Late for Work

( 3 )

Overview

David Tucker has been writing Late for Work throughout his twenty-eight-year career at top city newspapers. In his poems he follows reporters hustling for stories and captures the beauty of everyday life, lived between breaking headlines.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Paperback (None)
$11.81
BN.com price
(Save 8%)$12.95 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (24) from $1.99   
  • New (11) from $6.29   
  • Used (13) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

David Tucker has been writing Late for Work throughout his twenty-eight-year career at top city newspapers. In his poems he follows reporters hustling for stories and captures the beauty of everyday life, lived between breaking headlines.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"A fine and gentle invocation of humanity against too much urgency....Wonderful work!"—Tom Ashbrook, National Public Radio

"Here is cleverness and delight in language that do what only the best poems do."—Mark Bowden, journalist & author of Black Hawk Down

"[Tucker] keeps his eye focused, with tempered joy and genuine happiness, on how work also enlarges life....Terrific."—Andrew Hudgins

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780618658688
  • Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Publication date: 4/4/2006
  • Edition description: None
  • Pages: 66
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.50 (h) x 0.16 (d)

Meet the Author

DAVID TUCKER is the winner of the 2005 Katharine Bakeless Nason Prize for poetry, judged by Philip Levine. Assistant managing editor of the New Jersey Star-Ledger metro section, he's also been a reporter and editor at the Toronto Star and the Philadelphia Inquirer. Tucker studied poetry with Donald Hall and Robert Hayden and is a graduate of the University of Michigan.

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

March morning 3
Columbus discovers Linden, Tennessee 4
Kingdoms of laziness 5
The day off 6
The woman in the faraway house 7
Putting everything off 8
The crow life 9
City editor looking for news 10
"Oh" 11
The dancer 12
Castro! 13
Pat Paterson 14
And this just in 15
Voice mail 16
Talking to cats while making breakfast 17
Always here 21
The brief life of the box 22
That day 23
Detective story 24
Quilts 25
Snowbound 26
Soon they : a song for good times 27
The way it works up there 28
Downsizing 29
Blackbirds leaving 30
A fine June morning 31
Apollo over Texas 32
Daisy the cat 33
Enough of it 34
Morning edition 35
The beating 39
The men decide 40
Perspective 41
The great-grandfather 42
Indian summer 43
July late at night 44
The minute that just passed 45
Messengers 46
The Starlite Bar 47
My mother's voices 48
A book review 49
Listening to the clothes dryer 50
A day in October 51
Newsroom still life 52
Today's news 53
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    I Recommend

    Used this book for a couple of essays in class. really wasn't to impressed but better than most.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    I love these poems -- bought the book -- reread often -- country, urban, subtle, joyous, aching, perfect. If I could own but one book...

    My favorite poet, found one poem in a magazine and have gone on to read and reread all. His influences include his painful childhood with a mentally ill mother, in poverty, in Tennessee...and his current work as a newspaper city editor in Newark. In this clamor, he writes poems celebrating quiet, love, humor...and reflects the pain he's known and written about as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Unsentimental and compassionate

    I heard this fellow on Terry Gross' Fresh Air and I was really moved by his interview and particularly his poetry. He writes in the tradition of Donald Hall or Mark Doty - accessible and straightforward and beautifully crafted. Give yourself a treat and buy the book then read one or two a day when you just can't bring yourself to face other responsibilities just yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)