The Legacy

The Legacy

by Diane Amos
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

From Publishers Weekly
Readers who can overlook some cartoonish Old West stereotypes and lackluster prose will enjoy this historical romance from Amos (Outlaw Heart). In 1887, Jeremiah T. Dalton, a Boston businessman, arrives in Lowdown, Tex., just in time to say farewell to his dying, estranged father, Noah-and infuriate Noah's fiery young foreman, Abigail Abby

Overview

From Publishers Weekly
Readers who can overlook some cartoonish Old West stereotypes and lackluster prose will enjoy this historical romance from Amos (Outlaw Heart). In 1887, Jeremiah T. Dalton, a Boston businessman, arrives in Lowdown, Tex., just in time to say farewell to his dying, estranged father, Noah-and infuriate Noah's fiery young foreman, Abigail Abby Wilcox. In order for Jeremiah to receive his inheritance, he must live at Dalton Ranch for six months and learn all aspects of ranching from Abby. If he can't hack it, Abby and various others stand to inherit instead. Jeremiah yearns to return home to Evelyn DuBlois, his high society fiancée, but he's also immediately attracted to plucky Abby. Evelyn's unexpected arrival creates problems, as do a series of murder attempts that strain credulity (by pitchfork, poison and gunshot). While some might wish for more background about Abby, all will root for the unlikely couple-and appreciate the surprise twist regarding the villain's identity. (Nov.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
From Booklist
Ranch boss Abigail Wilcox is less than happy that prodigal son Jeremiah Dalton has been summoned to the ranch of his dying father, N.H. Jeremiah has ignored his dad his whole life, and now the only thing the old man wants to do before his impending death is to see his son. Abigail adores her increasingly fragile boss. He hired her at a time when the rest of the good people of Lowdown, Texas, shunned her because of her never-been-married-mother status. To make everything worse, the terms of N.H.'s will force Abigail to teach the clueless Jeremiah how to be a rancher in just six months. Amos paints a colorful portrait of ranch life in 1887, complete with a likable hero and heroine; a pet goat and pig with attitudes; a mystery villain; and generous strokes of humorous dialogue and situations. Fans of Leigh Green and Jodi Thomas will be delighted to discover this book. --Shelley Mosley

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Readers who can overlook some cartoonish Old West stereotypes and lackluster prose will enjoy this historical romance from Amos (Outlaw Heart). In 1887, Jeremiah T. Dalton, a Boston businessman, arrives in Lowdown, Tex., just in time to say farewell to his dying, estranged father, Noah—and infuriate Noah's fiery young foreman, Abigail “Abby” Wilcox. In order for Jeremiah to receive his inheritance, he must live at Dalton Ranch for six months and learn all aspects of ranching from Abby. If he can't hack it, Abby and various others stand to inherit instead. Jeremiah yearns to return home to Evelyn DuBlois, his high society fiancée, but he's also immediately attracted to plucky Abby. Evelyn's unexpected arrival creates problems, as do a series of murder attempts that strain credulity (by pitchfork, poison and gunshot). While some might wish for more background about Abby, all will root for the unlikely couple—and appreciate the surprise twist regarding the villain's identity. (Nov.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781432826703
Publisher:
Gale Group
Publication date:
11/18/2009
Sold by:
CENGAGE LEARNING
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
3 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >