×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Life among the Savages
     

Life among the Savages

4.0 4
by Shirley Jackson
 

See All Formats & Editions

Shirley Jackson, author of the classic short story The Lottery, was known for her terse, haunting prose. But the writer possessed another side, one which is delightfully exposed in this hilariously charming memoir of her family's life in rural Vermont. Fans of Please Don't Eat the Daisies, Cheaper by the Dozen, and anything Erma Bombeck ever wrote

Overview

Shirley Jackson, author of the classic short story The Lottery, was known for her terse, haunting prose. But the writer possessed another side, one which is delightfully exposed in this hilariously charming memoir of her family's life in rural Vermont. Fans of Please Don't Eat the Daisies, Cheaper by the Dozen, and anything Erma Bombeck ever wrote will find much to recognize in Shirley Jackson's home and neighborhood: children who won't behave, cars that won't start, furnaces that break down, a pugnacious corner bully, household help that never stays, and a patient, capable husband who remains lovingly oblivious to the many thousands of things mothers and wives accomplish every single day.

"Our house," writes Jackson, "is old, noisy, and full. When we moved into it we had two children and about five thousand books; I expect that when we finally overflow and move out again we will have perhaps twenty children and easily half a million books." Jackson's literary talents are in evidence everywhere, as is her trenchant, unsentimental wit. Yet there is no mistaking the happiness and love in these pages, which are crowded with the raucous voices of an extraordinary family living a wonderfully ordinary life.

Continuously in print since 1948, Jackson's Haunting of Hill House has been bought by Dreamworks.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780140267679
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
10/28/1997
Pages:
256
Sales rank:
1,171,700
Product dimensions:
5.18(w) x 7.78(h) x 0.59(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

Shirley Jackson (1919–1965), a celebrated writer of horror, wrote many stories as well as six novels and two works of nonfiction.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Life among the Savages 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
It took a mistress of the macabre like Shirley ('The Lottery') Jackson to turn out the most consistently funny and entertaining book I've ever read about life with small children. When I introduced it to my reading circle, they loved it too. Jackson is such a skilled writer that we can't find her reaching for effects: with one or two exceptions there is no patented twinkle in each chapter, no schmalz, none of that Erma Bombeck look-what-a-martyr-I-am stuff. What she DOES do is look at things from a child's point of view, which occasionally has its dangers--like the time her daughter sent the PTA treasurer home with a penny and a scolding. Also, her husband forbids the practice of magic inside the house, even white magic. (The humor is in the telling, trust me.) Although this book dates from the late forties, despite today's throwaway diapers and appliances 'Life Among the Savages' isn't really dated. It is that good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Shirley Jackson has never gotten the credit she deserved for her books. This first of two autobiographical humorous books remains surprisingly relevant and very very funny. I've read and re-read it many times over many years. Great to have it back in print again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
You must have terrible humur!"TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!And stop doing the tekting thing because it just ruins the letter and it is annoying. James
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So much fun to go back in time seeing how families lived without a car and changing the name on children's overalls as they are outgrown. It's s great light read!