Lions and Tigers and Crocs, Oh My!: A Pearls Before Swine Treasury

Overview

In this, Pearls Before Swine treasury, you'll know you're not in Kansas anymore.

The Pearls Before Swine crew are at it again in their new book, Lions and Tigers and Crocs, Oh My! But even the wonderful Wizard of Oz couldn't help this bunch of merry misfits. Collecting strips from his last two books, Nighthogs and The Ratvolution Will Not Be Televised, cartoonist Stephan Pastis takes you on a magically malicious journey over the rainbow and into the rat trap of Lions and Tigers ...

See more details below
Paperback
$14.91
BN.com price
(Save 25%)$19.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (20) from $2.21   
  • New (7) from $11.46   
  • Used (13) from $2.21   
Sending request ...

Overview

In this, Pearls Before Swine treasury, you'll know you're not in Kansas anymore.

The Pearls Before Swine crew are at it again in their new book, Lions and Tigers and Crocs, Oh My! But even the wonderful Wizard of Oz couldn't help this bunch of merry misfits. Collecting strips from his last two books, Nighthogs and The Ratvolution Will Not Be Televised, cartoonist Stephan Pastis takes you on a magically malicious journey over the rainbow and into the rat trap of Lions and Tigers and Crocs, Oh My! As in the previous Pearls treasury collection, Sgt. Piggy's Lonely Hearts Club Comic, the comic strips are annotated, as only the smart-alecky, misanthropic-but-lovable Pastis can do. Following his yellow brick road of notes, readers gain great insights into the making of such classic Pearls bits as Rat's stint as a New York Times reporter, Angry Bob, Pig's plastic surgery, the Mallet o' Understanding, Mrs. Bootyworth, and the fraternal order of the Zeeba Zeeba Eetas.

A special bonus feature included in Lions and Tigers and Crocs is "The Good, the Banned, and the Ugly," a section of never-before-published and unedited Pearls strips.

So go, as fast as lightning, to the Emerald City-or the cash register-and buy this book, before a twister drops a Box o' Stupid People on you!

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From Barnes & Noble
Fans of Pig, Rat, Zebra, Goat, and the entire fraternity of crocodiles will wallow happily in this Pearls Before Swine Treasury. Swine impresario Stephan Pastis offers a double dose of fun, illuminating his saga of animal misadventures with a rat-a-tat series of personal annotations. This paperback original even includes "The Good, the Banned, and the Ugly," a section of previously unpublished Pearls. Dark humor adeptly delivered.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780740761553
  • Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
  • Publication date: 9/1/2006
  • Pages: 264
  • Sales rank: 108,259
  • Product dimensions: 8.50 (w) x 10.80 (h) x 0.70 (d)

Meet the Author

Stephan Pastis

Stephan Pastis is an attorney turned cartoonist. A graduate of the University of California, Berkeley, and the UCLA School of Law, he worked as a lawyer before trying his hand at cartooning. Pastis lives in the Bay Area, with his wife and two children.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    Funny Comic Strip! Good for fans of Calvin and Hobbes, The Far Side, and Garfield

    This was hilarious. Pearls Before Swine is a great strip. The writer, Stephan Pastis, has a dark but funny sense of humour. The strips main characters are all animals. Topics in the strip that are written about quite a bit are death and celebrities. Stephen Pastis is not biased and does not write one sided political cartoons at all. If You are looking for a good laugh, try this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2008

    Zebras and pigs and rats, Oh My!

    This is great. "Pearls" is my favorite strip. Unfortunetly this is the only book of it i have. Not for long though. After reading this, i will buy them all. Stephan Pastis talks about comic creators that have integrity in this comic, and says they retire before theur work gets stale. Mr. Pastis, don't you ever retire, or i'll have a breakdown. LOL.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)