Lehar: The Merry Widow

( 1 )
BN.com price
(Save 40%)$16.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $1.99   
  • New (1) from $11.43   
  • Used (4) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 2/14/1995
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon
  • UPC: 028943991124
  • Catalog Number: 439911
  • Sales rank: 18,864


Disc 1
  1. 1–25 Die lustige Witwe (The Merry Widow), operetta - Franz Lehár & John Eliot Gardiner (82:04)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
John Eliot Gardiner Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Gardiner did it again

    Oooh! What a treat to be able to review my very favorite CD! In spite of very minor iniquities that are mainly due to personal taste, I MUST rate this CD five stars. Bryn Terfel plays a buffoonish, swaggering Baron Zita instead of the usual Gilbert-and-Sullivan patter baritone type. Barbara Bonney makes an enchanting Valancienne, with that light yet full-throated voice and sparkling vibrato. The singers are all actors of the first order, especially the aforementioned. Camille's love aria will make you stop and sigh in listening to it. Now, I wasn't crazy about the singer who played Hanna; she tried to make an impression with her vocal acting, which mainly meant that she did a lot of squeaking on the high notes. Still, her Viljia was decent. Danilo seemed good to me, although not outstanding. Overall, however, this is a golden CD and better than any of the other recordings of the opera I have heard, including (and this will get me in trouble) the Scwartzopf recording. I admire all of Gardiner's work - it is neat and trim, good tempos, and only the best singers for the operas. The booklet contains the script and synopsis, all you need to know, so try Lehart's masterpiece. Every aria is a gem, and you will be humming it all day long!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews