Key to Conflict

Key to Conflict

3.4 12
by Talia Gryphon
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Meet Gillian Key-a paramortal psychologist who can treat the mental distress of nonhumans. And she's a Marine Special Forces operative who can get physical with them when the situation calls for it.

Gillian's two worlds collide when she travels to the Carpathian Mountains in Romania to counsel a dangerously attractive local master vampire-and becomes embroiled in a

Overview

Meet Gillian Key-a paramortal psychologist who can treat the mental distress of nonhumans. And she's a Marine Special Forces operative who can get physical with them when the situation calls for it.

Gillian's two worlds collide when she travels to the Carpathian Mountains in Romania to counsel a dangerously attractive local master vampire-and becomes embroiled in a brewing turf war with the legendary Dracula.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780441015030
Publisher:
Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Publication date:
05/29/2007
Series:
Gillian Key Series
Pages:
336
Product dimensions:
4.24(w) x 6.98(h) x 0.93(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Key to Conflict 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The previous reviewer did her usual great synopsis of the book, so I will not get into detail. However, my personal opinion of the book is much different. There was alot of over explaining done in the story, it was a bit jumpy at times, Gillian most of the time did not come across as a stereotypical confident marine: couple that with her untherapeutic attitude as parapyschologist,ugh.I think that is what got to me the most. Gillian was not that empathetic, despite being an empath. And the rule of dating your patient after a year was changed a long time ago. Plus, come on, having sex with two brothers and virtual being sexually assualted by a ghost( but thats ok?) is pushing even my limits.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Marine Corps Special Ops Captain Gillian Key is also a Paramortal psychologist who uses her black ops training and experience when called upon by her superiors. Currently, she is in Romania at the request of the Master Vampire Count Aleksei Rachlav, who needs her help with depression and fangxiety. She is also working with a six century old ghost who haunts a bed and breakfast scaring away customers. Finally Gillian is on a solo military mission. --- It seems that Dracula has returned and is making his presence felt as he believes unlike the vampire lines of Osiris and Dionysius that humans are meals or slaves. The Count has gathered a powerful army of vampires and other paranormal species wanting the current order overturned. He intends to use his minions to initially destroy his enemies amidst his peers like Aleksei before conquering humanity. Gillian, caught in the middle of the upcoming war finds herself caring for Aleksei who is falling in love with the ops shrink. Both intend to be warriors in the fight to kill Dracula and keep the Paramortal-human treaty alive. --- Urban fantasy readers will welcome Talia Gryphon whose thriller will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris and Kelly Armstrong. The heroine at first glance seems like a weak human to her kind and to ancient immortals, but she is a petite dynamo who proves she is mentally and physically strong leading to the audience admiring her pluck, skills, and courage. She fears love and keeps her relationships on a distant plateau although Aleksei may prove to be her match as he keeps creeping closer to her heart. Four centuries of life has taught the hero that the KEY TO CONFLICT or for that matter living is adapting old world customs to female equality. --- Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
1234NEWLUBBOCK More than 1 year ago
I loved the books. I can't wait for another one. I readed all the books in 2 weeks, could not put them down.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MinnerRae More than 1 year ago
I've read just about everything there is in the Dark Urban Fantasy genre and have been dissappointed with a lot of my recent reads so I was really happy when I get into this one and found fun characters with lots of personality and an interesting twist on an adventure that included a wide range of supernatural critters. I read all 3 of the books in under a week.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago