Lex Trent versus the Gods by Alex Bell | Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Lex Trent: Versus the Gods

Lex Trent: Versus the Gods

by Alex Bell
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A quirky and original comic fantasy from talented Gollancz author Alex Bell

Law student Lex Trent's world is inhabited by fearsome magicians, ageing crones and a menagerie of Gods and Goddesses. And while Lex is seemingly dedicated to his legal studies he's always enjoyed a challenge - which is why he leads a double life as the notorious cat burglar 'The

Overview

A quirky and original comic fantasy from talented Gollancz author Alex Bell

Law student Lex Trent's world is inhabited by fearsome magicians, ageing crones and a menagerie of Gods and Goddesses. And while Lex is seemingly dedicated to his legal studies he's always enjoyed a challenge - which is why he leads a double life as the notorious cat burglar 'The Shadowman' who has been (luckily) evading capture for years.

But Lex's luck is about to run out because the Goddess of Fortune has selected him to be her player in the highly dangerous Games. Losing is not an option for Lex (particularly as it so often involves dying) but can he really win each of the perilous rounds? Given that the reward for doing so is money, fame and glory - all things that Lex is quite keen on - he's going to do whatever it takes to make sure he will... and he's certainly got good experience of cheating.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Bell evokes Peter Pan in this merry madcap tale of law student and cat burglar Lex Trent. At age 17, Lex is a talented cheat with Lady Luck on his side... usually. The amoral scammer is forced to join forces with upright lawyer Montgomery Schmidt, and they bicker their way through a world of dour enchanters, Binding Bracelets, a human turned into a ferret, and talking trees until they become caught up in a no-rules game of the gods in which Lex must contend with his twin brother, Lucius. This confrontation prepares Lex's character development as he begins to cooperate with Schmidt, learns to fear, and reflects on his past. Bell evokes classical mythology when a final attempt at knavery sends Lucius to the Lands Beneath. Lex reluctantly but convincingly manifests moral responsibility, sympathy, and respect, and his prankish impulses aid his triumph in this lighthearted inversion of the typical faerie quest. (Oct.)
From the Publisher

"Bell's impressive debut is a mature literary theological mystery with a satisfyingly twisty thriller conclusion. . . . a compelling genre mashup with glimmers of Gaiman, Blish and Ludlum."  —Publishers Weekly on The Ninth Circle

"[A] lighthearted inversion of the typical faerie quest."  —Publishers Weekly

"This fantasy adventure featuring a roguish 'hero' should appeal to most fans of the genre."  —Library Journal 

"You simply cannot put the book down...I would recommend it for fans of Garth Nix and Terry Pratchett's YA DISCWORLD books." - Fantasy Literature.com

Library Journal
Lex Trent's goal is to lie, cheat, and steal his way to an easy life, and he has the Goddess of Luck on his side. But when he gets into trouble from which even Lady Luck can't rescue him, Lex reluctantly agrees to participate in the Games—a favorite pastime of the gods that is often fatal to their human "game pieces." Saddled with a partner he detests and pitted against his own kin, Lex soon finds that his dishonest ways aren't effective and that he must try something new. Set in a divided world where temperamental gods occupy the Lands Beneath while mortals live in the Lands Above, Bell's (The Ninth Circle; Jasmyn) series launch is an edgy parable about the struggle between virtue and vice. Lex takes a long time to recognize his many flaws and may need to complete his reformation in later episodes. VERDICT This fantasy adventure featuring a roguish "hero" should appeal to most fans of the genre.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780755355181
Publisher:
Headline Book Publishing, Limited
Publication date:
09/01/2012
Pages:
352
Product dimensions:
5.00(w) x 7.75(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Alex Bell was born in 1986 in Hampshire. She studied Law on and off for six long years before the boredom became so overwhelming that she had to throw down the textbooks and run madly from the building. Since then she has never looked back. She has travelled widely, is a ferociously strict vegetarian and generally prefers cats to people.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >