Leonardo Balada: Caprichos Nos. 2, 3 & 4

( 1 )
BN.com price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (4) from $5.23   
  • New (4) from $5.23   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 1/25/2011
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 747313217670
  • Catalog Number: 8572176
  • Sales rank: 230,686

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Andres Cardenes Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted May 23, 2011

    Contemporary feeling, but with Latino soul

    Caprichos No. 2 is a series of three Latino American dances presented in a very contemporary way. The 3rd movement definitely has a "schitzo-scherzo" feel to it, with elements of unease interspersed with soothing harp music. It's a bit unusual, but it seems to work. Caprichos No. 4 ("Quasi Jazz") definitely appeals to the jazz lover in me, featuring some fine bass work (particularly in the 4th movement) as well as some rhythms that are easy to let in and enjoy. The clarinet work here is particularly noteworthy in this context, and the lonely feeling 3rd movement is introspective in an interesting way. Caprichos No. 3, a suite of five short pieces that pay homage to the army of volunteers from all lover the world that fought during the Spanish Civil War, is a mixture of textures and emotions. The first piece is very modern, but the second is wistful and features fine work from the Pittsburgh Sinfonietta - a real treat for the ears. The third piece is rather horn-centric, with some quick violin melodies intertwined therein, and the fourth piece starts with a sad and weary violin solo that gives way to a somber theme with cello accompaniment. The fifth and final piece starts with some lovely harp and violin tunes that definitely suggest a Spanish origin. This is an interesting disc, in that it mixes a more contemporary feel with elements of jazz and historical perspective. The Pittsburgh Sinfonietta (essentially a subset of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra) is excellent, but that is par for the course with them. And Andres Cardenas (violin) is his typical masterful self. If you are jazz and classical music lover, then this disc may certainly be to your liking. Similarly, if you are familiar with the Pittsburgh Symphony, this disc is an opportunity to hear these musicians in a context in which you would not normally encounter them in Heintz Hall. The recording is of similarly good quality. This recording is worth having in my collection.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews