Liar's Key

Liar's Key

2.0 2
by Carla Neggers
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

An FBI legend, a mysterious antiquities specialist and a brazen art thief draw top FBI agents Emma Sharpe and Colin Donovan into a complex web of blackmail, greed and murder in the eagerly awaited new novel in the highly acclaimed Sharpe & Donovan series

Emma Sharpe is suspicious when retired Special Agent Gordon Wheelock, a legend in FBI art crimes,

Overview

An FBI legend, a mysterious antiquities specialist and a brazen art thief draw top FBI agents Emma Sharpe and Colin Donovan into a complex web of blackmail, greed and murder in the eagerly awaited new novel in the highly acclaimed Sharpe & Donovan series

Emma Sharpe is suspicious when retired Special Agent Gordon Wheelock, a legend in FBI art crimes, drops by her Boston office for a visit. Gordy says he's heard rumors about stolen ancient mosaics. Emma, an art crimes specialist herself, won't discuss the rumors. Especially since they involve Oliver York, an unrepentant English art thief. Gordy and Emma's grandfather, a renowned private art detective, chased Oliver for a decade. Gordy knows Wendell Sharpe didn't give him everything he had on the thief. Even now, Oliver will never be prosecuted.

When a shocking death occurs, Emma is drawn into the investigation. The evidence points to a deadly conspiracy between Wendell and Oliver, and Emma's fiancé, deep cover agent Colin Donovan, knows he can't stay out of this one. He also knows there will be questions about Emma's role and where her loyalties lie.

From Boston to Maine to Ireland, Emma and Colin track a dangerous killer as the lives of their family and friends are at stake. With the help of their friend, Irish priest Finian Bracken, and Emma's brother, Lucas, the Sharpes and Donovans must band together to stop a killer.

No one creates exciting, action-packed romantic suspense and international intrigue like New York Times bestselling author Carla Neggers.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
06/27/2016
Bestseller Neggers’s sixth novel featuring FBI agents Emma Sharpe and Colin Donovan (after 2015’s Keeper’s Reach) generates a lot of smoke but not much fire. Retired FBI agent Gordon Wheelock, an art-theft expert, calls on Emma at her Boston office to tell her that he recently ran into Oliver York, an English “mythologist” and art thief, at a party in London. Oliver, who was hunted by Emma’s grandfather Wendell Sharpe, founder of Sharpe Fine Art Recovery, will never be prosecuted for his crimes, mainly because he has agreed to help MI5. A subsequent social gathering at the Sharpe family place in Heron’s Cove, Maine, happens to include Gordon, Oliver, Wendell, and Emma’s brother, Lucas, who now runs the art-recovery business. Everyone is suspicious of Oliver, and everyone knows Gordon is holding back info, but it takes a late murder to move the story from a slow simmer to a brief boil. Neggers does a good job exploring the relationships among recurring characters, but she does so at the expense of action and suspense. Agent: Jodi Reamer, Writers House. (Aug.)
From the Publisher
"Everything is out of control, and nothing is as it seems, making for the intense, edge-of-your-seat whirlwind that best-selling Neggers does so well in her Sharpe & Donovan series. In this particularly wild cat-and-mouse installment, Neggers has her characters zipping from Maine to Ireland, where families form an alliance to take down a deadly killer." -Booklist

"[A] suspenseful, fast-moving thriller filled with plot twists and excitement to the delightful conclusion." -Reader TO Reader

"The unforgettable characters make Neggers' story extraordinarily memorable." -RT Book Reviews, Top Pick, on Keeper's Reach

"Neggers delivers another spellbinding, chilling, complex page-turner... Her characters will awe readers and the 'ah-ha' moment is priceless. Brava!" -RT Book Reviews, Top Pick, on Harbor Island

"Well-plotted, intriguing and set mostly in the lushly described Irish countryside, the novel is smart and satisfying." -Kirkus Reviews on Declan's Cross

"Heron's Cove gives romantic suspense fans what they want...complex mystery with a bit of romance." -RT Book Reviews, Top Pick

"Saint's Gate is the best book yet from a writer at the absolute top of her craft." -Providence Journal

"Saint's Gate...is a fast-paced, action-packed tale of romantic suspense that will appeal to fans of Lisa Jackson and Lisa Gardner." -Library Journal

Library Journal
03/15/2016
More romantic suspense from the New York Times best-selling Neggers, who gives top FBI agents Emma Sharpe and Colin Donovan their sixth case. And dicey it is. An art crimes investigator who had retired from the bureau is found murdered, and subsequent revelations of blackmail, greed, entitlement, and plain meanness could set Emma's family of private art detectives against the FBI.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780778319115
Publisher:
MIRA
Publication date:
08/30/2016
Series:
Sharpe & Donovan Series , #7
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
22,443
Product dimensions:
6.20(w) x 9.40(h) x 1.20(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Carla Neggers is the New York Times bestselling author of more than 60 novels of contemporary romance and romantic suspense, including her popular Sharpe & Donovan and Swift River Valley series. Her books have been translated into 24 languages and sold in over 30 countries. Carla is always plotting her next adventure—whether in life or for one of her novels. A frequent traveler to Ireland, she lives with her family in New England.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Liar's Key 2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous 14 days ago
150 pages read and still more dull than dirt. Sappy location descriptions. A disappointment.....
BooksAndSpoons 25 days ago
Just a hint of a rumor of a crime and the whole FBI division are on their toes, investigating and looking for more information. This story takes its time to built up to the action, but if you hang on and keep reading, the intensity does come up, and you'll see some action and bustle, but not before the last part of the story. The plot is built in an interesting way. First, there's just a rumor from one person, suspicion of something going on. Then more and more characters are met and interviewed, and every time all that is learned so far is repeated. The tale keeps building up, but it seems that the clues are barely there, nothing more than hints and ideas and possibilities that have the FBI wary. And nothing happens until they all arrive at the open house at Emma's family business in Maine. The characters are witty, fun, and well developed. They bring a lot of dry humor to the story that I enjoyed immensely, and in my opinion the best part of the tale. They all seem very mature, older to their age, and world-weary. The plot changes from Ireland to London to Boston to the coast of Maine, the scenery that the author paints into the reader's mind are vivid and full of color, so authentic that the events easily run in your mind as a movie or a BBC series. The slow built up got me nearly giving up on the book, as it does take a long time to get to the point, so to say. But the crescendo was satisfying, and the characters are charmingly fascinating making the story riveting and enticing. ~ Three Spoons with a teaspoon on the side