Last Chance Rebel

Last Chance Rebel

3.7 7
by Maisey Yates
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The prodigal son of Copper Ridge, Oregon, has finally come home

The man who ruined Rebecca Bear's life just strolled back into it with one heck of an offer. Years ago, Gage West's recklessness left Rebecca scarred inside and out. Now he wants to make amends by gifting her the building that houses her souvenir store. Rebecca won't take Gage's charity, but

Overview

The prodigal son of Copper Ridge, Oregon, has finally come home

The man who ruined Rebecca Bear's life just strolled back into it with one heck of an offer. Years ago, Gage West's recklessness left Rebecca scarred inside and out. Now he wants to make amends by gifting her the building that houses her souvenir store. Rebecca won't take Gage's charity, but she's willing to make a deal with the sexy, reclusive cowboy. Yet keeping her enemy close is growing dangerously appealing…

He's the wild West brother, the bad seed of Copper Ridge. That's why Gage needs the absolution Rebecca offers. He just didn't expect to need her. After years of regretting his past, he knows where his future lies—with this strong, irresistible woman who could make a black sheep come home to stay…

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"Fans of Robyn Carr and RaeAnne Thayne will enjoy [Yates's] small-town romance."

-Booklist on Part Time Cowboy

"Passionate, energetic and jam-packed with personality."

-USATODAY.com's Happy Ever After blog on Part Time Cowboy

"Yates writes a story with emotional depth, intense heartache and love that is hard fought for and eventually won in the second Copper Ridge installment... This is a book readers will be telling their friends about."

-RT Book Reviews on Brokedown Cowboy

"Wraps up nicely, leaving readers with a desire to read more about the feisty duo."

-Publishers Weekly on Bad News Cowboy

"The setting is vivid, the secondary characters charming, and the plot has depth and interesting twists. But it is the hero and heroine who truly drive this story."

-BookPage on Bad News Cowboy

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780373789825
Publisher:
Harlequin
Publication date:
08/30/2016
Series:
Copper Ridge
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
41,599
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.60(h) x 0.90(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

New York Times Bestselling author Maisey Yates lives in rural Oregon with her three children and her husband, whose chiseled jaw and arresting features continue to make her swoon. She feels the epic trek she takes several times a day from her office to her coffee maker is a true example of her pioneer spirit.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Last Chance Rebel 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
Anonymous 7 months ago
I am looking forward to the release of this Maisey Yates book. I have enjoyed the series thus far. I find myself quite annoyed when others use the review opportunity to leave a message of some sort for others. I would hope such persons would find something meaningful to do with their time.
judiOH 4 days ago
a
BooksAndSpoons 10 days ago
Anger, hate, bitterness are all such unattractive emotions, they muddle your mind, they tarnish your soul, they make a mark on you. Rebecca is filled with these feelings, it seems that is what drives her, gives her energy, makes her move forward, gives a place to hide. Her life was shaped by the accident, it changed everything for her, still affects her, it still is visible in her body. Her mother used it, and the payoff, as an excuse to leave them, that changed her life even more. His father made the payoff, making the whole accident a secret. It's been 17 years. Rebecca hated Gage with everything that was in her, enough to wanting to kill him. Gage was such a troubled man, it was obvious that the events in his teenage years, the accident, and his father, shaped him as well. And he tries to stand so tall and careless, but with every action and every decision he shows how much he truly did care, how much he wanted to fix the past, to be able to move on, to be able to be, to be able to breathe. He has all these thoughts and emotions inside of him that he has absolutely no frame of reference how to deal with them, and he seems lost. Hate, bitterness, anger, and fear were all palpable in the air, the tension immensely high, the air filled with negative thoughts, so much so it felt like I was drowning in them at times, overwhelming to take it all in. And from that rock bottom place, the author turns the story to a beautiful tale about redemption, forgiveness, learning to let go of all the protective walls, and learning to love. The story goes deep, it is rough, raw, and hurtful, because we often have break down completely, to be able to build up again. And it is easier to accept that someone else has forgiven you than forgive yourself. There's nothing light and fluffy about this story. I was very frustrated at the beginning since I felt Gage was dealt a rotten hand. He was a teenage boy who made a mistake, the accident was that, an accident. What happens after the accident was choices adults made themselves and had nothing to do with Gage. Why all the hate and anger towards him? But it was the process that Rebecca had to go through. And the character development in this story is superb, on both Rebecca and Gage, and even secondary characters. How they both come to the place, where they can open up, forgive themselves, and move on from there is an uphill battle, beautifully done, so touching, and even sensual. This story shook me to the core and got me emotionally involved. I was furious to it at times, yet smiling at other times. I felt for the characters struggles, yet was irritated by their immaturity. The journey Rebecca and Gage took, I was right there with them, with every bump in the road, the uphills, the thrilling curves, and the occasional smooth riding. A beautifully written story, at times nearly poetic, about redemption, forgiveness, learning to trust and the meaning of love. ~ Four Spoons with a teaspoon at the sid
Honolulubelle 13 days ago
My Rating: 3.5 Favorite Quotes: It’s always the handsome ones… If evil men looked like the trolls they were inside, it would be much easier to avoid them. He didn’t do relationships – he tended to gravitate toward women with empty heads and full bras who just wanted what he did. I just need to do this. I’m spring cleaning my soul. My Review: I struggled while reading this book and was close to a giving up and declaring a DNF, as I do not enjoy constant conflict. However, that is just my personal preference… I read to be entertained. While I enjoyed the underlying plot and found the storyline to be relevant and interesting, I felt the melodrama, tension, and angst to have been over-served. I also had considerable difficulty finding the characters to be likable during much of the first half of the story. I had empathy for them as they were both broken and emotionally stunted, but the repetition of her frequently spewed venomous anger and his inner musings of self-loathing became rather tedious for me. Despite that, I am quite glad I pushed past my personal discomfort and did enjoy the later portion of the book as the characters finally began to blossom and personally evolve, and then steamy bits started showing up. Thankfully, they each experienced their own epiphanies and came together for a sweet and satisfying conclusion, although Ms. Yates certainly made them work for it.
Lashea677 29 days ago
With Last Chance Rebel, Maisey Yates put some of her best work into Gage and Rebecca. My heart felt like it was torn right out of my chest. Living with the physical scars of an incident in her youth, has made Rebecca stronger, self - reliant, less trusting and full of anger and bitterness. Her one sanctuary is her shop of odds and ends. Being there allows her to escape the pain that is her constant companions, until the conductor of her misery reappears. Gage left Copper Ridge, a broken man and returns with a mission. In carrying out his purpose, Gage finds redemption and changes many lives, including his own. Rebecca and Gage were united by tragedy but brought together by hope. I get emotional just thinking about this powerful story.
book_junkee 3 months ago
3.5 stars I'm always in the mood for a Maisey Yates book. She's recently been some of my favorite sorbet. I liked Rebecca and Gage well enough. They have some wicked chemistry and it gets even crazier as the story progresses. I loved seeing the couples from the previous books as well. The main reason I didn't rate it higher was that the ending seems so so so rushed. There is one massive conflict in the story and it overtakes everything. So it would make sense that it would take some time to work out, right? Nope. They break up at like 90% and the grand gesture comes at 98% and we get a brief page and a half epilogue. Don't get me wrong, I enjoyed the story and I really liked Rebecca and Gage, but something about the messy fix didn't sit right with me. I wanted more. **Huge thanks to HQN Books and NetGalley for providing the arc in exchange for an honest review**
Anonymous 7 months ago
2vzW zhiz Rds"