is a real standout in every heart-stopping and legally accurate court scene in this her latest legal thriller. Her characters all shine in their individual roles but it’s her protagonist Jack, his son Michael and Jenny that really steal this show. The narrative is emotional, graphically visual and the action is non-stop and gripping. The dialogue is gritty yet elegant and it’s what I like to call legalese for the layman. The novel stands well on it’s own but this is a true sequel and you’d be missing half the story if you didn’t read Tell No Lies. I’ve been to many places with Julie through her novels and I can’t wait to see where she takes me on our next journey together. Fans of Michael Connelly, John Grisham and Linda Fairstein will love the works of Julie Compton.