Lake of Tears (Claire Watkins Series #9)

Lake of Tears (Claire Watkins Series #9)

4.0 1
by Mary Logue
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"Logue writes beautifully about rural Minnesota life while telling a good mystery. For fans of J.A. Jance and Margaret Maron." --Library Journal

Deputy Sheriff Claire Watkins has had an easy summer in Fort St. Antoine, Wisconsin; the only problem is that her daughter Meg is leaving for college soon. When Claire walks down to the park to watch the Burning

See more details below

Overview

"Logue writes beautifully about rural Minnesota life while telling a good mystery. For fans of J.A. Jance and Margaret Maron." --Library Journal

Deputy Sheriff Claire Watkins has had an easy summer in Fort St. Antoine, Wisconsin; the only problem is that her daughter Meg is leaving for college soon. When Claire walks down to the park to watch the Burning Boat--a large replica of a Norwegian longboat set on the shores of Lake Pepin, burned at the autumnal equinox--she has no idea that more than just a wooden structure is going up in flames.

The next day, the bones of a young woman are found in the ashes. When Claire learns that the new deputy she has hired, a vet returning from Afghanistan, was the young woman's former boyfriend, and that he is now dating her daughter Meg, she is desperate to find out who is responsible for the death.

In order to get to the heart of this mystery, Claire must understand what happened in an attack in the mountains of Afghanistan, which left one man wounded, one man killed, and one man disturbed. Could one of those two remaining men be the killer?

Read More

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"The latest from Logue is a tense psychological mystery, compulsively readable, that...offers up some surprising twists." --Kirkus Reviews

"Logue effectively deepens her well-plotted, small-town mystery with a sensitive look at the issues faced by returning veterans." --Booklist

"This novel is packed with strong human emotions.... Her writing is clear and she moves quickly and incisively though the procedural, but not without compassion and deep appreciation of life-changing experiences." --Bookpleasures

"Logue is a smart, seasoned writer and...her ninth book...is one of the most absorbing in the series." --Star Tribune

Kirkus Reviews
2013-11-25
The answer to a rural murder may lie in Afghanistan. Deputy Sheriff Claire Watkins becomes acting sheriff when her boss has a heart attack. Things have been peaceful in Fort St. Antoine, Wis., but that all changes when the remains of a body are found in the replica of a Norwegian longboat burned on the shore in an autumn ritual. Claire's daughter Meg, who is soon leaving for college, feels an instant attraction to a man she meets at the boat burning, little knowing that he will soon be a murder suspect. Claire calls in a forensic expert who uses dental records to identify the remains as those of Tammy Lee Johnson, whose fiance, Terry Whitman, has just reported her missing. Although Tammy Lee and Terry are scheduled to wed soon, Tammy Lee has been flirting with Andrew Stickler, her high school boyfriend and the new man Meg is dating. Andrew's not only eight years older than Meg, he's also a deputy working for her mother and a man who has issues to deal with from an incident in Afghanistan that almost got him killed. Both Andrew and Meg have some reservations about dating, but their strong sexual attraction overcomes their doubts. Although Claire likes her deputy, he still joins that jealous fiance on her suspect list, and she asks Meg to stop seeing him until the murder is solved. As Claire and her staff work to find the killer, Meg and Andrew find it impossible to keep apart, until another murder opens the investigation to new possibilities. The latest from Logue (Maiden Rock, 2007, etc.) is a tense psychological mystery, compulsively readable, that may seem obvious but offers up some surprising twists.
Publishers Weekly
11/11/2013
In Logue’s halfhearted ninth Claire Watkins mystery (after 2010’s Frozen Stiff), deputy Claire temporarily steps into the role of sheriff of Fort St. Antoine, Wis., just as her college-bound teen daughter, Meg, chooses 26-year-old Andrew Stickler as her new boyfriend. Only later does Meg realize that Andrew, who recently served as a soldier in Afghanistan, is employed by her mother as a deputy—and is a suspect in the murder case Claire is working. Glimpses into the deranged mind of Andrew’s war buddy, Doug Nelson, may heighten the suspense, but fail to frighten as they should. Likewise, the conflict between Meg and Claire over Meg’s relationship with Andrew generates little heat, while the victim whose skeleton is found in the ashes of the town’s traditional boat bonfire, its equivalent of the Burning Man festival, is vaguely unsympathetic, leaving the reader few emotional hooks to grab as the story goes through its procedural motions. (Jan.)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781440571503
Publisher:
Adams Media
Publication date:
01/18/2014
Series:
Claire Watkins Series, #9
Pages:
208
Sales rank:
1,129,451
Product dimensions:
5.80(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.00(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >