The King's Daughter: A Novel

The King's Daughter: A Novel

4.4 10
by Christie Dickason
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

In the vein of Philippa Gregory, The King’s Daughter is a superb historical novel of the Jacobean court that will thrill historical fiction fans everywhere. Combining fascinating fact with ingenious fiction, Christie Dickason, the acclaimed author of The Firemaster’s Mistress, tells the spellbinding story of Princess Elizabeth,

See more details below

Overview

In the vein of Philippa Gregory, The King’s Daughter is a superb historical novel of the Jacobean court that will thrill historical fiction fans everywhere. Combining fascinating fact with ingenious fiction, Christie Dickason, the acclaimed author of The Firemaster’s Mistress, tells the spellbinding story of Princess Elizabeth, daughter of James I, and her determined efforts to avoid becoming her father’s pawn in the royal marriage market.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In Dickason's (The Memory Palace) epic story of royal secrets and love, the court of James I is a tumultuous place, with warring factions and a mercurial ruler creating a heady climate for the king's eldest children, Henry and Elizabeth. Henry is the golden heir, wildly popular with the people and painfully noble. And while Elizabeth is groomed for her role as a marriageable pawn fit only to secure English interests abroad, she is also a willful girl out to secure her own destiny and have a say in her choice of mate. The story comes alive when Elizabeth recruits Thalia, a freed slave, to gather intelligence from the king about her pending nuptials, finding herself embroiled in a dangerous game; unfortunately this most compelling thread is quickly dropped. When Henry dies, however, Elizabeth's marriage becomes of even greater concern to England. With a delightful touch, Dickason immerses readers into a difficult period of English history. Her Elizabeth is a powerful, compelling character, equal parts vulnerability and nobility, and other characters are drawn with respect. Fans of historical novels will enjoy her newest and eagerly await the next. (Nov.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062024893
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
11/30/2010
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
480
Sales rank:
123,219
File size:
3 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >