Late for Work

Late for Work

4.6 3
by David Tucker
     
 

David Tucker has been writing Late for Work throughout his twenty-eight-year career at top city newspapers. In his poems he follows reporters hustling for stories and captures the beauty of everyday life, lived between breaking headlines.  See more details below

Overview

David Tucker has been writing Late for Work throughout his twenty-eight-year career at top city newspapers. In his poems he follows reporters hustling for stories and captures the beauty of everyday life, lived between breaking headlines.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"A fine and gentle invocation of humanity against too much urgency....Wonderful work!"—Tom Ashbrook, National Public Radio

"Here is cleverness and delight in language that do what only the best poems do."—Mark Bowden, journalist & author of Black Hawk Down

"[Tucker] keeps his eye focused, with tempered joy and genuine happiness, on how work also enlarges life....Terrific."—Andrew Hudgins

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780618658688
Publisher:
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
Publication date:
04/04/2006
Edition description:
None
Pages:
66
Sales rank:
1,408,476
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.16(d)

Meet the Author

DAVID TUCKER is the winner of the 2005 Katharine Bakeless Nason Prize for poetry, judged by Philip Levine. Assistant managing editor of the New Jersey Star-Ledger metro section, he’s also been a reporter and editor at the Toronto Star and the Philadelphia Inquirer. Tucker studied poetry with Donald Hall and Robert Hayden and is a graduate of the University of Michigan.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Late for Work 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Used this book for a couple of essays in class. really wasn't to impressed but better than most.
Ruthenium More than 1 year ago
My favorite poet, found one poem in a magazine and have gone on to read and reread all. His influences include his painful childhood with a mentally ill mother, in poverty, in Tennessee...and his current work as a newspaper city editor in Newark. In this clamor, he writes poems celebrating quiet, love, humor...and reflects the pain he's known and written about as well.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I heard this fellow on Terry Gross' Fresh Air and I was really moved by his interview and particularly his poetry. He writes in the tradition of Donald Hall or Mark Doty - accessible and straightforward and beautifully crafted. Give yourself a treat and buy the book then read one or two a day when you just can't bring yourself to face other responsibilities just yet.