by Kevin J. Anderson, Neil Peart, Neil Peart

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publishers Weekly
The 22 stories and two essays in this collection by bestseller Anderson (Star Wars: Jedi Search) showcase his competence at shorter length. The idea of landscapes informs his SF tales in particular. In "Music Played on the Strings of Time," parallel timestream hoppers exploit slight differences in place as they seek new music by established artists or successful drug therapies. The artificial ecosystems of "Prisons" keeps the hell of a planet undergoing terraforming at bay. In the postapocalyptic world of "Rest in Peace," civilization has disappeared, along with humanity. In his fantasy stories, Anderson lets loose with humor and fun. In "Frog Kiss," a man kisses a lot of frogs while trying to find members of the enchanted royal family, while in "Special Makeup," a mysterious makeup artist goes to extremes to prepare an unwitting actor for his role as a werewolf. Marring the author's readable style and capable plots are one-dimensional characters and a lack of surprises, but his many fans will find much to enjoy. (Mar.) Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.
Library Journal - Library Journal
In the first of four stories centered around Alternitech, a corporation that arranges for time traveling to alternate realities, a young musician finds the path he has not yet taken in another world ("Music Played on the Strings of Time"), while in a more macabre vein, two young boys suspect the worst about Santa ("Santa Claus Is Coming To Get You"). Together with 20 other stories and a pair of essays, this collection by the best-selling coauthor (with Brian Herbert) of the latest series of "Dune" novels demonstrates Anderson's versatility and storytelling expertise and belongs in most library sf or short story collections. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

Cengage Gale
Publication date:
Five Star Science Fiction and Fantasy Series
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.60(h) x 1.30(d)

Meet the Author

Born in 1962 in Racine, Wisconsin, Kevin J. Anderson is a science fiction author with over 50 bestselling books. In additional to his original works—the Saga of Seven Suns series & the Nebula Award-nominated Assemblers of Infinity—he has written spin-off novels for Star Wars, StarCraft, Titan A.E. and The X-Files, and with Brian Herbert is the co-author of the Dune prequel series.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews