×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

King of Hearts
     

King of Hearts

5.0 1
by Tom Seligson
 

See All Formats & Editions

A small town murder.
The world’s most wanted man
A billion dollars in stolen cash

Those are the elements behind this new hard-to-put down thriller by long time author and television producer Tom Seligson. The story begins on a quiet suburban street. A mother is murdered while jogging. Called in to investigate the homicide is Ric Hill, a former

Overview

A small town murder.
The world’s most wanted man
A billion dollars in stolen cash

Those are the elements behind this new hard-to-put down thriller by long time author and television producer Tom Seligson. The story begins on a quiet suburban street. A mother is murdered while jogging. Called in to investigate the homicide is Ric Hill, a former New York City cop and veteran of the Iraq war. Murder is uncommon enough in the suburbs, but discovering that the killing has all the signs of a professional hit, Ric realizes he’s dealing with something bigger.

In fact, what begins as a simple case leads Ric back into the underbelly of the war he left behind, a world where honor and patriotism are for sale, and the difference between a fellow soldier and the enemy is not always so clear. With the help of Sharon, a beautiful fellow veteran rebounding from a devastating combat injury, Ric draws on his New York City street smarts to find an elusive killer, a quest that ultimately involves a pursuit of the world’s most wanted man, one of the biggest bank robberies in history, and an international conspiracy ranging from the streets of Baghdad to the back rooms of our nation’s Capitol. To solve the case, Ric and Sharon must both confront the demons they brought home with them from the war.

As in his previous novels, “Stalking,” and “Kidd,” Seligson has written a page turning thriller in the tradition of Lee Child and David Baldacci.




.

Editorial Reviews

Dotson Rader
Tom Seligson’s new novel – King of Hearts – is an extraordinarily good read. First of all, the characters are extremely well drawn: even the villains are fully realized, not one-dimensional like in so many other novels of this sort. I know Seligson’s work from some of his earlier novels. His books always stand out by the intricacy of his plots. Once you start reading, you immediately get caught up in the story, which grabs you and doesn’t let go. Buy it!

Product Details

BN ID:
2940012044228
Publisher:
Saugatuck Books
Publication date:
01/02/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
7 MB

Meet the Author

I am an author, television producer, and journalist. My latest book - "King of Hearts" - is my sixth book and fourth novel. My previous novels include "Stalking," "Doubles," and "Kidd." "Kidd"was bought by Walt Disney as a source for the film franchise, "National Treasure," and "National Treasure: Book of Secrets." I hope they make a third one. My non-fiction books are "The High School Revolutionaries," and "To Be Young in Babylon." Neither of those sold to the movies.

Writing novels can be lonely, and I became a television producer to get out of the house. For ten years, I was an Executive Producer at CBS News Productions, where I supervised the production of more than 300 hours of programming for A&E, The History Channel, Discovery, Discovery Health, TLC, Showtime, MTV, and other cable channels.

The shows earned me some awards, which is always nice. I won Emmys for "What's so Funny About New York?" "Inside Flight 93," and "The Google Boys." I won Emmy nominations for "Crime Beat," "Faces of Kosovo," "The 9/11 Commission Report," and "Tsunami: Waves of Death."

As a journalist, I was a Contributing Editor to Parade Magazine. I have also written for "The New York Times," "The Village Voice," "Look," "Glamour," "Self," "Mademoiselle," "Redbook," "American Health," and the "Los Angeles Times Syndicate."

But I'm back writing novels, and I wrote the "King of Hearts" on the train while commuting to New York for my producing job. I live in Connecticut with my wife and daughter.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

King of Hearts 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
LadJo More than 1 year ago
Let me say this straight off. I love this book. It's provocative and gripping, the kind of book that makes you want to lock yourself into your bedroom, shut off the phone, and get carried away by the story. If this sounds like gushing praise, it may be because King of Hearts far exceeded my original expectations. Though I'm a big suspense junky, sometimes devouring one or two thrillers a week, I wasn't sure if a book connected to the Iraq War would interest me. I quickly realized that the war is just the backdrop for a story that begins with a murder and gets more elaborate by the page. All the characters seem to jump off the page - they are so realistic - especially the character of Ric Hill, the small town cop who unravels it all. I would love see more books with the character. And I definitely plan to read more books by author Tom Seligson. I'm checking out some of his prior novels - "Stalking, and "Kidd" - and I hope he soon writes more. I definitely consider myself a fan.