Kindred Spirits by Sarah Strohmeyer | Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Kindred Spirits

Kindred Spirits

3.4 33
by Sarah Strohmeyer
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

After one fateful PTA meeting, four young mothers—Lynne, Mary Kay, Beth, and Carol—discovered they had more in common than they ever thought possible. Meeting once a month, the women would share laughs and secrets, toasting to their blossoming friendship with the clink of their sacred martini glasses.

Two years later, when Lynne passes away suddenly,

Overview

After one fateful PTA meeting, four young mothers—Lynne, Mary Kay, Beth, and Carol—discovered they had more in common than they ever thought possible. Meeting once a month, the women would share laughs and secrets, toasting to their blossoming friendship with the clink of their sacred martini glasses.

Two years later, when Lynne passes away suddenly, she leaves behind one simple request: that her old friends sort through her belongings. The women reunite to rummage through her closets, and buried deep within Lynne’s lingerie drawer, they find an envelope addressed to their little society…

Inside is a letter that reveals Lynn’s shocking secret and last wish, sending the women on a life-changing journey that will reveal to them that nothing is more powerful than the will of a true girlfriend—and a good, strong martini.

Editorial Reviews

Jodi Picoult
"Kindred Spirits is just what you need to toast to the power of female friendship."
Kristin Hannah
"A compelling story about love, loss, martinis, and the power of friendship."
Emily Giffin
“Another irresistible tale from Sarah Strohmeyer. Both funny and moving, Kindred Spirits captures the rich complexity of friendship and will ring true with women everywhere.”
Meg Cabot
“Opening a book by Sarah Strohmeyer is like opening a box of chocolates—sweet, a little nutty, and absolutely irresistible”
From the Publisher
"Kindred Spirits is just what you need to toast to the power of female friendship." — Jodi Picoult, #1 New York Times bestselling author of House Rules

"A compelling story about love, loss, martinis, and the power of friendship." — Kristin Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of Night Road

“Another irresistible tale from Sarah Strohmeyer. Both funny and moving, Kindred Spirits captures the rich complexity of friendship and will ring true with women everywhere.” — Emily Giffin, New York Times bestselling author of Heart of the Matter

“Opening a book by Sarah Strohmeyer is like opening a box of chocolates—sweet, a little nutty, and absolutely irresistible” — Meg Cabot, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Princess Diaries

Publishers Weekly
Strohmeyer's lackluster foray into more serious territory (after The Penny Pinchers Club) follows a group of four women who call themselves the "Ladies Society for the Conservation of Martinis" (cocktail recipes are indeed included) in a small Connecticut town. When society member Lynne succumbs to cancer, her three closest friends set out to fulfill her dying wish: to locate her estranged mother and the daughter she gave up for adoption when she was 18, and deliver letters to each containing her last words. The 40-something women—Beth, her father ill and her marriage dull; Mary Kay, who has been lying to her fiancé about her biological baby-readiness; and Carol, who has left her husband to live a more independent life—spend much of the novel on a road trip in search of Lynne's past. Their friendships steady and solid, their emotional stakes never convincing, the women arouse little interest in the reader as they sip their way toward a happy conclusion. Strohmeyer's fans will miss her trademark humor, and readers of women's fiction will find nothing new in this bland tale. (July)
Library Journal
Best friends Mary Kay, Beth, and Carol, mourning the loss of a fourth friend, embark on a journey to fulfill Lynne's last wishes, and the trip is a catalyst for change in their own lives. Living in a small Connecticut town, the four had bonded through PTA meetings and a love of martinis. When Lynne dies after battling cancer, the others discover that she had kept a big secret from them and that she has left instructions for them to make right for her in death what she could never do in life. VERDICT This novel is sure to be popular with Strohmeyer's (The Cinderella Pact) many fans as well as women's fiction readers who enjoy Emily Giffin, Kristin Hannah, and Jodi Picoult. An engaging story of love and loss and the power of women's friendships, but beach readers, beware—you may find some tears mixed with the sand on your beach towel. [For another novel exploring similar themes, see Erica Bauermeister's Joy for Beginners, reviewed on p. 88.—Ed.]—Karen Core, Detroit P.L.
Kirkus Reviews

Three women carry out the last wishes of their friend, discovering secrets, shedding inhibitions and inventing new martinis along the way.

To combat PTA pettiness, four friends, all residing in the idyllic lakeside town of Marshfield, Conn., are inspired by a musty cookbook, penned by a long-ago Marshfield clubwoman, to form the Ladies Society for the Conservation of Martinis.They bond over Cosmos, Blue Martinis and classic James Bond or Rat Pack concoctions while battling various crises in their lives.Now, though, the crises have the upper hand. Carol precipitously lefther husband Jeff to resume her legal career in New York City, resulting in an ill-considered divorce.Now her ex-husband is insisting on selling their Marshfield house, and Carol's daughter Amanda is not speaking to her.Mary Kay, who raised her orphaned niece Tiffany as her own, has been concealing her infertility from her live-in partner and soon-to-be fiancé, Drake. Beth is juggling her ailing elderly father's health issues with no assistance, only criticism, from a controlling out-of-town sister.Worst of all, the society's founder, Lynne, has run out of options in her battle against cancer.Employing a combination of Blue Martinis and morphine, she commits suicide, leaving a letter for her friends to find. That letter instructs them to look for the daughter that, as a teenager in Pennsylvania, Lynne had been forced to give up for adoption.The women track down Lynne's mother and aunt, and thanks to Beth's skills as a librarian, turn up a crucial clue that Lynne herself had withheld.As they zero in on their quarry, spreading unwelcome news all over Pennsylvania, the women have plenty of opportunity to indulge in all manner of martinis (recipes included). The lighthearted conventions of the midlife girl-power road trip (no driving while intoxicated depicted) often clash with the downright depressing subject matter, as themyriad ways in which parents, spouses and children can become estranged are picked apart.

A hackneyed concept which gains little in this tepid treatment.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780451235046
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
07/03/2012
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
374,801
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Sarah Strohmeyer is the bestselling author of ten previous novels, including The Cinderella Pact and the popular Bubbles series. She lives with her family outside Montpelier, Vermont.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >