Lipstick Traces: Secret History of Manic

Lipstick Traces: Secret History of Manic

4.0 2
by Manic Street Preachers

View All Available Formats & Editions

Product Details

Release Date:
Sony Bmg Europe


Disc 1

  1. Prologue to History
  2. 4 Ever Delayed
  3. Sorrow 16
  4. Judge Yr'self
  5. Socialist Serenade
  6. Donkeys
  7. Comfort Comes
  8. Mr Carbohydrate
  9. Dead Trees and Traffic Islands
  10. Horses Under Starlight
  11. Sepia
  12. Sculpture of Man
  13. Spectators of Suicide
  14. Democracy Coma
  15. Strip It Down
  16. Bored Out of My Mind
  17. Just a Kid
  18. Close My Eyes
  19. Valley Boy
  20. We Her Majesty's Prisoners

Disc 2

  1. We Are All Bourgeois Now
  2. Rock & Roll Music
  3. It's So Easy
  4. Take the Skinheads Bowling
  5. Been a Son
  6. Out of Time
  7. Raindrops Keep Falling on My Head
  8. Bright Eyes
  9. Train in Vain
  10. Wrote for Luck
  11. What's My Name
  12. Velocity Girl
  13. Can't Take My Eyes Off You
  14. Didn't My Lord Deliver Daniel?
  15. Last Christmas

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Manic Street Preachers   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Chuck Berry   Composer
Mick Jagger   Composer
George Michael   Composer
Joe Strummer   Composer
Jonathan Segel   Composer
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Mike Batt   Composer
Bob Crewe   Composer
Izzy Stradlin   Composer
Steven Adler   Composer
West Arkeen   Composer
Gary Baker   Composer
James Dean Bradfield   Composer
Kurt Cobain   Composer
Hal David   Composer
Dave Eringa   Producer,Executive Producer
Robin Evans   Producer,Engineer,Engineering
Richey James   Composer
Mick Jones   Composer
Victor Krummenacher   Composer
Greg Lisher   Composer
David Lowery   Composer
Duff McKagan   Composer
Chris Molla   Composer
Sean Moore   Composer
Steve Osborne   Producer
Axl Rose   Composer
Nicky Wire   Art Direction
Mike Hedges   Producer
Greil Marcus   Liner Notes,Author
Robert Gaudio   Composer
Robert Gillespie   Composer
Greg Haver   Producer
Alex Silva   Producer
Robert Allan   Engineer,Live Sound,Live Recording,Engineering
Howard Grey   Producer
Traditional   Composer
Malcolm Eden   Composer
Matt Oliver   Producer
Jon Lambert   Art Direction
Sean Osborne   Producer
Nick Jones   Composer

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Lipstick Traces: Secret History of Manic 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lipstick Traces shows another aspect of the Manics' overwhelming recorded output. Much like their contemporaries Suede and Oasis, the Manics had some of their best moments hidden away on their british singles and e.p's. Songs such as the gorgeous and frail "Donkeys", the elegiac "Dead Trees And Traffic Islands", a brand new song (named after a line in "Roses In The Hospital" and subsequently their greatest hits package, "4 Ever Delayed") and a song that never saw the light of day "Judge Yr'self" (the last track the Manics ever recorded with Richey Edwards - it was originally planned to go on the Judge Dredd soundtrack.) Of course as any all-music guide review of a compilation will say, there are some omissions. Tracks such as "Hibernation" and the Joy Division-esque "Black Garden" would have been welcome (especially in the place of tracks like "Valley Boy" and "Close My Eyes".) The second disc is also a treat as it compiles almost all of the band's covers. There are some real treasures on this disc such as their raucous cover of Chuck Berry's "Rock and Roll Music", the subdued take on Art Garfunkel's "Bright Eyes" and the highly bluesy (and previously unreleased) cover of Nirvana's "Been A Son". Despite the rather substandard booklet and artwork (the british version comes ensconsed in a leopard skin slip - and the booklet, for lack of a better term contains nothing but the most basic of information) this is still a must have for any fan of the Manics as it showcases some of the best moments you may have never heard.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago