The Land at the End of the World: A Novel

Overview

“Brilliant . . . harrowing. . . . Packs the impact of an exploding mortar shell.”—Kai Maristed, Los Angeles Times
In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel García Márquez, one of the twentieth century’s most original literary voices offers “kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa” (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World—in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa—recounts the ...

See more details below
Paperback (Reprint)
$13.13
BN.com price
(Save 17%)$15.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (16) from $4.00   
  • New (9) from $8.83   
  • Used (7) from $4.00   
Sending request ...

Overview

“Brilliant . . . harrowing. . . . Packs the impact of an exploding mortar shell.”—Kai Maristed, Los Angeles Times
In the tradition of William Faulkner and Gabriel García Márquez, one of the twentieth century’s most original literary voices offers “kaleidoscopic visions of a modern Portugal scarred by its Fascist past and its bloody colonial wars in Africa” (Paris Review). Hailed as a masterpiece of world literature, The Land at the End of the World—in an acclaimed translation by Margaret Jull Costa—recounts the anguished tale of a Portuguese medic haunted by memories of war. Like the Ancient Mariner who will tell his tale to anyone who listens, the narrator’s evening unfolds like a fever dream that is both tragic and haunting. The result is one of the great war novels of the modern age.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

New York Times
Splendid. . . . An unusually observant writer.— Larry Rohter
Daily Beast/Newsweek
This Portuguese genius has seen too much, indeed, but in giving witness to the wasteland he has given us wonderful gifts.— William Giraldi
Larry Rohter - New York Times
“Splendid. . . . An unusually observant writer.”
William Giraldi - Daily Beast/Newsweek
“This Portuguese genius has seen too much, indeed, but in giving witness to the wasteland he has given us wonderful gifts.”
Library Journal
Hugely honored abroad—he's won the France Culture, Juan Rulfo, and Jerusalem prizes, aside from prizes in his native Portugal—Lobo Antunes is making a name for himself here among the cognoscenti. This work, freshly transalted by the redoubtable Margaret Jull Costa, features a narrator just back from fighting in Angola who feels compelled to confess all he has seen and done to a nameless lover. Recommend to your smart readers.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780393342338
  • Publisher: Norton, W. W. & Company, Inc.
  • Publication date: 6/25/2012
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Pages: 224
  • Sales rank: 963,254
  • Product dimensions: 5.40 (w) x 8.20 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Meet the Author

António Lobo Antunes, born in 1942, is the author of novels including What Can I Do When Everything’s On Fire? and Act of the Damned. He lives in Lisbon, Portugal.

Margaret Jull Costa is an award-winning translator of Portuguese and Spanish literature. She lives in the United Kingdom.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)