×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Kid Beowulf: The Blood-Bound Oath
     

Kid Beowulf: The Blood-Bound Oath

5.0 1
by Alexis E. Fajardo
 

See All Formats & Editions

“What Rick Riordan did for the Greek gods, Fajardo has done for ‘Beowulf’: magnificent.”

—Kirkus, starred review

If you liked Percy Jackson, you'll love Kid Beowulf! Inspired by the epic poem "Beowulf," this fun new series follows the adventures of 12-year-old twin brothers Beowulf and

Overview

“What Rick Riordan did for the Greek gods, Fajardo has done for ‘Beowulf’: magnificent.”

—Kirkus, starred review

If you liked Percy Jackson, you'll love Kid Beowulf! Inspired by the epic poem "Beowulf," this fun new series follows the adventures of 12-year-old twin brothers Beowulf and Grendel as they travel to distant lands and meet fellow epic heroes!

In book one of the series, our heroes' destiny is tied to the past, when a prince named Hrothgar begins a quest for power—one that leads him to a fiery dragon, an enchanted sword, and an oath sworn in blood. But when Hrothgar breaks his oath he breaks his kingdom, and the only thing that will save it is a family he’s forgotten and heroes not yet born…

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“What Rick Riordan did for the Greek gods, Fajardo has done for ‘Beowulf’: magnificent.” (Kirkus)

"Fajardo takes one of the most recognizable pieces in English literature and makes it fully accessible to younger and struggling readers...capturing the attention of even the most unfocused readers...Hand to graphic novel fans who love action and adventure.” (John Trischitti, School Library Journal)

“…a richly imagined tale…humorous and engrossing adventures.” (The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books)

“In the grand tradition of Bone, Amulet, and countless other epic quest graphic novels, Fajardo gives us heroes to root for, villains to loathe, and complex characterizations around every turn.” (Elizabeth Bird, School Library Journal's FUSE 8 blog)

"These broadly adapted retellings add a lot of fun and fighting to the basic bones of the classic tales!" —A Parent’s Guide To The Best Kids' Comics (Parent's Guide to the Best Kids' Comics)

School Library Journal
08/01/2016
Gr 3–6—Even legendary figures were kids at some point. Fajardo takes one of the most recognizable pieces in English literature and makes it fully accessible to younger and struggling readers. With ample backstory, which this generation of superhero movie and comic readers have grown to love, the author paints a narrative of destiny that is determined well before Beowulf's birth, describing the challenges of learning to grow into the man and hero he is meant to be. Not only a gifted storyteller, Fajardo is equally adept with illustrations, with vibrant panels enhancing the story and capturing the attention of even the most unfocused readers. Included are a world map, a character glossary with pronunciations, a family tree, an epic poem explanation, and drawing lessons. VERDICT Hand to graphic novel fans who love action and adventure.—John Trischitti, Midland County Public Libraries, TX
Kirkus Reviews
★ 2016-06-01
"Beowulf" reimagined. Starting two generations back from the events of the familiar saga, Fajardo breathes a new life into the tale of Beowulf. In his inventive interpretation, Beowulf and Grendel are twin brothers, resulting from a generations-old blood oath between Beowulf's grandfather Hrothgar and a delightfully snarky and ferocious blue dragon, an entertaining back story that occupies most of the book. His fate sealed long before his birth, Beowulf—a kind and brave young boy rather than a vicious monster-killer—must learn about his past while confronting his destiny. As the heir to the throne of a land that's fractured by long-standing feuds and facing dwindling food supplies, Beowulf has many important choices before him, leaving lots of room for subsequent installments. Told in richly imagined comic panels, this offering is visually arresting, with an array of eye-popping colors that positively demand attention from readers. The aftermatter is abundant and well-wrought, offering key terms, historical origins and explanations, a family tree, maps, and lessons on drawing and comic-book making. Fajardo not only makes "Beowulf" accessible for younger readers, he makes it interesting and edifying without any dilution. What Rick Riordan did for the Greek gods, Fajardo has done for "Beowulf": magnificent. (character list) (Graphic fantasy. 7-13)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781449475895
Publisher:
Andrews McMeel Publishing
Publication date:
08/02/2016
Series:
Kid Beowulf Series , #1
Pages:
240
Sales rank:
521,035
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range:
8 - 14 Years

Meet the Author

Alexis E. Fajardo is a student of the classics—whether Daffy Duck of Damocles—and has created a unique blend of the two in Kid Beowulf. Alexis has taught cartooning throughout the San Francisco Bay Area and currently resides in Santa Rosa, California, where, when not penning Kid Beowulf, he "works for Peanuts" at the Charles M. Schulz Studio.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Kid Beowulf: The Blood-Bound Oath 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great new take on the classic Beowulf legend! Filled with action, adventure, and humor, there is ample back-story into the lives of twin-brothers Beowulf and Grendel. A strong first volume in what I hope to be an ongoing series, the colors are vibrant throughout the book and with maps, a glossary, and more this is a must have for fans of Bone and Amulet.