Key to Conflict [NOOK Book]

Overview

Meet Gillian Key-a paramortal psychologist who can treat the mental distress of nonhumans. And she's a Marine Special Forces operative who can get physical with them when the situation calls for it.

Gillian's two worlds collide when she travels to the Carpathian Mountains in Romania to counsel a dangerously attractive local master vampire-and becomes embroiled in a brewing turf war with the legendary ...
See more details below
Key to Conflict

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview

Meet Gillian Key-a paramortal psychologist who can treat the mental distress of nonhumans. And she's a Marine Special Forces operative who can get physical with them when the situation calls for it.

Gillian's two worlds collide when she travels to the Carpathian Mountains in Romania to counsel a dangerously attractive local master vampire-and becomes embroiled in a brewing turf war with the legendary Dracula.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781101208564
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 5/29/2007
  • Series: Gillian Key , #1
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 336
  • Sales rank: 643,194
  • File size: 700 KB

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 13 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Not as good as I hoped...

    The previous reviewer did her usual great synopsis of the book, so I will not get into detail. However, my personal opinion of the book is much different. There was alot of over explaining done in the story, it was a bit jumpy at times, Gillian most of the time did not come across as a stereotypical confident marine: couple that with her untherapeutic attitude as parapyschologist,ugh.I think that is what got to me the most. Gillian was not that empathetic, despite being an empath. And the rule of dating your patient after a year was changed a long time ago. Plus, come on, having sex with two brothers and virtual being sexually assualted by a ghost( but thats ok?) is pushing even my limits.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Superb urban fantasy

    Marine Corps Special Ops Captain Gillian Key is also a Paramortal psychologist who uses her black ops training and experience when called upon by her superiors. Currently, she is in Romania at the request of the Master Vampire Count Aleksei Rachlav, who needs her help with depression and fangxiety. She is also working with a six century old ghost who haunts a bed and breakfast scaring away customers. Finally Gillian is on a solo military mission. --- It seems that Dracula has returned and is making his presence felt as he believes unlike the vampire lines of Osiris and Dionysius that humans are meals or slaves. The Count has gathered a powerful army of vampires and other paranormal species wanting the current order overturned. He intends to use his minions to initially destroy his enemies amidst his peers like Aleksei before conquering humanity. Gillian, caught in the middle of the upcoming war finds herself caring for Aleksei who is falling in love with the ops shrink. Both intend to be warriors in the fight to kill Dracula and keep the Paramortal-human treaty alive. --- Urban fantasy readers will welcome Talia Gryphon whose thriller will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris and Kelly Armstrong. The heroine at first glance seems like a weak human to her kind and to ancient immortals, but she is a petite dynamo who proves she is mentally and physically strong leading to the audience admiring her pluck, skills, and courage. She fears love and keeps her relationships on a distant plateau although Aleksei may prove to be her match as he keeps creeping closer to her heart. Four centuries of life has taught the hero that the KEY TO CONFLICT or for that matter living is adapting old world customs to female equality. --- Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    1234NEWLUBBOCK

    I loved the books. I can't wait for another one. I readed all the books in 2 weeks, could not put them down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I really like this book

    I've read just about everything there is in the Dark Urban Fantasy genre and have been dissappointed with a lot of my recent reads so I was really happy when I get into this one and found fun characters with lots of personality and an interesting twist on an adventure that included a wide range of supernatural critters. I read all 3 of the books in under a week.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 14 of 13 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)