Leviathan 4: Cities

Leviathan 4: Cities

by Jeff VanderMeer, Jay Lake, Michael Cisco, Ben Peek
     
 


Following up on the World Fantasy Award-winning Leviathan 3, Leviathan 4 is a Baedeker of the fantastical, exploring the character of cities and the city as character, mapping the streets of the imagination. This fourth volume of the Leviathan series takes the reader to a variety of cities in all their splendor and decadence. Explore the streets of the imagination…  See more details below

Overview


Following up on the World Fantasy Award-winning Leviathan 3, Leviathan 4 is a Baedeker of the fantastical, exploring the character of cities and the city as character, mapping the streets of the imagination. This fourth volume of the Leviathan series takes the reader to a variety of cities in all their splendor and decadence. Explore the streets of the imagination, wander the byways, and hear the stories of these fantastical foci with such authors as Philip K. Dick Award winner Stepan Chapman, International Horror Guild Award Winner Michael Cisco, and "The Etched City" author KJ Bishop.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Aguirre's relatively restrained fourth volume in his World Fantasy Award-winning series showcases 10 literate dark fantasy stories, which may be variously described as surreal, decadent, absurd or horrific. In perhaps the finest tale, Jay Lake's "The Soul Bottles," a wealthy man is ruined after his trade in soul bottles, which literally hold the souls of the dead, is proclaimed heretical. His son then goes through a Dickens-like fall into working-class obscurity before achieving financial success, albeit sacrificing much of his humanity along the way. Also memorable are Stepan Chapman's surreal "The Revenge of the Calico Cat," a wonderfully detailed piece set in the city where toys go after they die, and Ben Peek's "The Dreaming City," in which Mark Twain dreams of an encounter with Cadi, the aboriginal spirit of Australia's Sydney Harbour, and is moved to write a book in defense of that continent's native population. Other notable contributors include Michael Cisco, K.J. Bishop and Ursula Pflug. Although not up to the level of Leviathan 3 (2002), this solid anthology should appeal to readers of Jeff VanderMeer, China Mi ville and other modern masters of the fantastic. (Nov. 30) Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781892389824
Publisher:
Night Shade Books
Publication date:
11/10/2004
Pages:
235
Product dimensions:
6.25(w) x 9.25(h) x 1.00(d)

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >