×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Let's Get It On
  • Alternative view 1 of Let's Get It On
  • Alternative view 2 of Let's Get It On
     

Let's Get It On

3.7 4
by Jill Nelson
 

See All Formats & Editions

“Sister Jill isn’t just a foot soldier in what passes for war between the sexes. She’s our commander-in-chief and follow we must.”
 —Pearl Cleage, New York Times bestselling author of What Looks Like Crazy On An Ordinary Day

 

Let’s Get it On is acclaimed author Jill Nelson’s spicy,

Overview

“Sister Jill isn’t just a foot soldier in what passes for war between the sexes. She’s our commander-in-chief and follow we must.”
 —Pearl Cleage, New York Times bestselling author of What Looks Like Crazy On An Ordinary Day

 

Let’s Get it On is acclaimed author Jill Nelson’s spicy, raucously satiric follow-up to her sensational bestseller Sexual Healing. Fans of Zane and The Vow, as well as Nelson’s own Voluntary Slavery, are going to love this outrageously provocative story about an attempt to open a “full service spa” for women on Martha’s Vineyard. “Jill Nelson tells it like it is,” Essence magazine writes, and the New York Times Book Review calls Nelson, “Fearless. She also knows how to construct a compelling narrative.”

Editorial Reviews

E. Lynn Harris
"Sexual Healing is a wild, sexy ride...a fearless look at what women want, and a fresh take on how they can get it ...You’ll emerge refreshed and invigorated, in body, mind, and soul."
Pearl Cleage
"Sister Jill isn’t just a foot soldier in what passes for war between the sexes. She’s our commander-in-chief and follow we must."
—E. Lynn Harris
“Sexual Healing is a wild, sexy ride...a fearless look at what women want, and a fresh take on how they can get it ...You’ll emerge refreshed and invigorated, in body, mind, and soul.”
—Pearl Cleage
“Sister Jill isn’t just a foot soldier in what passes for war between the sexes. She’s our commander-in-chief and follow we must.”
--E. Lynn Harris
“Sexual Healing is a wild, sexy ride...a fearless look at what women want, and a fresh take on how they can get it ...You’ll emerge refreshed and invigorated, in body, mind, and soul.”
--Pearl Cleage
“Sister Jill isn’t just a foot soldier in what passes for war between the sexes. She’s our commander-in-chief and follow we must.”
Ebony
“A hot summer read from the sizzling social commentator and author of Volunteer Slavery and Sexual Healing.”
AOL Black Voices
“Let’s Get It On is imbued with a complex narrative that involves the mob and politics. . . . In terms of life about the yacht, let’s just say Nelson spins a super sexy yarn just in time for summer.”
Essence
“Jill Nelson tells it like it is. . . . And while the novel lives up to its name, at its core this is the story of friends having one another’s backs.”
New York Times Book Review
“As a social commentator, [Nelson’s] pretty fearless. She also knows how to construct a compelling narrative. Happily, she scraps neither of these talents as a novelist.”
Publishers Weekly

Now playing: the second verse of Nelson's wildly popular debut (Sexual Healing), with Marvin Gaye again providing the thematic backup for the over-the-top sexual shenanigans and ribald politics embraced by the proprietors of A Sister's Spa. This time out, Yale-educated lawyer LaShaWanda P. Marshall, and fellow spa founders Lydia Beaucoup and Acey Allen recreate their successful unorthodox Reno, Nev., spa on a boat moored off Martha's Vineyard. As Wanda puts it: "We were offering women multiorgasmic sex without the complications or mating, dating, or a relationship, and they were hungry for it," In Martha's Vineyard, the crew appeals to the established black community to open its arms to the new business while battling a mobster trying to shake them down, a racist madman in their midst and a president who aims to outlaw anything but sex-for-procreation with a bill called "No Child, No Behind." It's a dopey mix of overbroad sexual and racial politics, but the sisters still manage to sizzle-and elicit smiles with their insatiable appetites for love, social justice and the sex trade. (June)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Library Journal

Dreamed up and opened in Nelson's Essence best seller, Sexual Healing, A Sister's Spa is an unconventional business where professional women clients can get a relaxing facial, a massage, reflexology, and a multiorgasmic sexual experience from men trained to please women. Located in Reno, this outrageously successful spa is the brainchild of a group of shrewd friends: Lydia Beaucoup, Acey Allen, and LaShaWanda P. Marshall. After winning a three-million-dollar settlement, LaShaWanda and her friends open a franchise on a yacht off the shores of Martha's Vineyard. But the new franchise comes with new challenges. The federal government is trying to ban sex between unmarried people, the mob wants a cut of the spa's profits, and the yacht becomes the setting for a potential political coup. VERDICT Nelson takes her fans on a sexual fantasy showing that women can be in control and mix business with pleasure. Readers of Zane, Mary B. Morrison, and Eric Jerome Dickey will enjoy Nelson's funny, voluptuous, and erotic tale.—Carol Johnson, Cleveland P.L.


