Laugh If You Like, Ain't a Damn Thing Funny: The Life Story of Ralph ''Petey'' Greene As Told to Lurma Rackley

Paperback
$20.05
BN.com price
(Save 8%)$21.99 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (14) from $9.01   
  • New (6) from $15.04   
  • Used (8) from $9.01   
Laugh If You Like, Ain't a Damn Thing Funny: The Life story of Ralph

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$8.49
BN.com price
(Save 15%)$9.99 List Price

More About This Book

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781413432886
  • Publisher: Xlibris Corporation
  • Publication date: 2/28/2007
  • Pages: 292
  • Product dimensions: 8.50 (w) x 5.50 (h) x 0.66 (d)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2004

    Great bio!

    Wonderful reading--especially for those of us who lived in DC during the Petey Greene years! Even if you didn't, though, you'll find 'Laugh If You Like...' an alternatingly amusing and serious account of the life of a man, his grandmother, and his many associates and the twists and turns that life took.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2004

    Laugh if You Like., Ain't a Damn Thing Funny, Petey Greene

    I have always been interested in reading how men of color were raised and lived based on the environment in which they were developed. In this book, lessons taught by A'nt Pig were the criteria for how Petey Greene thought and made decisions.Although she didn't teach him all of those worldly things he did, Petey existed and rose to heights he never dreamed of based on what he learned from A'nt Pig. Although my own father, uncles, and other male relatives didn't accomplish as much as Petey, reading this book gave me some insight into what they must have experienced growing up in the 30's, 40, and 50's. As I was reading this extremely graphic and riveting account of his life, it was easy for me to visualize the events in Petey's storytelling using an imaginary movie screen in my head. I imagined the good and bad. Each chapter or story Petey told reminded me of what my family members had gone through. As a child growing up I compared what I actually witnessed and heard with the events that occurred in Petey's life. This book vividly confirmed that Petey Greene and many of our elders survived the best way they could. In Petey Greene's case, the decisions and rationale for his logic came from the instructions and teachings of A'nt Pig. This book also showed how two friends helped each other along with their careers in spite of some personality and creative differences.In the future,I hope the author and others who are aware of Petey Greene are able to justify telling his story in a cinema format. In my opinion, this was an amazing,sad,funny,and exciting story of one man's life. 'Laugh if you want, ain't a damn thing funny' because even when there is extreme pressure all around, if one draws upon the wisdom of his elders and learns from his mistakes, there are no obstacles that cannot be overcome. I can only imagine A'nt Pig's pain and the disappointments she witnessed throughout Petey Greene's life, but she was still there encouraging and motivating him the best way she could. She never, ever gave up on Petey. This was A'nt Pig's bettersweet, unwavering, and unconditional, love that sustained Petey and made him the person he ultimately became. Edward Richardson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    A Wonderful Read

    This is a great book! It's funny and fast-paced and captures not only the spirit of the man, but his times and life particularly in the DC area.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2004

    Excellently written!

    Brings the man to life. I laughed and cried. It was a fast and easy read and took me into Washington, DC from the early 1930's when Petey was born through the early 80's when he died. I intend to read it again and buy it as gifts for my friends who need a burst of inspiration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)