Language of the Land: Living among the Adzabe in Africa

Language of the Land: Living among the Adzabe in Africa

by James Stephenson
     
 

A rare adventure with the last Stone Age hunting and gathering tribe in Africa.

In l997 James Stephenson arranged to have almost a full year free, a year he wanted to spend among the Hadzabe in East Africa. He had visited these people several times previously and with every trip his fascination with them deepened, for the Hadzabe are the last hunters and

See more details below

Overview

A rare adventure with the last Stone Age hunting and gathering tribe in Africa.

In l997 James Stephenson arranged to have almost a full year free, a year he wanted to spend among the Hadzabe in East Africa. He had visited these people several times previously and with every trip his fascination with them deepened, for the Hadzabe are the last hunters and gatherers still living a traditional life in Africa.

At the age of 27, Stephenson intended to spend the year living among the Hadzabe, and, more importantly, living their life, hunting what they hunted, eating what they ate, participating in their dances and ceremonies, consulting with their medicine men and learning their myths and dreams.

Armed only with his camera, his art supplies and the open-hearted courage of youth, he set out to visit with a people who have changed little since the Stone Age. He wanted to glimpse the world as they perceived it and learn the wisdom they had wrestled from the land. This account of his adventure and what he learned is travel writing at its best, reminiscent of the books of Peter Beard and Bruce Chatwin.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Booknews
At the age of 27 the author arranged to take a year off from his terrace gardening business in New York City to spend it with the Hadzabe in East Africa, a people said to be the last hunter-gatherers in Africa. One of many trips he had and would take, this nine-month sojourn was undertaken to document the Hadzabe with pen, camera, and art supplies<-->the products of all these media presented in the book.This is travel literature in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Peter Beard. No index. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780312241070
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press
Publication date:
09/01/1900
Edition description:
First Edition
Pages:
220
Product dimensions:
8.20(w) x 9.78(h) x 0.87(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >