The Vanishing

The Vanishing

by David Callinan
     
 

In the tradition of 'His Dark Materials', 'Mortal Engines' and 'Lord Of The Rings', this YA trilogy blends magic with leading edge science and the paranormal with artificial intelligence.

Morgan Lane (15) has a superhuman memory and a gift for designing amazing 'gizmos'. Together with his sidekick, the Chinese American Lin

See more details below

Overview

In the tradition of 'His Dark Materials', 'Mortal Engines' and 'Lord Of The Rings', this YA trilogy blends magic with leading edge science and the paranormal with artificial intelligence.

Morgan Lane (15) has a superhuman memory and a gift for designing amazing 'gizmos'. Together with his sidekick, the Chinese American Lin Rainbow, who has the power of prophecy; and their pet orang utan Winston – transformed by magic and science into a genius with the power of speech – he is catapulted into a cosmic adventure across the multiverse to the dimension where time and space are one.

The comet Cygnus Hyperbole heralds an amazing event: the sudden disappearance of all animal life on Earth. This coincides with Morgan's scientist father perfecting a microbe that can eat pollution and reverse climate change.

The mysterious Guardians choose Morgan to memorise 'The Cosmic Algorithm', the key to all creation as a power-crazed scientist designs replacement animals, nanosaurs (air sharks, perfumed cats, flying dogs and a plethora of weird, bizarre and unstable creatures) including Taurus, a seventeen-feet tall minotaur – the first of a nanosaur army destined to control all mankind.

Morgan must protect the 'Cosmic Algorithm and the super microbe from the clutches of the scientist at all costs.

But the world is descending into chaos as Morgan and his friends battle across a dystopian landscape to locate the Guardians (they occupy a breath propelled starship inside Mount Everest) to go on the next stage of their quest.

Book two: Kingdom Of The Oracle

Book Three: Kingdom Yet To Come

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940032843979
Publisher:
David Callinan
Publication date:
11/02/2011
Sold by:
Smashwords
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
0 MB
Age Range:
12 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >