Legacy of the Heart: The Spiritual Advantages of a Painful Childhood

( 4 )

Overview

In this inspiring book, Wayne Muller draws on eighteen years of work with adult children of troubled families to show how hard-won wisdom born of hurt can become a powerful source of strength and peace. He teaches us how to recognize and transform the damaging effects of childhood wounds and rediscover our natural vitality, creativity, and joy.

A gentle, entirely new approach to uncovering a source of spiritual strength hidden in the scars of childhood. Wayne Muller ...

See more details below
Paperback (Reprint)
$10.80
BN.com price
(Save 28%)$15.00 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (132) from $1.99   
  • New (13) from $7.63   
  • Used (119) from $1.99   
Legacy of the Heart: The Spiritual Advantages of a Painful Childhood

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$9.99
BN.com price

Overview

In this inspiring book, Wayne Muller draws on eighteen years of work with adult children of troubled families to show how hard-won wisdom born of hurt can become a powerful source of strength and peace. He teaches us how to recognize and transform the damaging effects of childhood wounds and rediscover our natural vitality, creativity, and joy.

A gentle, entirely new approach to uncovering a source of spiritual strength hidden in the scars of childhood. Wayne Muller brings together the teachings of many different religions and spiritual traditions in a healing program that will appeal to readers of The Road Less Traveled and Homecoming.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
In this gentle book, therapist Muller explains that the private place to which a traumatized child flees remains the adult's spiritual home. (Feb.)
Spirituality & Practice - Frederic & Mary Ann Brussat
Adults who grew up in troubled families torn apart by abuse, violence, & constant turmoil carry within them painful memories. Yet they may have developed survival strategies... fundamentally spiritual in nature, such as attentiveness, empathy, and compassion. Using the Old & New Testaments, Buddhist & Sufi wisdom, the author reveals how "family pain broke us open and set our hearts on a pilgrimage in search of the love & belonging, safety & abundance, joy & peace...missing from our childhoods"
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780671797843
  • Publisher: Touchstone
  • Publication date: 2/28/1993
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Pages: 224
  • Sales rank: 238,142
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.40 (h) x 0.60 (d)

Meet the Author

Wayne Muller is a therapist, minister and author. A graduate of Harvard Divinity School, Wayne has spent the last thirty-five years working with people suffering abuse, alcoholism, illness and loss, and also working with small groups from organizations and corporations to help clarify inner sense of meaning and purpose. He is co-founder of The Institute of the Southwest. You can visit Wayne at WayneMuller.com.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Elegantly communicated...

    I read this years ago and recommend it to my coaching clients who are stuck on what happened to them as children. This book elegantly explains how one can take the events from childhood, previously held as victimizing, and create growth from them. It helped me with my beleifs about my childhood and it has also helped my clients use the information to move forward and create more love for themselves and others.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    If you or someone you know, has had a painful childhood (abuse, trauma, emotional neglect, etc.), then this book will help put it in perspective. It will help you heal. B/c you can heal from all that pain.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)