×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Knight's Fork
     

Knight's Fork

4.7 12
by Rowena Cherry
 

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780505527400
Publisher:
Leisure Books
Publication date:
09/30/2008
Pages:
336
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.10(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Knight's Fork 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
One of the hardest things for a writer to do is develop a ¿voice¿. It¿s that unique narrative you ¿hear¿ when you read an author, very similar to a fingerprint, marking that author has developed their own style. Rowena Cherry has that in spades, and it¿s spiced with a very special brand of humor, which sets her apart. She creates a strong world for her series (Mating Net, Forced Mate, and Insufficient Mating Material) for Dorchester¿s Love Spell. While you will enjoy reading Knight¿s Fork alone, I highly recommend you get all the stories and read them in order, to get the full enjoyment out of Cherry world-building Sci-Fi /Futuristic romances, whose titles are based on Chess moves. Electra, The Queen Consort of Volnoth, is in need of a baby, an heir to the throne. Her choice is a green-eyed knight, who seems perfect for the `job¿. Only, she isn¿t aware that Rhett, the Royal Surian Djinn, is also the son of her greatest enemy. Ah, conflict abounds! Our sexy Saurian lord is in between a rock and a hard place - caught in the middle of Electra¿s urgent claim upon his body and a father who is just barely higher than pond scum. I won¿t go into why Electra needs a `donor¿ to create an heir, since it¿s rather vital to the plot, but will say Cherry pens her third novel with the same flair and intelligent writing that has earned her a strong following. She is not an author to `skim¿ read, but to savor her savvy turn of a phrase and intricate plotting. Cherry is also very attentive to details, showing she thoroughly researches her books. I highly recommend Knight¿s Fork for the reader looking for a book that is fresh, original and provokes a good laugh.
ReadingRomantic More than 1 year ago
Rowena Cherry has delivered yet another wonderful story. Her prose is delicious, giving you a visual of every scene just as though you were there. With all senses engaged, the reader finds he or she cannot stop turning pages.

Electra-Djerroldina is delectable, but she's married. Will Djarrhett, the Saurian Knight and presumed heir to the Dragon's throne, realize he loves her in time to save them both from the mechanisms of his father and his cousin, Tarrant-Arragon?

I have thoroughly enjoyed this series so far, and hope Ms. Cherry has more books planned for it. In the tradition of Forced Mate and Insufficient Mating Material, Knight's Fork has the flavor and essence of well-turned phraseology, intriguing plot and vibrant characters. I consider this a must read!

Diane Davis White
Author, Moon of the Falling Leaves
Guest More than 1 year ago
Volnoth Queen Consort Electra loves her mate Viz-lgerd, but knows they are checked when it comes to siring a child. She chooses Rhett as the sperm pawn for her offspring. However, she is unaware of two key facts about the pawn she has chosen. First he is the son of Volnoth¿s greatest enemy Ala¿Asrer-Djalet, who is better known as the Saurian Dragon of the Djinn family second he adheres to his vow of chastity.------------------ Electra and Rhett are surprised by finding themselves attracted to one another. However, her brother Prince Tarrant-Arragon assumes they are having an affair. He insures they are trapped together on their way to earth. As they fall in love, his amoral father and her outraged family insist something must be done to the assumed lovers.--------------- The latest chess futuristic romance (see FORCED MATE and INSUFFICIENT MATING MATERIAL) is once again a strange but well written and fascinating tale. The story line is character driven as Electra tries to checkmate her reluctant knight. Fans will enjoy the latest sci fi romance from the creative Rowena Cherry as she has aliens falling intoa taboo love which makes make for an intriguing albeit weird but entertaining saga. ---------- Harriet Klausner
Owyheehehe More than 1 year ago
Those of us who loved Forced Mate and Insufficient Mating Material could hardly wait for the release of Rowena Cherry's latestsensual futuristic romance replete with hilarious chess puns and hunky Great Djinn.

Queen Electra-Djerroldina must bear a green-eyed heir, and soon, so she picks super sperminator (Cherry calls him a superimpregnator) Djarrhett, Saurian Knight and enemy of her husband, Viz-Igerd of Volmoth. Always ready to find a way to stir up trouble to his own benefit, her brother, Emporer Tarrant-Arragon sends her and 'Rhett to earth. She works her wiles on him and hoo-baby, is he ever tempted, but 'Rhett not only won't donate his sperm, he's a virgin. Then there's the little problem of the chastity belt she wears--and no key.

As one of my favorite characters, an earthling named Grievous said, "The problem with you bloody Great Djinn gene pool is that there's no lifeguard on duty."

Knight's Fork is fun, sexy, fast-paced, and very clever. Rowena Cherry's talent shines once again, and I'm eagerly looking forward to the next book in the series. There's nothing like a Great Djinn god to spice up your day!
Guest More than 1 year ago
Knightâ⿬⿢s Fork by Rowena Cherry is a taut and heady romance story of epic proportions. Move over Helen of Troy and Paris, youâ⿬⿢ve been bested by Rhett and Electra. I recommend this sci-fi romance to anyone who enjoys emotional chess and divining astrological tarot cards.
CandyThompson More than 1 year ago
I can safely say I have never read anyone quite like Rowena Cherry. After reading this novel, I must get her other books. She certainly has an original style, and her writing is so humorous. Highly Recommend it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TREKnRay More than 1 year ago
Rowena Cherry has written a series of books including Knights Fork that includes a lengthy family tree to keep track of the players. It is Romantic Science Fiction Suspense. It is part of a series. Aristocratic women exist only to provide an heir to perpetuate the dynasty. Only the women prove to be at least equal to the men. The royalty are Djin and are always looking for a Djin mate. I read the entire series and would recommend it to anyone who like a well told tale full of intrigue, humor and romance. Ray G
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago