The Language of the Land: Living among a Stone-Age People in Africa by James Stephenson, Paperback | Barnes & Noble
The Language of the Land: Living among a Stone-Age People in Africa

The Language of the Land: Living among a Stone-Age People in Africa

by James Stephenson
     
 

At the age of twenty-two, James Stephenson arranged to spend a year living among the Hadzabe, the last hunters and gatherers still living a traditional life in Africa. He wanted to live their life, hunting what they hunted, eating what they ate, participating in their dances and ceremonies, consulting with their medicine men, and learning their myths and

Overview

At the age of twenty-two, James Stephenson arranged to spend a year living among the Hadzabe, the last hunters and gatherers still living a traditional life in Africa. He wanted to live their life, hunting what they hunted, eating what they ate, participating in their dances and ceremonies, consulting with their medicine men, and learning their myths and dreams.

Armed only with his camera, his art supplies, and the open-hearted courage of youth, he set out to visit with a people who have changed little since the Stone Age to glimpse the world as they perceived it and learn the wisdom they had wrested from the land.

Editorial Reviews

Booknews
At the age of 27 the author arranged to take a year off from his terrace gardening business in New York City to spend it with the Hadzabe in East Africa, a people said to be the last hunter-gatherers in Africa. One of many trips he had and would take, this nine-month sojourn was undertaken to document the Hadzabe with pen, camera, and art supplies<-->the products of all these media presented in the book.This is travel literature in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Peter Beard. No index. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780312284367
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press
Publication date:
10/12/2001
Edition description:
First Edition
Pages:
256
Product dimensions:
6.86(w) x 8.98(h) x 0.57(d)

Meet the Author

James Stephenson received his B.A. in English Literature at Ohio State University, and studied at the Rhode Island School for Design. Currently working as a landscape artist in New York City, where he designs rooftop gardens, Stephenson lives in Brooklyn and Tanzania, East Africa.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >