Krzysztof Meyer: String Quartets Nos. 5, 6 & 8

( 1 )
$12.34 price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $4.98   
  • New (5) from $4.98   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 9/29/2009
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 747313077670
  • Catalog Number: 8570776
  • Sales rank: 201,473


Disc 1
  1. 1 String quartet No 5, Op 42 - Krysztof Meyer & Wieniawski String Quartet (28:40)
  2. 2 String quartet No 6, Op 51 - Krysztof Meyer & Wieniawski String Quartet (19:45)
  3. 3 String quartet No 8, Op 67 - Krysztof Meyer & Wieniawski String Quartet (23:03)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Wieniawski String Quartet Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Neoclassic Master

    Like his more famous compatriot Krzysztof Penderecki, Poland's Krzysztof Meyer experimented freely with avant-garde musical techniques early in his career before evolving towards more traditional yet still complex and challenging compositional parameters. While he has compiled a large and impressive body of orchestral and vocal work, I find his chamber music most compelling, especially his 12 string quartets, which I rate among the best written during the past four decades. This disc presents his fifth, sixth and eighth string quartets, composed between 1977 and 1985. Each is unique in character and approach, yet they share a dramatic heft and plangent tone found in much Eastern European music. Meyer combines cohesive narrative form and pleasing harmonic symmetry to great effect in each of these works without ever becoming predictable. He keeps the listener pleasingly off balance with contrasting moods, subtle emotional shadings and a wide range of sound colors and textures. Many of the movements unfold with surprising warmth and intimacy; others are more overtly dramatic, with bold, spiky melodic lines punctuated with sharp rhythmic accents. It's hard to pick a favorite among these quartets-each is emotionally accessible and intellectually stimulating, and given convincing and committed readings by the superb Wieniawski String Quartet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews