Lions and Tigers and Crocs, Oh My!: A Pearls Before Swine Treasury

Lions and Tigers and Crocs, Oh My!: A Pearls Before Swine Treasury

5.0 3
by Stephan Pastis
     
 
In this, Pearls Before Swine treasury, you'll know you're not in Kansas anymore.

The Pearls Before Swine crew are at it again in their new book, Lions and Tigers and Crocs, Oh My! But even the wonderful Wizard of Oz couldn't help this bunch of merry misfits. Collecting strips from his last two books, Nighthogs and The Ratvolution Will Not Be

Overview

In this, Pearls Before Swine treasury, you'll know you're not in Kansas anymore.

The Pearls Before Swine crew are at it again in their new book, Lions and Tigers and Crocs, Oh My! But even the wonderful Wizard of Oz couldn't help this bunch of merry misfits. Collecting strips from his last two books, Nighthogs and The Ratvolution Will Not Be Televised, cartoonist Stephan Pastis takes you on a magically malicious journey over the rainbow and into the rat trap of Lions and Tigers and Crocs, Oh My! As in the previous Pearls treasury collection, Sgt. Piggy's Lonely Hearts Club Comic, the comic strips are annotated, as only the smart-alecky, misanthropic-but-lovable Pastis can do. Following his yellow brick road of notes, readers gain great insights into the making of such classic Pearls bits as Rat's stint as a New York Times reporter, Angry Bob, Pig's plastic surgery, the Mallet o' Understanding, Mrs. Bootyworth, and the fraternal order of the Zeeba Zeeba Eetas.

A special bonus feature included in Lions and Tigers and Crocs is "The Good, the Banned, and the Ugly," a section of never-before-published and unedited Pearls strips.

So go, as fast as lightning, to the Emerald City-or the cash register-and buy this book, before a twister drops a Box o' Stupid People on you!

Editorial Reviews

Fans of Pig, Rat, Zebra, Goat, and the entire fraternity of crocodiles will wallow happily in this Pearls Before Swine Treasury. Swine impresario Stephan Pastis offers a double dose of fun, illuminating his saga of animal misadventures with a rat-a-tat series of personal annotations. This paperback original even includes "The Good, the Banned, and the Ugly," a section of previously unpublished Pearls. Dark humor adeptly delivered.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780740761553
Publisher:
Andrews McMeel Publishing
Publication date:
09/01/2006
Series:
Pearls Before Swine Series, #6
Pages:
264
Product dimensions:
8.50(w) x 10.80(h) x 0.70(d)

Meet the Author

Stephan Pastis is an attorney turned cartoonist. A graduate of the University of California, Berkeley, and the UCLA School of Law, he worked as a lawyer before trying his hand at cartooning. Pastis lives in the Bay Area with his wife and two children.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Lions and Tigers and Crocs, Oh My!: A Pearls Before Swine Treasury 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
MaleKim More than 1 year ago
I got this for a Christmas present for a friend. In fact, it was one of three "Pearls Before Swine" treasuries I got for the friend, the first three treasuries of which this is the second. Stephan Pastis, the creator of "Pearls" has a good time with the medium, including playing with characters from other strips. "Family Circus" and "Comics for Kids" are just two strips whose characters he has "borrowed" in the past. I prefer the treasuries, as Pastis comments on many of the strips, sometimes telling the histories, sometimes commenting on reader reaction. The commentaries alone are worth the cost of the volumes.
JK10 More than 1 year ago
This was hilarious. Pearls Before Swine is a great strip. The writer, Stephan Pastis, has a dark but funny sense of humour. The strips main characters are all animals. Topics in the strip that are written about quite a bit are death and celebrities. Stephen Pastis is not biased and does not write one sided political cartoons at all. If You are looking for a good laugh, try this book.
Jaing More than 1 year ago
This is great. "Pearls" is my favorite strip. Unfortunetly this is the only book of it i have. Not for long though. After reading this, i will buy them all. Stephan Pastis talks about comic creators that have integrity in this comic, and says they retire before theur work gets stale. Mr. Pastis, don't you ever retire, or i'll have a breakdown. LOL.