—Carol Johnson
Kirkus Reviews
The crew from Sexual Healing (2005) is back, and this time they're opening a sex spa for women off the coast of Martha's Vineyard. After winning a $3 million lawsuit against her former Wall Street employers, plus-sized spitfire LaShaWanda P. Marshall opts to use her well-earned lucre to give back to the community by launching an East Coast spinoff of A Sister's Spa. Wanda is CFO of America's first and only brothel for women in Reno, Nev., and her first hurdle is convincing partners Lydia and Acey that a new branch will fly. The location is key. Reasoning that women of the black elite who summer in Martha's Vineyard would pay handsomely for the discreet services offered by their team of studs, handpicked by human-resources director Odell, Wanda proposes they set up shop on a luxury yacht three miles from the coast of Massachusetts. (This gets around the whole prostitution-is-illegal-in-most-states thing.) In preparation for the Floating Spa's Memorial Day opening, Lydia and Wanda head east to train new talent and build clientele. That leaves Odell and the comparatively prim Acey alone in Nevada to sort out their feelings for each other. The new spa is an instant hit, thanks in part to Lydia's high-society godmother Ma Nicola, who has deep roots in the Martha's Vineyard community, and to its star employee Jamal, an enterprising young immigrant from Mombasa dubbed "Afrodonis" by Lydia. But there is always someone who wants to spoil the party, and in this case the killjoys include a mobster who wants a piece of the action and a shifty young white sex worker named Tollhouse. Also threatening everyone's good time is the conservative president, whose "No Child, No Behind" policy, aimed ateliminating nonprocreational sex, is sure to put a damper on both business and pleasure. With its sex-positive message and unapologetic emphasis on female enjoyment, Nelson's latest makes for a zingy beach read, even if the political satire is a bit tone deaf. Author appearances in Martha's Vineyard, Mass., New York

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780060763312
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/25/2010
Pages:
268
Product dimensions:
5.46(w) x 8.06(h) x 0.71(d)

Videos

What People are Saying About This

E. Lynn Harris
“Sexual Healing is a wild, sexy ride...a fearless look at what women want, and a fresh take on how they can get it ...You’ll emerge refreshed and invigorated, in body, mind, and soul.”
Pearl Cleage
“Sister Jill isn’t just a foot soldier in what passes for war between the sexes. She’s our commander-in-chief and follow we must.”

Meet the Author

Jill Nelson is a journalist whose work has appeared in numerous publications, including the New York Times and the Washington Post. Her books include Volunteer Slavery, an American Book Award winner; Straight, No Chaser; Finding Martha's Vineyard; and Sexual Healing. She lives in New York City.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Let's Get It On 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Good Book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
harstan More than 1 year ago
After the success of their Reno brothel and spa (see SEXUAL HEALING) LaShaWanda P. Marshall, Lydia Beaucoup and Acey Allen decide to duplicate their achievement off of Martha's Vineyard. Once again they offer their wealthy female clients "multiorgasmic" sex without the complications". While Acey with Odell assisting her runs the Nevada spa, they set up a luxury floating spa on a yacht off the Cape Cod shore just outside the United States legal limit. --------- They turn to the black community of Lydia's upper class society godmother Ma Nicol for support as they run into objections from a mobster who demands a piece of the action and groups fostering racism and sexism. Their star performer is Afrodonis who make the ladies salivate. However, making matters even worse is the fundamentalist president calling for a law "No Child, No Behind" that outlaws sex unless a married couple tries to produce an offspring.------------ The second homage to Marvin Gaye continues Jill Nelson's upbeat message encouraging women to appreciate life by living and loving to the fullest to include seeking sexual satisfaction. The story line is over the top of Afrodonis' staff just the way we like it as LET'S GET IT ON is fun to read with its refrain of sex, sex, and more sex. Although the abstinence crowd will beat the bushes to ban this tale, Ms. Nelson makes a case that sex and politics share the same key element: someone is screwing someone else.------ Harriet Klausner